13177 Hypersonic Monday at 10:46 PM Share Monday at 10:46 PM On 11/5/2024 at 1:42 AM, 107fan said: For this reason I really salute those who dare to drive NS highway at night, and even those kampong roads. Those people could be already used to driving in such condition. For us, don’t think our eyes are used to driving in those condition since our roads are always well lit. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged Monday at 11:17 PM Share Monday at 11:17 PM (edited) On 11/5/2024 at 1:41 AM, 107fan said: Ask him upload his dash cam. It would be quite a sight to behold. Nice car and speed, nice expressway. Germans respect Privacy,very little people install Dashcam. Edited Monday at 11:17 PM by ER-3682 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic Tuesday at 03:16 AM Share Tuesday at 03:16 AM In my opinion, the percentage of PHV drivers committed road traffic offences far more than those old drivers..... Yes, they are old and slow drivers but compare to those rash & negligent act PHV drivers, the PHV drivers committed the most. Only once a while we read about old drivers cause traffic accident death but how about the rash & negligent lorries drivers, drunkard, drugs and PHV & taxi drivers that causes more on the road per year. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic Tuesday at 06:11 AM Share Tuesday at 06:11 AM (edited) On 11/4/2024 at 4:48 PM, Voodooman said: My dad is above 75 and still driving daily but only around the neighborhood mostly. He is fully aware that he shouldn't be behind the wheel after dark. Day time, he drives reasonably ok but he is no longer the agile yet safe F1 driver he used to be but generally he is still a very safe driver. He passed his medical check, did his cataracts ops years ago and cleared to continue driving year after year. They should have more rigorous medical test. Not sure if they even test for impaired night vision. I seriously doubt I can drive safely after 70/75, especially at night. Already, I am avoiding long distance night drive. all your laopeh very young have you all leh. 😆 I'm 43 and my dad is already 76. Most of you guys should be like 5-10 years older than me or even more. Edited Tuesday at 06:11 AM by Lala81 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic Tuesday at 07:23 AM Share Tuesday at 07:23 AM On 11/4/2024 at 4:48 PM, Voodooman said: My dad is above 75 and still driving daily but only around the neighborhood mostly. He is fully aware that he shouldn't be behind the wheel after dark. Day time, he drives reasonably ok but he is no longer the agile yet safe F1 driver he used to be but generally he is still a very safe driver. He passed his medical check, did his cataracts ops years ago and cleared to continue driving year after year. They should have more rigorous medical test. Not sure if they even test for impaired night vision. I seriously doubt I can drive safely after 70/75, especially at night. Already, I am avoiding long distance night drive. I see first few pages, didn't dare reply... until see beregond and yours, now then reply 😅 My dad is way above 75, and is still driving weekly to bring my mother to market nearby. He has not driven at night for maybe 10 yr. I also dun let him drive if it rains. After circuit break, when he stopped for few mth (during which I drove them for marketing), i sat beside him for ~a month to see him drive and re-familiarise himself, and build up his confidence, before i allowed him to resume driving. He stopped working 12 yr ago, and before that was driving a van chiong everyday do delivery for a family biz - way before ninja van, lalamove or the likes started ploughing our roads. I only remember him being caught for speeding maybe 40 yr ago, when i was a kid. after that i think he learnt his lesson (or just got better at detecting TP)... so have had a clean driving record for few decades liao. In any case, i told him pre-requisite to let him drive, is must drive slow (and not chiong anymore). cannot anyhow overtake impatiently like when younger... He also had cataract ops 8-9 yr ago, and docs cleared him for driving every 3 yr. Now my son just passed his driving test. Once he is more familiar and confident (this one refers more to me, not my son), will try to see whether it's possible to get my son to drive them instead, and wind my father off driving... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic Tuesday at 07:35 AM Share Tuesday at 07:35 AM (edited) My FIL and my dad both stopped driving liao for several years. 76 and 75 respectively. Though my dad could still drive me to chemo in 2019 and before that he used to take my car during our holidays. Edited Tuesday at 07:35 AM by Lala81 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged Tuesday at 07:48 AM Share Tuesday at 07:48 AM On 11/5/2024 at 2:11 PM, Lala81 said: all your laopeh very young have you all leh. 