Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

On 9/17/2024 at 11:29 PM, myfoot2024 said:

Aiya!

If you are not in a hurry! Just opt for postal mail and paste it yourself! So simple! 🙄

I opt for postal mail on 24 Aug, still have not received.

Some of my friends waited more than 1 month, still waiting.

On 9/20/2024 at 8:17 AM, hangloose21 said:

I opt for postal mail on 24 Aug, still have not received.

Some of my friends waited more than 1 month, still waiting.

Really! OMG! I hope mine is in order. 

It said within 10 days. Today is my 3rd day. 

Let me see how it goes! 

All so kanjiong to get the vep meh.

Relax la. Dun have the crazy que mentality.  

Let others go q first. Wait 1 mth or so then lepak go collect.

Johor to have two more locations for VEP tag installation from Sept 22

elvep18.b244349f.Attachment.071220.jpg?V

Malaysia’s Road Transport Department (JPJ) said it will add two more locations in Johor for vehicle owners from Singapore to collect and install their Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) tags from Sept 22.

The two new locations are at the Johor JPJ Complex in Taman Daya and the Road Transport Academy (Southern Region) in Larkin. They can serve up to 800 and 400 vehicles respectively per day, the JPJ said in a statement on Sept 19.

Currently, the only collection centre in Johor is at the TCSens office in Danga Bay, which can serve 300 vehicles per day.

From Oct 1, foreign-registered vehicles entering Malaysia from Singapore by land must have a valid VEP. Each permit will come with a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag that allows the Malaysian authorities to identify a foreign-registered vehicle on Malaysia’s roads.

A VEP can be used to pay toll fees on Malaysian highways, as well as the RM20 (S$6) road charge levied on foreign vehicles when they enter Malaysia.

To cope with the volume of applications, the MY VEP office was set up in Woodlands on Aug 19 to allow those encountering difficulties with their application to seek help. Since Sept 12, vehicle owners have also been able to collect their RFID tags at the Woodlands office for $39. This is on top of a processing fee of RM10 for the tag.

Visits to the Woodlands office are now strictly by appointment only.

To make an appointment, motorists have to enter their personal information, including their name and vehicle registration number in the online booking system. They can then choose a time slot by the hour between 9am and 5pm.

JPJ said it urged all foreign vehicle owners to immediately register, install and activate their VEP tags to avoid any difficulties when entering and exiting Malaysia in the future.

Those without a valid VEP can be denied entry into Malaysia, or fined up to RM2,000.

image.thumb.png.b89abda3da2fd24c32ce7299776594c8.png

Addresses for the new locations:

• JPJ Johor: Kompleks JPJ, Taman Daya, 80990 Johor Bahru.
  • Road Transport Academy (Southern Region): Jalan Kebun Teh Lama, Larkin, 80250 Johor Bahru.

On 9/20/2024 at 9:56 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Johor to have two more locations for VEP tag installation from Sept 22

elvep18.b244349f.Attachment.071220.jpg?V

Malaysia’s Road Transport Department (JPJ) said it will add two more locations in Johor for vehicle owners from Singapore to collect and install their Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) tags from Sept 22.

The two new locations are at the Johor JPJ Complex in Taman Daya and the Road Transport Academy (Southern Region) in Larkin. They can serve up to 800 and 400 vehicles respectively per day, the JPJ said in a statement on Sept 19.

Currently, the only collection centre in Johor is at the TCSens office in Danga Bay, which can serve 300 vehicles per day.

From Oct 1, foreign-registered vehicles entering Malaysia from Singapore by land must have a valid VEP. Each permit will come with a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag that allows the Malaysian authorities to identify a foreign-registered vehicle on Malaysia’s roads.

A VEP can be used to pay toll fees on Malaysian highways, as well as the RM20 (S$6) road charge levied on foreign vehicles when they enter Malaysia.

To cope with the volume of applications, the MY VEP office was set up in Woodlands on Aug 19 to allow those encountering difficulties with their application to seek help. Since Sept 12, vehicle owners have also been able to collect their RFID tags at the Woodlands office for $39. This is on top of a processing fee of RM10 for the tag.

Visits to the Woodlands office are now strictly by appointment only.

To make an appointment, motorists have to enter their personal information, including their name and vehicle registration number in the online booking system. They can then choose a time slot by the hour between 9am and 5pm.

