RadX Moderator November 3 Share November 3 I so agree…. I would definitely stop if I am a hazard on the road. elderly drivers https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/debate-heats-up-over-driving-age-limit-medical-test-after-accidents-involving-elderly-drivers?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0BMQABHVdysuE5cOO-5gRg9lIfmZFevSsDQR1yj7q4a56O84Y_Ymw1dkZNUUON3g_aem_hR-QDxWB1oKGfQdafq-S3A ↡ Advertisement 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 3 Author Share November 3 And we know how stubborn they are not to be ageist but you are seeing more of these accidents liao that said, the young , reckless and drink driving is the other category. so with an aging population, this is set to get more prevalent in the years to come 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 Macam extend coe car liddat...just reduce the inspection...i mean medical checkup for licence renewal to a yearly affair lah... Should include reflexes in the checkup regime...how fast can the hands grab...ehh...anything avaliable at the clinic 😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 (edited) I think the medical tests are not accurate to make sure if the person is fit for driving, esp if the person is very old. Even though the eldery might be a season driver since young, but if the person already in his/her old age, esp 70s and above, he/she might be react slower to the surrounding in case anything happens on the road. Being healthy doesn't mean he/she is still able to drive, as driving involve many factors. Just yesterday saw one car infront of me drive snail slow on the outer right lane on a road, as if like not sure where to go. Then the car change to the left lane and there was a car coming and near to this car, this car almost bang onto the oncoming car. Luckily that car driver skill is good and know how to siam and avoid an accident. After overtake the car, saw an elderly man driving, think should be at least 70s plus. See his face still like don’t know what is happening. 😅 This was one of the incident that i saw. And there are many more elderly dangerous driving due to poor response. Edited November 3 by 13177 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 2 incidents and many more near accidents...but many dui ended up as accidents...wat is the priority ans focus should be huh? I tink my boh tak chek fren kelvin uses his buttock to tink also know betterer than simi scorers...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 8:16 AM, RadX said: I so agree…. I would definitely stop if I am a hazard on the road. elderly drivers https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/debate-heats-up-over-driving-age-limit-medical-test-after-accidents-involving-elderly-drivers?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0BMQABHVdysuE5cOO-5gRg9lIfmZFevSsDQR1yj7q4a56O84Y_Ymw1dkZNUUON3g_aem_hR-QDxWB1oKGfQdafq-S3A Act surely , U should stop now coz u r a hazard n CBK to AR n VW owners🤭 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 3 Author Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 9:42 AM, Freeder said: Act surely , U should stop now coz u r a hazard n CBK to AR n VW owners🤭 They safe le VW and AR always in workshop😂😂 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Supercharged November 3 Share November 3 I would support the following.. Medical test at age 65, 68, 73, 78, 83, 88 Driving test at age 70, 75, 80, 85 Revoke license at age 90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 10:33 AM, Tkseah said: I would support the following.. Medical test at age 65, 68, 73, 78, 83, 88 Driving test at age 70, 75, 80, 85 Revoke license at age 90 Wow I’d think 75 to be the last age to stop driving, or earlier if the person has mobility issues. For elderly aunties I suggest they stop at 62 cos from experience they are more easily startled and will kalang kabok one. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 3 Author Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 11:04 AM, Theoldjaffa said: Wow I’d think 75 to be the last age to stop driving, or earlier if the person has mobility issues. For elderly aunties I suggest they stop at 62 cos from experience they are more easily startled and will kalang kabok one. V true! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 3 Share November 3 Many people should take driving test after 5 years, not just elderly. I'm sure we will weed out many idiot drivers that way. A lot of people after passing, throw everything out the window. 7 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 11:04 AM, Theoldjaffa said: Wow I’d think 75 to be the last age to stop driving, or earlier if the person has mobility issues. For elderly aunties I suggest they stop at 62 cos from experience they are more easily startled and will kalang kabok one. Talk to Malaysia's Dr Tun Ma,at 99 years old with Heart Attack History,still can go Sepang & drive at speed up to 154 Km/h. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 11:09 AM, Benarsenal said: Many people who drive BMW should take driving test after 5 years, not just elderly. I'm sure we will weed out many idiot drivers that way. A lot of people after passing, throw everything out the window. I help you refine your post 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 11:53 AM, ER-3682 said: Talk to Malaysia's Dr Tun Ma,at 99 years old with Heart Attack History,still can go Sepang & drive at speed up to 154 Km/h. Cos Malaysia boleh ma 💨 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 12:19 PM, Theoldjaffa said: I help you refine your post I strongly believe that it can be further refine to 1 yr instead of 5 yrs, maybe even 6 months. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic November 3 Share November 3 (edited) Boomer will tell you I eat salt more than you eat rice. “One should never use chronological age to determine another’s ability,” said the regular golfer, adding that she often outperforms those 30 years her junior on the golf course. Edited November 3 by Jellandross 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 2:10 PM, Jellandross said: Boomer will tell you I eat salt more than you eat rice. “One should never use chronological age to determine another’s ability,” said the regular golfer, adding that she often outperforms those 30 years her junior on the golf course. Delusional. Golfing and driving uses different skills. She gives off a vibe of being high and mighty with low EQ. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic November 3 Share November 3 On 11/3/2024 at 8:56 AM, 13177 said: I think the medical tests are not accurate to make sure if the person is fit for driving, esp if the person is very old. Even though the eldery might be a season driver since young, but if the person already in his/her old age, esp 70s and above, he/she might be react slower to the surrounding in case anything happens on the road. Being healthy doesn't mean he/she is still able to drive, as driving involve many factors. Just yesterday saw one car infront of me drive snail slow on the outer right lane on a road, as if like not sure where to go. Then the car change to the left lane and there was a car coming and near to this car, this car almost bang onto the oncoming car. Luckily that car driver skill is good and know how to siam and avoid an accident. After overtake the car, saw an elderly man driving, think should be at least 70s plus. See his face still like don’t know what is happening. 😅 This was one of the incident that i saw. And there are many more elderly dangerous driving due to poor response. That's why the focus of the article is not exactly correct. Medical test is only a small part. The litmus test is an actual driving test. If the driving instructor did not pee his pants by the end of the drive means can pass liao 😅 ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...