Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

My IC also got hanyu pinyin. But no issue leh. They may take at least 1 to 2 weeks to update the status. My VEP reach me via postage and it took them almost a week for the status to become Activate button so that I can proceed.

My TnG account was created since Day 1 they implemented the VEP in 2018 I think. I got both my IC and passport register in. Now the only thing is TnG will not update ur new passport number if u renew ur passport. 

Mine TnG account still old passport number.

On 9/6/2024 at 2:45 PM, Gdspd08 said:

My IC also got hanyu pinyin. But no issue leh. They may take at least 1 to 2 weeks to update the status. My VEP reach me via postage and it took them almost a week for the status to become Activate button so that I can proceed.

My TnG account was created since Day 1 they implemented the VEP in 2018 I think. I got both my IC and passport register in. Now the only thing is TnG will not update ur new passport number if u renew ur passport. 

Err ...... your Passpork got Han Yu Pin Yin bo ?  My Passpork don't have ....

On 9/6/2024 at 2:45 PM, Gdspd08 said:

ADVERTISEMENT

My IC got hanyu pinyin in bracket also. I never include when i register last time also approved. My name is quite long. This time round they ask me click to acknowledge the amendment of name change. 😁

On 9/6/2024 at 3:36 PM, Apple-Tree said:

Err ...... your Passpork got Han Yu Pin Yin bo ?  My Passpork don't have ....

Mine passport have hanyu pin yin

• Sad 1

On 9/6/2024 at 6:10 PM, Gdspd08 said:

Mine passport have hanyu pin yin

Another failed policy. Should legally change your name and remove the HYPY from your IC.

Edited by Volvobrick

On 9/6/2024 at 1:32 PM, Apple-Tree said:

Look say Postponed lor ........ 500K SG cars, 1 day do 400 applicants, I tot like no brainer lor .......need 4 years to complete wor ......

500k? 4 years? 

Based on LTA data, we have around 600k private cars (including PHV), I think only 20% drives up north. Among my colleagues, maybe 5-10% do so, the rest are just too afraid to contemplate such an adventure to crime-ridden JB.  😂😂😂

20% is 120k, which is quite inline with below MY's MOT figures.

Based on below MY news report, I think 10% of 120k (12k) have already installed VEP before the rush, they have received 59k new VEP application from May to July 24 and expecting another 50k from Aug to Sep 24, so maybe another 3-4 months based on your 400 daily application numbers?  Just wondering where did you get that number anyway? MOT is expecting 800 a day (50,000/2 months).

https://www.businesstoday.com.my/2024/08/02/mot-expects-100000-singapore-vehicles-to-register-for-vep-in-next-two-months/

“Since the VEP enforcement announcement on May 28, we have received 58,791 new applications from Singapore-registered vehicle owners through counters and online. Only 19,640 applications have been completed; 11,435 applications are in process; and around 40 per cent failed due to incomplete documents,” said Loke during a press conference at the VEP Collection Centre (VCC) in Danga Bay.

The MOT anticipates another 50,000 new applications before the system’s enforcement. Loke highlighted that the system, which has been available since 2019 with a budget of over RM100 million, will see full enforcement starting October 1.

“Every day, an estimated 18,000 Singaporean vehicles enter Malaysia through BSI and KSAB, but only around 10 to 15 per cent have registered VEP,” Loke said, noting that the Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) VEP fee remains at RM10 for a five-year period.

On 9/6/2024 at 9:19 PM, Voodooman said:

500k? 4 years? 

Based on LTA data, we have around 600k private cars (including PHV), I think only 20% drives up north. Among my colleagues, maybe 5-10% do so, the rest are just too afraid to contemplate such an adventure to crime-ridden JB.  😂😂😂

Based on below MY news report, I think 10% of 120k (12k) have already installed VEP before the rush, they have received 59k new VEP application from May to July 24 and expecting another 50k from Aug to Sep 24, so maybe another 3-4 months based on your 400 daily application numbers?  Just wondering where did you get that number anyway? MOT is expecting 800 a day (50,000/2 months).

https://www.businesstoday.com.my/2024/08/02/mot-expects-100000-singapore-vehicles-to-register-for-vep-in-next-two-months/

“Since the VEP enforcement announcement on May 28, we have received 58,791 new applications from Singapore-registered vehicle owners through counters and online. Only 19,640 applications have been completed; 11,435 applications are in process; and around 40 per cent failed due to incomplete documents,” said Loke during a press conference at the VEP Collection Centre (VCC) in Danga Bay.

