BYD M6

pengu

I think just have to look at what your intended function is. 
I'm not really into must have BEV cos its sparkly and new.

I feel the Mifa 7 is not really priced to crush the japs. Since it's owned by C&C, I don't expect much attractive sale price. 

At this category of 6-7 seaters, I would still say the HEV of Spada and Serena still make sense.

On 11/5/2024 at 4:31 AM, Estrangable said:

@Lala81 serena is selling at 210k and their epower drive train is kinda weird as well. A petrol engine to drive the electric motor?!?!? It's like half F

Expand  

well it may seem very inefficient compared to a BEV. 
But HEVs gives u all the benefits of EV driving in the city with zero range anxiety. All the acceleration balanced off by maintenance still of a simple ICE.  
All the people going into MY can just behave as per normal. 

The PI spada will be almost 20k cheaper than the mifa 7. The Serena is lesser but it's sold by AD. 

On 11/5/2024 at 4:31 AM, Estrangable said:

@Lala81 serena is selling at 210k and their epower drive train is kinda weird as well. A petrol engine to drive the electric motor?!?!? It's like half F

Expand  

Nissan Serena drivetrain is similar to BMW I3 REx(1st gen).

It's biggest flaw is tiny battery (1kwh).  It is good for city drive.

anyway if u are buying a car before 2025 ends, then the early adopter scheme matters a lot.

But if your plan is like me to wait and see with no firm plans, then once the early adopter scheme expires, would the BEV price increase? 

On 11/4/2024 at 1:59 PM, Sturtles said:

For M6,

Malaysia is getting a superior performance specification compared to us

Their RM110k variant has 120kW(160hp) / 10.1 s

RM124k variant has 150kW(200hp) / 8.6s

Singapore's Top spec SGD 169k/RM 540k variant has 100kw ( 134hp) / 12+s

Screenshot2024-11-04at9_56_01PM.thumb.png.9abcf406705dcb433a8b10cf9d550306.pngScreenshot2024-11-04at9_56_43PM.thumb.png.d13da0a7a56bbc2a525cdebe2381d686.png

Expand  

Sad lor... for Cat A COE.

On 11/7/2024 at 12:20 AM, Fellows said:

More expensive yet came in detuned due to COE.

Expand  

Wonder if they will bring in the normal ones now that COE Cat A and B less than $10k difference.

Maybe uptuned back lol

Saw a byd roadshow and sat into the M6. 

The step in height is very uncomfortable even for a tall individual like me. The battery pack made the floor height higher than other cars. The headroom is pretty poor. I brushed my head against the top door sill when trying to get out of the car. It's To the point you would have needed a grab bar for older folks to get onto a mpv.

When u seat the under thigh support is lacking since the floor height jacked up your knees. 

The atto 3 is much more comfortable to seat in just for this one reason. 

On 12/3/2024 at 5:18 AM, Lala81 said:

Saw a byd roadshow and sat into the M6. 

The step in height is very uncomfortable even for a tall individual like me. The battery pack made the floor height higher than other cars. The headroom is pretty poor. I brushed my head against the top door sill when trying to get out of the car. It's To the point you would have needed a grab bar for older folks to get onto a mpv.

When u seat the under thigh support is lacking since the floor height jacked up your knees. 

The atto 3 is much more comfortable to seat in just for this one reason. 

Expand  

To me the M6 is still base heavily from E6. More like a cheap version of 7 seater.  And the E6 is use as taxi, transport provider even in China.  Not a good car to me. 

  On 3/1/2025 at 4:55 AM, Lala81 said:

3rd party frunk installation. 

Expand  

Anything the market wants, ah tiong will produce for you. But I am impress, it means most of those others without a frunk can now be created.  [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

4th Gear
  On 11/4/2024 at 3:50 PM, Carbon82 said:

You can make it de. Jia you! [:)]

Start with BYD M6, than the fuel cost you save slowly built up for the downpayment of the real M6 (pre-owned unit since there is no more new M6). 

Koba must learn how to KISS (keep it short & sweet) when people asked him what car he drive. 

"M6" and you can hear "Wow", "Wah Seh", "Solid lah Koba"... 

"M6 EV" and the response is "Oh China EV ah" "Wah Paing, almost thought he drive the BMW M6"... :D

Let me chap ji kar with salesman and ah pek maths. 

Salesman: "Assuming you travel 20,000Km per year, you would have clocked 200,000km by the time your COE expire. In this case, the $50K premium worked out to be just an extra $0.25 / km, very reasonable for the extra blar blar blar you are getting..." 

Ah Pek: "Wah lau eh, that mean I will be paying $1.50 extra to drive to the nearby Kopitiam to lah kopi with my kaki, and heh, that is 1 Cup of kopi leh, and when I come back, another cup of kopi gone, mah nah wu hua..." 

:D :D

Expand  

Hahaha BMW green eye liao. By suing BYD (if the news is true), BMW is actually giving BYD more avenue to promote their M6 MPV. The 2 M6 are from 2 entirely different categories, no way can the consumers be mislead or confused by BYD naming strategy.

A clash of mistaken identities? BMW is suing BYD in Indonesia over the “M6” nameplate (source: https://autobuzz.my/2025/03/07/a-clash-of-mistaken-identities-bmw-is-suing-byd-in-indonesia-over-the-m6-nameplate/)

2015-BMW-M6-Competition-Edition-01-e1443

2015-BMW-M6-Competition-Edition-02.jpg

It seems BMW Indonesia isn’t too happy with BYD using the “M6” name for its fully electric (EV) MPV. According to Otodriver, BMW AG is now suing BYD Indonesia over the use of the nameplate, claiming it could cause confusion among customers.

When the BYD M6 was first announced, we couldn’t help but chuckle at the thought of a spacious, family-friendly MPV sporting the same badge as a high-performance BMW coupe. Obviously, BMW didn’t quite share our amusement.

The BYD M6 was launched in Indonesia back in July 2024, so it’s a bit strange that BMW is only taking action now. Perhaps there were some behind-the-scenes discussions that didn’t pan out.

Checks with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) show that BMW has applied for a trademark in Indonesia on the “M6” nameplate, while BYD has applied for “BYD M6” in the same market. Both applications are still pending approval from the Directorate General of Intellectual Property (DGIP) in Indonesia.

BMW is concerned that using the “M6” name on the BYD will cause confusion, as it’s already associated with a high-performance model in their line up, even though the BMW M6 was discontinued in 2019 and replaced by the M8.

Edited by SGCM928