Boomers on the road should take mandatory tests

I am writing for myself, a message to the future me.

i have no intention of being involved in any automobile accident because I am old.

there are broadly three types of people driving/riding.

1. the rich.
2. the not so poor ( condos and single landed property owners ) 
3. the poor blue collar

the rich do not want any danger to them on the roads. They don’t drive, it’s their workers.

the not so poor delusional what they say must be obeyed. More big 8 than Foreign ambassador or some other office holder. They dunno they are just better paid slave.

the poor which must obey.

now, elderly drivers…mandatory annual health check regarding driving fitness from day one of driver license, Wah dr happy can buy new car. Fair to everyone and makes medical school worthwhile….😃

ok say start from retirement age 65 which is so random and no bearing on fitness to drive/ride from say 21 year old.

as we know driving/riding is an incredibly complex maneuver requiring functioning brain system. Numerous studies done.

Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews

Volume 95, December 2018, Pages 464-479

therefore if we decide to send annual reminder health checkup fitness to drive letters until 70 years old from 65 years old, then only mandatory driving health checks from 70 years old.

but from 65 years old, drivers have to drive only 80 bhp vehicle with the acceleration power of say a Nissan note (petrol) cvt. Slow and steady.

electric vehicles may be a bit too much for cognitively weakening person. But the good thing is that can be tuned to low power despite vehicle. Look good but all are sheep. Know what I mean?

go Changi straight for violators, no excuse I Lao nang. You know siginna applies across lifetime.

this issue is a cross between the domains of public health, land transport and traffic police. And one which may impact global insurance policy. And money always decides finally.

detune the vehicle, not insult and hurt the elderly.

My dad 75+ . Driving every day. 

Sometime I sit beside him I cannot tahan.

Respond and reflex confirm cannot match youngester. 

Move off at traffic light slower. 

But to say he is more accident prone?  I won't say so. He dun any how overtake. ( he drive quite fast on expressway)

And he does not have any accidents record for more then 10 years. 

But if ask him go take driving test again.

Confirm plus chop will fail. I dun think any of those 70+ can pass any test.

i dont think anyone of us will still be driving in 20 or 30 years time. i am 40s now. robots have a much better safety record than human beings. just look at the failure probabilities of elec or mech parts vs human errors. 

On 11/4/2024 at 12:17 PM, Beregond said:

But to say he is more accident prone?  I won't say so. He dun any how overtake. ( he drive quite fast on expressway)

I believe if you ask anyone of any age to go take driving test again, many will fail. Lol.

Anyway, your dad is consider very good, at 75+ still drive everyday. :a-m1212: Not many people when they are in their 70s liao still can drive regularly. If i am able to live until 70s, don't know if i am still able to drive. So when i see people in their 70s still drive everyday in their own car and not for a living, i sort of salute them, even though many of them, their driving really 'hazardous'.

On 11/3/2024 at 2:10 PM, Jellandross said:

Boomer will tell you I eat salt more than you eat rice. 

“One should never use chronological age to determine another’s ability,” said the regular golfer, adding that she often outperforms those 30 years her junior on the golf course.

I agree, i frequently , almost always beat younger players in there 30s and 40s in tennis singles.
But after that i here pain there pain.  Hahahah

• Haha! 7

My dad is above 75 and still driving daily but only around the neighborhood mostly. He is fully aware that he shouldn't be behind the wheel after dark.  Day time, he drives reasonably ok but he is no longer the agile yet safe F1 driver he used to be but generally he is still a very safe driver.  

He passed his medical check, did his cataracts ops years ago and cleared to continue driving year after year. 

They should have more rigorous medical test. Not sure if they even test for impaired night vision. I seriously doubt I can drive safely after 70/75, especially at night. Already, I am avoiding long distance night drive.

On 11/4/2024 at 12:17 PM, 13177 said:

I believe if you ask anyone of any age to go take driving test again, many will fail. Lol.

Anyway, your dad is consider very good, at 75+ still drive everyday. :a-m1212: Not many people when they are in their 70s liao still can drive regularly. If i am able to live until 70s, don't know if i am still able to drive. So when i see people in their 70s still drive everyday in their own car and not for a living, i sort of salute them, even though many of them, their driving really 'hazardous'.