JPJ said it urged all foreign vehicle owners to immediately register, install and activate their VEP tags to avoid any difficulties when entering and exiting Malaysia in the future.

Those without a valid VEP can be denied entry into Malaysia, or fined up to RM2,000.

image.thumb.png.b89abda3da2fd24c32ce7299776594c8.png

Addresses for the new locations:

• JPJ Johor: Kompleks JPJ, Taman Daya, 80990 Johor Bahru.
  • Road Transport Academy (Southern Region): Jalan Kebun Teh Lama, Larkin, 80250 Johor Bahru.

22 Sept to 1st Oct is not too far away. Can see how screw up they handle this case. They might as well open 24 hours. 

On 9/20/2024 at 8:35 AM, myfoot2024 said:

Really! OMG! I hope mine is in order. 

It said within 10 days. Today is my 3rd day. 

Let me see how it goes! 

3 weeks and still waiting for the delivery...

On 9/14/2024 at 9:52 AM, Wormee said:

One week after sticking the tag and submission of photo, I emailed TCSENS to enquire about activation status. 

Email bounced back. Reason: recipient mailbox is full. 🤣

Re-emailed again today. Same thing, TCSENS mailbox is full, so postmaster said undeliverable. This time, I cc-ed jpj. See what they say. 

image.thumb.png.dacdaa8a1682449832c2907a59e3a871.png

From the attached screenshot from jpj website, I have yet to see any 'Easy', 'Quick' and 'Convenient' attributes throughout my 2 months of agony application process. Till date, still 'Tag issued but pending activation'. 

On 9/20/2024 at 8:15 AM, hangloose21 said:

Say with 3 installation stations, can do 800 per day.

If you calculate say 500,000 cars, it will need 625 days = 2.5 years.

So Msia Transport Minister, how can your people do it for 5 months lei?

Based on reports, likely only 120k SG cars will need VEP (most people are too afraid to drive in). 10-15k already have them before May announcement. How many of the 60k new applications would be completed/ activated by Sep? 

3 centres in JB at 1500 cars a day x 30 days = 45k a month.  

https://mothership.sg/2024/09/vep-jb-additional-locations/

1 SG centre in woodlands at 100- 150 a day x 21 days = 2-3k a month. 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/nearly-120-malaysia-vep-tags-collected-installed-at-woodlands-counter-since-sept-12

Most people will opt for postage to self install, I think. So maybe 1-2 months more based on above increased capacity? Don’t need 2.5 years lah. 

But then people who opt for postage option are waiting weeks to get the tag and waiting weeks again to get it activated. So the chockpoints are multiple. 

Think Johor Chief Minister whacking JBJ now. 

On 9/20/2024 at 9:47 AM, Beregond said:

All so kanjiong to get the vep meh.

Relax la. Dun have the crazy que mentality.  

Let others go q first. Wait 1 mth or so then lepak go collect.

Me relax and wait for U Turn. 

Yesterday went in via Second link. Only Sg side jam, less than 50% of counters opened. Boleh side drove right to the counter. Obviously Sg gahmen doesn't want to lose GST and GDP. So it must be very happy with this VEP implementation. 

On 9/20/2024 at 9:58 AM, Heartbreakid said:

22 Sept to 1st Oct is not too far away. Can see how screw up they handle this case. They might as well open 24 hours. 

let me count for you all ah. 

23th 

24th 

25th 

26th

27th

28th

29th

30th

1st! 

9 Days! If they can solve all our problem in 9 days. They have a very efficient government leh! boleh boleh. 

On 9/20/2024 at 10:03 AM, Spidey10 said:

3 weeks and still waiting for the delivery...

I received mine after waiting for 6 weeks.  So its still early days for you.

• Sad 1

wah ... so optimistic ... [thumbsup] 

1 SG centre in woodlands at 100- 150 a day x 21 days = 2-3k a month.

Why a cell phone app cannot take the place of stickers?

similar rut of the 90s thinking. Piang oy, the transport people on both sides Lao Kok kok thinking.

jinja jaemi 

For those who want to update nric in tng app

Make sure the app is set to Singapore in home page

In plan my trip click the three dots that's says "more"

Then you will go to the "all services page"

Search VEP

IMG-1900.jpg
IMG-1901.png
IMG-1902.png

Edited by Philipkee