The MOT anticipates another 50,000 new applications before the system’s enforcement. Loke highlighted that the system, which has been available since 2019 with a budget of over RM100 million, will see full enforcement starting October 1.

“Every day, an estimated 18,000 Singaporean vehicles enter Malaysia through BSI and KSAB, but only around 10 to 15 per cent have registered VEP,” Loke said, noting that the Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) VEP fee remains at RM10 for a five-year period.

Can only mean one thing.... 

download.png.4bc2890334b888e15a409bcd2d410955.png

On 9/6/2024 at 9:31 PM, Volvobrick said:

Deferment due to poor execution perhaps but not u turn (which means a policy abandonment).  You are of the view that it will fail.  I think by early 2025, it will be fully enforced.  Let's see who is right. 😂

Edited by Voodooman

On 9/6/2024 at 9:19 PM, Voodooman said:

500k? 4 years? 

Wei ....... OK, my number is wrong, but, 50K in 2 months also not possible laaa...... We should now know, receiving application and processing application like 2 different thing lor.  Anw, a few more weeks, let see how lor ......

At least, I got the sticker on my windscreen lor.  

On 9/6/2024 at 11:02 PM, Apple-Tree said:

Wei ....... OK, my number is wrong, but, 50K in 2 months also not possible laaa...... We should now know, receiving application and processing application like 2 different thing lor.  Anw, a few more weeks, let see how lor ......

At least, I got the sticker on my windscreen lor.  

Agree. I think they won’t be able to clear the backlog in 3 weeks based on what we are hearing here but it can be done in next few months if they are want to strictly enforce it. 

Edited by Voodooman

CB! 🙄

VEP rejected for the 5th time today! 🤮

Reason: Please resubmit a fresh new and clear SG NRIC, front and back! 🙄

So, I resubmitted for the 6th time now! 🤦‍♂️

If the 6th time also get rejected....I change my car to Proton Sohai EV......! 🤬

Edited by myfoot2024
  • Sad 1

On 9/6/2024 at 9:31 PM, Volvobrick said:

I take it as acceptance as Fxxxxre. The sign of such an attempt to get the data / person al detailed informations on every motorists, I am one of them not comfortable with personal infor for free - looks like the white card, MACs have not been in force, I dont see VEP as one which will be successful let alone make those Singaporeans with o/s summons, traffic offences paying up - - - The infamous CIQ jams will continue to be a sardine packed affairs and don't expect anything to be smooth sailing, the 3 years C-19 locked down period was a good time to conduct internal structural changes & rectification at RTS link@Bukit Chager station & JB Sentral, its seem not to be the case, plus can also means one thing . . . more headache and mind boggling issues forth coming ahead. 😂

On 9/6/2024 at 8:10 AM, Spidey10 said:

Day 7 after submission.....status still "pending verification" ....knnnccb...#@!#@%^%^&^%*%(()*!@ :pissed-off:

I siam this moment of frustration to apply . . . no stress , no point to kpku here

On 9/6/2024 at 9:02 AM, Voodooman said:

RFID is just piggybacking on existing infrastructure. We pay to implement VEP. Plate recognition system, they invest and they pay.   If MY have money to invest in it, it may be RM1: SGD3.50. 😂😂😂

MY can't use plate recognition system for tolls lah, coz send summon and straight away it goes into the dustbin. Lol

Be carafel bro, whatever you shared here are also been read by Bolehland citizens / JPJ staff alike, so be mindful not to infringe. 🤭

On 9/5/2024 at 5:30 PM, Volvobrick said:

One friend creates problem, other friend solves it for you at a price. Win win!

ADVERTISEMENT

I have planned to stay away for at least 6months to 12 months not going in until traffic clears from both borders, I can survive without gg in .