U are our all weather Kave  King & bestest Kar Karer 🤪

On 11/4/2024 at 12:17 PM, Beregond said:

Becos can neber check blindspot due to stiff neck? I sometimes also only can turn a bit and let the eyeballs do the stretching...😂

On 11/4/2024 at 6:08 PM, mersaylee said:

Becos can neber check blindspot due to stiff neck? I sometimes also only can turn a bit and let the eyeballs do the stretching...😂

As long not other balls are stretching by the passenger when u drive😂😂

My German Abrasive Factory's Boss,this year age 85,still everyday Zooming around Autobahn at 250Km/h in his Audi S8..no accident

• Shocked 2

On 11/4/2024 at 4:25 PM, Throttle2 said:

I agree, i frequently , almost always beat younger players in there 30s and 40s in tennis singles.
But after that i here pain there pain.  Hahahah

Sounds like those old kungfu master. Can beat all the young challengers who came to door step. But later go back own room kena internal injury must take medicine recover 😂 

Edited by Jellandross

On 11/4/2024 at 7:20 PM, Jellandross said:

Sounds like those old kungfu master. Can beat all the young challengers who came to door step. But later go back own room kena internal injury must take medicine recover 😂 

In terms of skills, technique and experience, i will usually triumph over these younger opponents.  
however, my physical fitness and speed is not so good.   and chronic injuries often act up after the match depending on how hard i push myself.

last week for example, i pushed quite hard playing 1 singles match beating the 35 yr old 6-3 6-3 and the following day playing 3 sets of doubles. 2-6 7-5 6-6 

Probably tore my MCL and LCL as right knee swelled up for 3 days.   Now the swell and pain has subsided 80% but still cant play. 

sigh……i still hv quite a few fellas 30-35 yrs old who want to challenge me, but i hv to postpone.   wu xia in jiang hu hve to maintain reputation mah….otherwise they think i scared of them

muayhahhahha

Edited by Throttle2
  • Haha! 8

On 11/4/2024 at 6:42 PM, RadX said:

As long not other balls are stretching by the passenger when u drive😂😂

Only chiobu is allowed...i need full concentration when i drive...car or her...😁

On 11/4/2024 at 7:40 PM, Throttle2 said:

In terms of skills, technique and experience, i will usually triumph over these younger opponents.  
however, my physical fitness and speed is not so good.   and chronic injuries often act up after the match depending on how hard i push myself.

last week for example, i pushed quite hard playing 1 singles match beating the 35 yr old 6-3 6-3 and the following day playing 3 sets of doubles. 2-6 7-5 6-6 

Probably tore my MCL and LCL as right knee swelled up for 3 days.   Now the swell and pain has subsided 80% but still cant play. 

sigh……i still hv quite a few fellas 30-35 yrs old who want to challenge me, but i hv to postpone.   wu xia in jiang hu hve to maintain reputation mah….otherwise they think i scared of them

muayhahhahha

You need to go back to the basic.

Weight training and cardio.

Play 2 days and down 2 wks is NG

On 11/4/2024 at 4:48 PM, Voodooman said:

My dad is above 75 and still driving daily but only around the neighborhood mostly. He is fully aware that he shouldn't be behind the wheel after dark.  Day time, he drives reasonably ok but he is no longer the agile yet safe F1 driver he used to be but generally he is still a very safe driver.  

He passed his medical check, did his cataracts ops years ago and cleared to continue driving year after year. 

They should have more rigorous medical test. Not sure if they even test for impaired night vision. I seriously doubt I can drive safely after 70/75, especially at night. Already, I am avoiding long distance night drive.

True, as you age your eyesight after dark or dim light really not very sharp. I now also don't really like to drive at night, esp for long distance or on expressway. Cause maybe due to my 'san guang' and i don't wear spec for that. So during night or dim light, my eyesight not say very sharp. Lol.

On 11/4/2024 at 7:02 PM, ER-3682 said:

My German Abrasive Factory's Boss,this year age 85,still everyday Zooming around Autobahn at 250Km/h in his Audi S8..no accident

Ask him upload his dash cam. It would be quite a sight to behold. Nice car and speed, nice expressway.

On 11/4/2024 at 10:13 PM, 13177 said:

True, as you age your eyesight after dark or dim light really not very sharp. I now also don't really like to drive at night, esp for long distance or on expressway. Cause maybe due to my 'san guang' and i don't wear spec for that. So during night or dim light, my eyesight not say very sharp. Lol.

For this reason I really salute those who dare to drive NS highway at night, and even those kampong roads.