For those who want to update nric in tng app

Make sure the app is set to Singapore in home page

In plan my trip click the three dots that's says "more"

Then you will go to the "all services page"

Search VEP

IMG-1900.jpg
IMG-1901.png
IMG-1902.png

Thanks! Wah... the app got massive enhancements eh...

On 9/20/2024 at 8:13 AM, hangloose21 said:

The VEP booking system is a joke, can see the days to book, but all the timing cannot select.

It just means all slots are booked out lor... so just have to wait for more slots to be opened later in Oct lor...

So, is their plan for VEP enforcement in Oct 2024 still on?  Can I have a show of hands how many ppl here still have not done their VEP? 

kee chiu.

Edited by Albeniz

On 9/20/2024 at 1:45 PM, Albeniz said:

So, is their plan for VEP enforcement in Oct 2024 still on?  Can I have a show of hands how many ppl here still have not done their VEP? 

kee chiu.

done as in completed and stick on car and activated or done as in application is the system is done and waiting for sticker is also considered done? :grin:

Edited by Spidey10

On 9/20/2024 at 9:57 AM, Heartbreakid said:

Why SG side got to appeal for Msia side to delay? It is not our fault, it is Msia side who cannot handle the situation.

Forum letter written by a bozo…. 
why should the Singapore govt care…. 

On 9/20/2024 at 10:22 AM, Voodooman said:

Based on reports, likely only 120k SG cars will need VEP (most people are too afraid to drive in). 10-15k already have them before May announcement. How many of the 60k new applications would be completed/ activated by Sep? 

3 centres in JB at 1500 cars a day x 30 days = 45k a month.  

https://mothership.sg/2024/09/vep-jb-additional-locations/

1 SG centre in woodlands at 100- 150 a day x 21 days = 2-3k a month. 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/nearly-120-malaysia-vep-tags-collected-installed-at-woodlands-counter-since-sept-12

Most people will opt for postage to self install, I think. So maybe 1-2 months more based on above increased capacity? Don’t need 2.5 years lah. 

But then people who opt for postage option are waiting weeks to get the tag and waiting weeks again to get it activated. So the chockpoints are multiple. 

Think Johor Chief Minister whacking JBJ now. 

You should redirect this analysis to JPJ. Their math is never that good. 😂

@Spidey10 Hello, according to the fineprint, it is said, car without VEP Tag still can enter JB by using the Confirmation Letter from JPJ......

Let sit tight and wait from some brave guinea pigs to test the crossing.

DD hor......

On 9/20/2024 at 10:22 AM, Voodooman said:

Based on reports, likely only 120k SG cars will need VEP (most people are too afraid to drive in). 10-15k already have them before May announcement. How many of the 60k new applications would be completed/ activated by Sep? 

3 centres in JB at 1500 cars a day x 30 days = 45k a month.  

https://mothership.sg/2024/09/vep-jb-additional-locations/

1 SG centre in woodlands at 100- 150 a day x 21 days = 2-3k a month. 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/nearly-120-malaysia-vep-tags-collected-installed-at-woodlands-counter-since-sept-12

Most people will opt for postage to self install, I think. So maybe 1-2 months more based on above increased capacity? Don’t need 2.5 years lah. 

But then people who opt for postage option are waiting weeks to get the tag and waiting weeks again to get it activated. So the chockpoints are multiple. 

Think Johor Chief Minister whacking JBJ now. 

It’s not so easy

cos first the increase in tag collection centres only happened in Sept and some are yet to happen

Also, some will also install VEP as a just in case measure even if they don’t plan to enter Malaysia cos VEP is not a convenience thing but a compulsory thing so even if I think I will drive in once a year, I will still apply

Also the VEP is not a one off thing 

Your car spoil, backside itch or whatever you need to buy a new car, you have to reapply.  And just because there are new tag collection centres now (cos of surge) doesn’t mean they will always be there.  For all you know, tscens shuts down a few months later.  Not impossible cos I kind of remember the previous VEP (2019) was down somewhere else (the RnR) by a different company

I came across some fb comment implying that registration date might be a source of screw up in the application process. While my car is still in deregistration limbo, might as well settle this portion. Anyone can confirm if I should input "Effective Date of ownership" or "Original Registration date"? Screengrab below from LTA log card.

image.png.28dcaa7d188a2d2d52bb433fd7c31dc1.png

On 9/20/2024 at 2:20 PM, Apple-Tree said:

@Spidey10 Hello, according to the fineprint, it is said, car without VEP Tag still can enter JB by using the Confirmation Letter from JPJ......

DD hor......

I hope so my fren...:grin:

We have showed them how serious we are about their VEP implementation. Our response have been way overwhelming. So let's see who is the one who is not taking this VEP implementation seriously. 

On 9/20/2024 at 8:17 AM, hangloose21 said:

I opt for postal mail on 24 Aug, still have not received.

Some of my friends waited more than 1 month, still waiting.

mine 23 Aug payment done, still yet to ship out, JPJ website just updated with my tag number on the 16th. So should be shipping soon. 

On 9/20/2024 at 4:05 PM, Apple-Tree said:

@Dafansu Oh ya ....... Everyday I see my car windscreen with the VEP Tag, I feel like I machiam have the Dato Badge like that ....... so shiok .....

dont know why I'll see it everyday also when i got the tag. Maybe it's the key to 1 is to 💰💰💰

DD hor......

they yet to announce anything officially. let's see next week. 

On 9/20/2024 at 1:56 PM, Mkl22 said:

Forum letter written by a bozo…. 
why should the Singapore govt care…. 

Exactly... typical Singapore mentality lor... 

On 9/20/2024 at 1:58 PM, Mkl22 said:

You should redirect this analysis to JPJ. Their math is never that good. 😂

They where got even do the Math... just wayang only lar...

DD hor......

There will be those who don't have much choice due to business or family issues they have to be physically present in Malaysia to resolve... we'll find out soon enough...