serenade 6th Gear November 9 Share November 9 On 11/9/2024 at 1:30 AM, 107fan said: Got you. That merging lane into CTE directly outside the end of Emerald Hill estate. I was considering a first Jag a couple of years ago but could only fit the XE in my plans. Not quite the Jag of yesteryears... https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1132301&DL=3973 A very rare 1974 E-type V12 on sale here for $780k. 21,000km on the odometer. Only true Jaguar E-type fans, with another car for daily drive, need apply. The trouble some to tune SU carbs have been replaced with fuel-injection. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear November 9 Share November 9 On 11/9/2024 at 1:38 AM, 107fan said: Did you at least rent an AM during your years in the UK? Or visit the other automotive towns like Gaydon/Coventry? During my time, my uni only had technical links with Austin Rover Longbridge manufacturing and Ford at Dagenham. Longbridge was more accessible due to travelling time. Jaguar was built at Brown's Lane in nearby Coventry. I had two Jaguars. An X-type and a S-type. Both were from the era of Ford ownership of Jaguar. The Ford DNA was evident. From the Ford sourced 2.5L V6 engine, to the switches, to the better reliability. Contrary to expectations, the Jags were problem free for 10 years and not unduly thirsty. The interior was definitely a step-up from Ford Mondeo on which they were based. Nice leather with classy stitching, comfortable seats and insulation. Wearnes servicing was expensive, but thorough and good. Of the two, the X was the sportier drive. The S had a solid chassis that just rode smoothly over bumps but to me was underpowered due to the weight. Overtaking on the NS highway was a tad slow. The 3.0 V6 engine would have been better, but was no longer available. My relationship with Jaguar ended when the SG economy took a dive. The Jaguar had to go for something cheaper to maintain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 9 Share November 9 On 11/9/2024 at 10:05 AM, serenade said: During my time, my uni only had technical links with Austin Rover Longbridge manufacturing and Ford at Dagenham. Longbridge was more accessible due to travelling time. Jaguar was built at Brown's Lane in nearby Coventry. I had two Jaguars. An X-type and a S-type. Both were from the era of Ford ownership of Jaguar. The Ford DNA was evident. From the Ford sourced 2.5L V6 engine, to the switches, to the better reliability. Contrary to expectations, the Jags were problem free for 10 years and not unduly thirsty. The interior was definitely a step-up from Ford Mondeo on which they were based. Nice leather with classy stitching, comfortable seats and insulation. Wearnes servicing was expensive, but thorough and good. Of the two, the X was the sportier drive. The S had a solid chassis that just rode smoothly over bumps but to me was underpowered due to the weight. Overtaking on the NS highway was a tad slow. The 3.0 V6 engine would have been better, but was no longer available. My relationship with Jaguar ended when the SG economy took a dive. The Jaguar had to go for something cheaper to maintain. I drove the Lincoln LS 4.0 v8 in the US for a couple of months when I was there in my first job for technology transfer. It was the American version of the S-type. Chassis balance was nice, a little soft but still good on long sweeper. the v8 was very smooth and provided good power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear November 9 Share November 9 On 11/9/2024 at 10:05 AM, serenade said: During my time, my uni only had technical links with Austin Rover Longbridge manufacturing and Ford at Dagenham. Longbridge was more accessible due to travelling time. Jaguar was built at Brown's Lane in nearby Coventry. I had two Jaguars. An X-type and a S-type. Both were from the era of Ford ownership of Jaguar. The Ford DNA was evident. From the Ford sourced 2.5L V6 engine, to the switches, to the better reliability. Contrary to expectations, the Jags were problem free for 10 years and not unduly thirsty. The interior was definitely a step-up from Ford Mondeo on which they were based. Nice leather with classy stitching, comfortable seats and insulation. Wearnes servicing was expensive, but thorough and good. Of the two, the X was the sportier drive. The S had a solid chassis that just rode smoothly over bumps but to me was underpowered due to the weight. Overtaking on the NS highway was a tad slow. The 3.0 V6 engine would have been better, but was no longer available. My relationship with Jaguar ended when the SG economy took a dive. The Jaguar had to go for something cheaper to maintain. You must have good driving habits, and did regular oil changes. If well maintained, I believe most conti models are capable of being reliable. Yes I was actually looking at a few X types a few years ago (despite the not so good reputation and condemnation from Jag purists online). Looks sporty, more unique than a 3 series, and some even had the leaping hood ornament. 😄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear November 10 Share November 10 @107fan Since you mentioned the leaping cat mascot on the hood. This piece was the part that constantly gave trouble on my X-type throughout ownership. In contrast the three-pointed star of my E250 has not even given a hint of trouble over 10 years. The leaping cat is a hazard to any pedestrian unlucky enough to fall on it. The sharp features can rip open soft flesh. So Jaguar mounted it on a spring loaded plate that will collapse downwards when any force is applied to the mascot. To protect the pedestrian or animal hit by the car. The spring is just a clip under the bonnet. The clip gave way multiple times. Resulting in the mascot going from leaping cat, to cat trying to climb out of a hole. Wearnes did not manage to fix it after multiple attempts. Last resort was to tie it in place and forget about spring loading and safety. