Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

@Starry So basically, as long as we have a Touch N Go card/app, we can just literally drive into Malaysia right?

Thanks for the help and information - googling online is confusing as each platform has different information 

On 6/17/2023 at 9:29 AM, Therbs said:

@Starry So basically, as long as we have a Touch N Go card/app, we can just literally drive into Malaysia right?

Thanks for the help and information - googling online is confusing as each platform has different information 

From my last experience through Tuas, TnG card is all I use.  Make sure your TnG has not expire yeah. 

Edited by Starry

My only Wish and Pray hard that VEP fail and erase the stamping of Passport, use e-scanning and can see from their terminals on the numbers of date visitations, data record all there

On 6/17/2023 at 9:29 AM, Therbs said:

TnG card is what u need (make sure not expired or inactive, minimum RM30 inside)....e app will get u nowhere in regards to driving into MY.

Edited by zipping

Hello All

I just returned from my road trip to KL & Penang.

For the benefit of newbies (like me) who are not sure about the correct steps when driving into Malaysia, here are some quick information

1) Go to VEP website https://vep.jpj.gov.my - register your vehicle and print out the email acknowledgement from them. Keep in your car, if you are stopped by the Malaysia TP, they might ask you for this. Remember this is complusary to register your car details into their system.

2) VEP RFID - Often confused by this and VEP resgiration - You Dont need to collect this, as long as you are registered its ok. 

3) Touch & Go - This is the most important card u need (you can get it from Carousell) - get it top-up at any 7-11 (top-up at least SGD$50 depending on where you are travling to) - i also got a Touch & Go stick (also get from Carousell) so dont need to stretch my hand all the way out. When you drive to a Toll, drive to the Touch & Go blue sign lane.

4) Print out required to keep in the car - a) Insurance policy  b) vehicle log-card  c) road-tax d) VEP acknoledgement email 

------------------------------------------ 

Other useful information

1) Pump petrol - you can only pump 97 or v-power (technically) if you are driving a sg plate car

Take note that the petrol kiosk in Malaysia has a limit of RM$200 per pump only. Meaning to say, if you pump more than RM200, you need to pump twice.

When you park at the pump, go to the counter and tell him your pump number and pass him RM200 - Some station will have a attendant walking to the kiosk pump to collect cash RM200 (if u r paying cash) - when you complete your fill, if its less than RM200, the counter/attendant will give u back the remaining change.

For credit card, its easy - just scan your card at the pump kiosk and start pump - For card payment, each car can only pump 2 times RM200 (so if your tank is huge) - you will need another credit card to pump at the same kiosk the 3rd time etc

2) App to download 

- Touch & Go App

- WAZE for navigation in Malaysia

3) If you are stopped by unmarked car / civilian car with blue/red/orange siren light - Do Not stop! just keep driving. The only time you stop is when u are flagged by marked police car (with car with Police logo, man in police uniform) - and when u stop, dont just hand them your passport (if u have photocopy , pass them)

Lastly, drive safe and have lots of fun. Please correct me if there are any wrong information or if u need to add on anything

On 7/4/2023 at 6:14 PM, Therbs said:

Hello All

For the benefit of newbies (like me) who are not sure about the correct steps when driving into Malaysia, here are some quick information

1) Go to VEP website https://vep.jpj.gov.my - register your vehicle and print out the email acknowledgement from them. Keep in your car, if you are stopped by the Malaysia TP, they might ask you for this. Remember this is complusary to register your car details into their system.

2) VEP RFID - Often confused by this and VEP resgiration - You Dont need to collect this, as long as you are registered its ok. 

3) Touch & Go - This is the most important card u need (you can get it from Carousell) - get it top-up at any 7-11 (top-up at least SGD$50 depending on where you are travling to) - i also got a Touch & Go stick (also get from Carousell) so dont need to stretch my hand all the way out. When you drive to a Toll, drive to the Touch & Go blue sign lane.

4) Print out required to keep in the car - a) Insurance policy  b) vehicle log-card  c) road-tax d) VEP acknoledgement email 

Other useful information

1) Pump petrol - you can only pump 97 or v-power (technically) if you are driving a sg plate car

Take note that the petrol kiosk in Malaysia has a limit of RM$200 per pump only. Meaning to say, if you pump more than RM200, you need to pump twice.

