Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

afaik there hav nvr been a u-turn in VEP policy, just postponement after postponement.

Btw, I wonder what will happen if we drive in before October without VEP, and attempt to return to SG after 1st Oct. Will encounter any issue at the border?  [confused]

Edited by Didu

On 6/26/2024 at 6:55 PM, Didu said:

Btw, I wonder what will happen if we drive in before October without VEP, and attempt to return to SG after 1st Oct. Will encounter any issue at the border?  [confused]

everything is BOLEH

you never know until you kena ...

On 6/26/2024 at 5:07 PM, Voodooman said:

There is a postal option now.  

Ah ok.... That's great and convenient.

You try.

Kamsiah

They can't even get their website and systems working properly. Still want to go ahead. [rolleyes]

On 6/26/2024 at 11:28 PM, Benarsenal said:

They can't even get their website and systems working properly. Still want to go ahead. [rolleyes]

That's why Malaysia Boleh mah...

I intend to go in in Sep but return before Oct... so by right should be safe lar...

On 6/27/2024 at 12:21 PM, teomingern said:

I intend to go in in Sep but return before Oct... so by right should be safe lar...

Technically, its already in violation, and the coffee drinking cops can already use it as excuse.

But if you get fined, may be able to get off with a warning

Enforcement means they will be more on the ball.

TBH, customs should turn back vehicles without valid VEP, so such violations should not exist, unless your vehicle is an illegal immigrant

On 6/27/2024 at 12:29 PM, Sturtles said:

Technically, its already in violation, and the coffee drinking cops can already use it as excuse.

But if you get fined, may be able to get off with a warning

Enforcement means they will be more on the ball.

TBH, customs should turn back vehicles without valid VEP, so such violations should not exist, unless your vehicle is an illegal immigrant

Aiyah... just register lor... that will do mah... collect or not depends on whether got time or not mah... why should I pay the postal fee... just collect when go in for day trip lor...

IMHO.
Vehicle Entry Permit.  But you never know. 🤣

On 6/27/2024 at 1:17 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
Vehicle Entry Permit.  But you never know. 🤣

this is actually to ensure you pay outstanding summons before you leave, the exit is the crucial one. 

On 6/27/2024 at 12:21 PM, teomingern said:

I thought you have a tag, just not working?

Loke announced on May 28 that all foreign vehicles entering Malaysia by land from Singapore will be required to have a valid VEP from Oct 1.

You won't be entering Malaysia on 1 Oct 24, you already entered. So should be ok.  I don't see a u-turn (and Mr Loke will refrain from slapping himself if he can help it) but they will be flexible for visitors like you, I think. Deferment cannot be ruled out if sign up numbers are still low. 

Don't understand why so difficult to change people's behavior?  Just keep the border opened for all but make it costly (time, effort, money) for those who refused to install VEP.

And set up special booths at CIQ or malls to help the digitally handicapped Singaporeans.

On 6/27/2024 at 1:24 PM, Voodooman said:

Loke announced on May 28 that all foreign vehicles entering Malaysia by land from Singapore will be required to have a valid VEP from Oct 1.

You won't be entering Malaysia on 1 Oct 24, you already entered. So should be ok.  I don't see a u-turn (and Mr Loke will refrain from slapping himself if he can help it) but they will be flexible for visitors like you, I think. Deferment cannot be ruled out if sign up numbers are still low. 

Don't understand why so difficult to change people's behavior?  Just keep the border opened for all but make it costly (time, effort, money) for those who refused to install VEP.

And set up special booths at CIQ or malls to help the digitally handicapped Singaporeans.

Actually if they are more money minded, just setup a booth in woodlands and that singaporeans can just (walk in) drive in and install this sticker. Charge a convenience fee. I dunno how to remove my headlight cover.

For sure, adoption rate will skyrocket. 

On 6/27/2024 at 1:35 PM, Lala81 said:

Actually if they are more money minded, just setup a booth in woodlands and that singaporeans can just (walk in) drive in and install this sticker. Charge a convenience fee. I dunno how to remove my headlight cover.

For sure, adoption rate will skyrocket. 

last time and last last time ... they say want to setup a pop-up shop in Woodland liao

but how many times kena delayed ....

better postponed the project indefinitely la .... 

just up RC to RM50 lor if want money

but singapore will also up Reciprocal Road Charge (RRC) ... song ah!

:grin:

they need to learn from Sg govt on VEP

1) use a special  NETs cash card (autopass) as VEP tag. 

2) Application of VEP can be done online and collection of cash card can be done at multiple location across Malaysia.

3) Cash card can be top up online

A simple cash card can do the job. why the hell do they want to mix RFID, VEP and e-payment system together? 

Last week, I received my RFID tag, follow the instructions, paste on the headlight, sent them the proof. Today , the portal show "pending for acknowledgement".  Have to do it again?  I called them, morning till now...line busy.  WTH!

Screenshot 2024-06-27 at 2.30.17 PM.png

On 6/27/2024 at 1:24 PM, Voodooman said:

My tag expires in Jul... like most people, I have renewed but I can't log into the payment and collection website with my usual login ID and password... I think the separate website for payment and collection was set up after the initial implementation phase which is when we did our tags which involved us physically entering Malaysia to get it done... so I suppose they never port over those earlier data sets... otherwise it should work leh...

I guess it's the need to surrender a lot of personal data to a foreign government who may not keep it safely and the hassle of dealing with a partially working system that is opaque... trust level is very low given the debacle that is Malaysian politics...

Edited by teomingern