😆 I'm 43 and my dad is already 76. Most of you guys should be like 5-10 years older than me or even more. my laopeh is 28 years older than me I am catching up every year, will be same age as him in another 5 years 😁 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic Tuesday at 08:01 AM Share Tuesday at 08:01 AM On 11/5/2024 at 3:35 PM, Lala81 said: My FIL and my dad both stopped driving liao for several years. 76 and 75 respectively. Though my dad could still drive me to chemo in 2019 and before that he used to take my car during our holidays. My FIL stopped driving before wife and i got married. Noone ever asked him why - and i actually asked my wife whether he got into some 'incident' before resulting in the decision to - he stopped... My dad would like to continue if given a choice... i'm carefully monitoring when to not let him continue (cos it's my car he's driving), but was warned by an ex-colleague that that could start the elderly's general health deteriotation... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic Tuesday at 08:02 AM Share Tuesday at 08:02 AM On 11/5/2024 at 3:48 PM, Gnahp said: my laopeh is 28 years older than me I am catching up every year, will be same age as him in another 5 years 😁 wah... is this a PSLE maths question (that I can't answer)? 😆 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic Tuesday at 08:18 AM Share Tuesday at 08:18 AM On 11/5/2024 at 4:02 PM, Atrecord said: wah... is this a PSLE maths question (that I can't answer)? 😆 He must be a Math teacher, that's why can pose such a question?! Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Supercharged Tuesday at 08:25 AM Share Tuesday at 08:25 AM (edited) On 11/5/2024 at 3:48 PM, Gnahp said: my laopeh is 28 years older than me I am catching up every year, will be same age as him in another 5 years 😁 Is the math question correct? I cannot solve leh... How can u catch up 28 yrs gap in 5 yrs? Edited Tuesday at 08:26 AM by Tkseah 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic Tuesday at 08:34 AM Share Tuesday at 08:34 AM Rather than talking about safety records, boomer should look at the ability to react in bz traffic. In addition, boomer usually like to drive big ASS car like ASS class, which worsen their reaction time. Like someone previously said, if you are unker YS Khong, continue to drive. Otherwise, take BMW or Grab 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged Tuesday at 09:03 AM Share Tuesday at 09:03 AM On 11/5/2024 at 4:25 PM, Tkseah said: Is the math question correct? I cannot solve leh... How can u catch up 28 yrs gap in 5 yrs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bronzzeart Clutched Tuesday at 11:23 AM Share Tuesday at 11:23 AM My dad drove class 4 tipper truck till 69. After that retired at home which made him bored. 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic Tuesday at 11:29 AM Share Tuesday at 11:29 AM On 11/4/2024 at 10:13 PM, 13177 said: True, as you age your eyesight after dark or dim light really not very sharp. I now also don't really like to drive at night, esp for long distance or on expressway. Cause maybe due to my 'san guang' and i don't wear spec for that. So during night or dim light, my eyesight not say very sharp. Lol. Hmmmmm...... Is there a part of you, any part, that is still good? Legit question. Seem to me that smlj problem mentioned also you got share one way or another. 活着还真的是不容易. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic Tuesday at 11:35 AM Share Tuesday at 11:35 AM On 11/5/2024 at 7:29 PM, Tianmo said: Hmmmmm...... Is there a part of you, any part, that is still good? Legit question. Seem to me that smlj problem mentioned also you got share one way or another. 活着还真的是不容易. *cough cough* 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic Tuesday at 11:36 AM Share Tuesday at 11:36 AM On 11/5/2024 at 7:23 PM, Bronzzeart said: My dad drove class 4 tipper truck till 69. After that retired at home which made him bored. For commercial vehicles, can drive until 75 le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic Tuesday at 01:02 PM Share Tuesday at 01:02 PM On 11/5/2024 at 6:46 AM, 13177 said: Those people could be already used to driving in such condition. For us, don’t think our eyes are used to driving in those condition since our roads are always well lit. Can drive at night...just need to keep adjusting high beam when opposite direction have vehicles appearing. Even many places in Australia also no street light. Kangaroos are the main danger at night.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...