When you park at the pump, go to the counter and tell him your pump number and pass him RM200 - Some station will have a attendant walking to the kiosk pump to collect cash RM200 (if u r paying cash) - when you complete your fill, if its less than RM200, the counter/attendant will give u back the remaining change.

For credit card, its easy - just scan your card at the pump kiosk and start pump - For card payment, each car can only pump 2 times RM200 (so if your tank is huge) - you will need another credit card to pump at the same kiosk the 3rd time etc

2) App to download 

- Touch & Go App

3) If you are stopped by unmarked car / civilian car with blue/red/orange siren light - Do Not stop! just keep driving. The only time you stop is when u are flagged by marked police car (with car with Police logo, man in police uniform) - and when u stop, dont just hand them your passport (if u have photocopy , pass them)

Lastly, drive safe and have lots of fun. Please correct me if there are any wrong information or if u need to add on anything

Nice bro! Good summary of advice!

On 7/4/2023 at 6:14 PM, Therbs said:

Hello All

Other useful information

2) App to download 

- Touch & Go App

on point 1 & 2, so we don't really need the RFID VEP sticker? just register and then use touch and go to pay for the VEP booth at the immigration counter? fo those who are driving in for the very 1st time!

Is this the understanding?

On 7/7/2023 at 11:45 AM, Spidey10 said:

on point 1 & 2, so we don't really need the RFID VEP sticker? just register and then use touch and go to pay for the VEP booth at the immigration counter? fo those who are driving in for the very 1st time!

Touch n Go can be use to pay at the immigration counter and the toll booths.

I only use Tuas,  dunno about Woodlands though. Guess should be the same bah.

Me here near to 3 weeks liow, so much makan and so relax........haiz, have to go back to SG soon, sian half.  

@Spidey10 

on point 1 & 2, so we don't really need the RFID VEP sticker? NO need. As long as you have resgitered online and have the email acknoledgement they send to your email. Thats good enbough

just register and then use touch and go to pay for the VEP booth (no need go to the VEP booth) at the immigration counter? fo those who are driving in for the very 1st time!

Is this the understanding? All payment Malaysia side- immigrantion or Tolls can be paid using Touch & Go card

On 7/7/2023 at 11:45 AM, Spidey10 said:

Yup... I have the VEP RFID on my car actually but it doesn't work... that is can't automatically deduct road charge at Customs or the toll fee at the highway gantry... and I have no issue going in and out... was in Malaysia for 10 days just this past June....

On 7/7/2023 at 1:36 PM, teomingern said:

Yup... I have the VEP RFID on my car actually but it doesn't work... that is can't automatically deduct road charge at Customs or the toll fee at the highway gantry... and I have no issue going in and out... was in Malaysia for 10 days just this past June....

ok, thanks....so the main thing must have is the touch and go card....everthing else is not important...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 7/7/2023 at 12:46 PM, Therbs said:

@Spidey10 

on point 1 & 2, so we don't really need the RFID VEP sticker? NO need. As long as you have resgitered online and have the email acknoledgement they send to your email. Thats good enbough

just register and then use touch and go to pay for the VEP booth (no need go to the VEP booth) at the immigration counter? fo those who are driving in for the very 1st time!

Is this the understanding? All payment Malaysia side- immigrantion or Tolls can be paid using Touch & Go card

Thanks...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 7/7/2023 at 12:46 PM, Therbs said:

@Spidey10 

For your info,

My previous car scraped 8 years ago, current car been using for the past 8 years, both never reg for VEP.

No problem entering MY.

Just use TnGO card to pay for the Road Charges at Woodland or 2nd Link.

Highway tolls also use TnGO to pay..

No problem at all...

Latest trip into MY was during June school holidays..

😁

On 6/17/2023 at 9:59 AM, Mkl22 said:

If all else fails. RM works! 🤣

Don't sabo lah, newbies won't be able to tell it is a joke.

Edited by Voodooman

My VEP has reached 5 years. Anyone has done a renewal?  At the JPJ website there is no renewal option. Is it we deactivate the current VEP and apply a new one?