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear November 10 Share November 10 On 11/10/2024 at 1:29 PM, serenade said: @107fan Since you mentioned the leaping cat mascot on the hood. This piece was the part that constantly gave trouble on my X-type throughout ownership. In contrast the three-pointed star of my E250 has not even given a hint of trouble over 10 years. The leaping cat is a hazard to any pedestrian unlucky enough to fall on it. The sharp features can rip open soft flesh. So Jaguar mounted it on a spring loaded plate that will collapse downwards when any force is applied to the mascot. To protect the pedestrian or animal hit by the car. The spring is just a clip under the bonnet. The clip gave way multiple times. Resulting in the mascot going from leaping cat, to cat trying to climb out of a hole. Wearnes did not manage to fix it after multiple attempts. Last resort was to tie it in place and forget about spring loading and safety. I was under the impression that the X types didn't come with leaping hood ornament as stock after the change in regulation. Even the XJs and XFs didn't have them. Or was I mistaken or this was a Wearnes local option? Lol, the spring loaded feature sounds rather prone to error indeed. You would think a little more engineering would have gone into it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator November 15 Author Share November 15 Jaguar's Bentley competitor!! Imposing, massive, and somewhere between a four-door coupe and a shooting brake. This heavily camouflaged prototype is our first look at Jaguar's future. The company published these initial photos of the prototype undergoing test sessions in England. This will be the first in what Jaguar calls its "new species" of high-end vehicles. It will be shown on December 2 in Art Week Miami alongside three additional concept cars as part of the brand's hard "reset." Jaguar will transform from a "premium" brand competing with the likes of Audi and BMW, into a high-end automaker alongside alternatives like Bentley, Maserati, and Porsche. The technology and performance will improve, and the price, as expected, will go up. Initial costs will be somewhere in the $130,000 (~S$170K) to $140,000 (~S$185K) mark. [Try to imagine its price tag here after applying exorbitant vehicle taxes, COE and profit of Wearnes, suah lah] Arguably even more important, though, will be the brand's design revolution. It has a substantial road presence. In terms of proportions, it is very far from what we do today. To get there, I divided the design team into three groups. Within three months they produced 17 full-size models with different design languages, some were familiar, others looked like something out of science fiction movies. The design language we chose is exuberant. Just think of something that will be really different on the road. And in December we will unveil our new design language. - Rawdon Glover, Managing Director, Jaguar JLR 2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 15 Share November 15 i think the end is near.....😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 15 Share November 15 On 11/15/2024 at 2:32 PM, Carbon82 said: Jaguar's Bentley competitor!! Imposing, massive, and somewhere between a four-door coupe and a shooting brake. This heavily camouflaged prototype is our first look at Jaguar's future. The company published these initial photos of the prototype undergoing test sessions in England. This will be the first in what Jaguar calls its "new species" of high-end vehicles. It will be shown on December 2 in Art Week Miami alongside three additional concept cars as part of the brand's hard "reset." Jaguar will transform from a "premium" brand competing with the likes of Audi and BMW, into a high-end automaker alongside alternatives like Bentley, Maserati, and Porsche. The technology and performance will improve, and the price, as expected, will go up. Initial costs will be somewhere in the $130,000 (~S$170K) to $140,000 (~S$185K) mark. [Try to imagine its price tag here after applying exorbitant vehicle taxes, COE and profit of Wearnes, suah lah] Arguably even more important, though, will be the brand's design revolution. It has a substantial road presence. In terms of proportions, it is very far from what we do today. To get there, I divided the design team into three groups. Within three months they produced 17 full-size models with different design languages, some were familiar, others looked like something out of science fiction movies. The design language we chose is exuberant. Just think of something that will be really different on the road. And in December we will unveil our new design language. - Rawdon Glover, Managing Director, Jaguar JLR Marketed above premium, but theme is exuberant. Don't think GCB class like flashy and exciting.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear November 20 Share November 20 https://news.abplive.com/business/elon-musk-takes-aim-at-jaguar-s-new-logo-video-do-you-sell-cars-1732595 Farewell old Jaguar... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear November 20 Share November 20 Wah lau eh … 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 20 Share November 20 On 11/20/2024 at 8:14 PM, Count_duku said: Wah lau eh … Brand dying liao… I hope all British crap can close shop. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 20 Share November 20 On 11/9/2024 at 9:37 AM, serenade said: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1132301&DL=3973 A very rare 1974 E-type V12 on sale here for $780k. 21,000km on the odometer. Only true Jaguar E-type fans, with another car for daily drive, need apply. The trouble some to tune SU carbs have been replaced with fuel-injection. Wah the only thing I noticed is the low omv of 82k vs the claimed 350k pounds spent on refurbishing the car! I wonder if customer occifers also noticed I. The comfort of their office. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 20 Share November 20 On 11/20/2024 at 7:54 PM, 107fan said: https://news.abplive.com/business/elon-musk-takes-aim-at-jaguar-s-new-logo-video-do-you-sell-cars-1732595 Farewell old Jaguar... "They don’t make cars anymore. They make mistakes," This is so funny. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear November 20 Share November 20 On 11/20/2024 at 8:14 PM, Count_duku said: Wah lau eh … Kim Huat is a car guy too? Something prompted him to make this video about Jaguar! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 20 Share November 20 (edited) On 11/20/2024 at 11:15 PM, 107fan said: Kim Huat is a car guy too? Something prompted him to make this video about Jaguar! Most likely He bought a 2nd Hand Jaguar,very often in Workshop. Edited November 20 by ER-3682 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear November 20 Share November 20 On 11/20/2024 at 11:15 PM, 107fan said: Kim Huat is a car guy too? Something prompted him to make this video about Jaguar! Kim Huat Singapore nuumber oone Jaguar fan (secretly) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator November 22 Author Share November 22 On 11/20/2024 at 7:54 PM, 107fan said: https://news.abplive.com/business/elon-musk-takes-aim-at-jaguar-s-new-logo-video-do-you-sell-cars-1732595 Farewell old Jaguar... There are actually 3 new logo introduced by Jaguar a few days back. I actually find the first one (the leaping Jaguar) better than the current one, simply because it is now leaping in the correct direction, forwards vs backwards on the current logo. But I concur with Mr. Brown, the new fonts are too rounded, 不够霸气。Round round car model? This one Pop up in my mind instantly. 😂 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...