LTA to increase up to 20,000 COEs

Ct3833

On 1/18/2025 at 4:38 PM, Volvobrick said:

HK GDP per capita is very high and car are cheap. No it isn't a big parking lot. 

HK traffic quite bad especially need to cross sea.

That’s it is common to see Tai Tai with Birkin on MTR.

Btw the actual cost of your COE also includes time value of money. So if you choose not to pay the $100k today and take bus, you get at least $130k after 10 years.

own car is SG really is lose until tng kor 

On 1/18/2025 at 3:21 PM, inlinesix said:

1st and foremost, COE has no impact on election.

The increase I see now is just natural release from scrapped cars rather than any addition.

(Cat A + B only)

Feb - Apr 24: +191 (entire quarter)

May - Jul 24:  +215

Aug - Oct 24: +125

Nov 24 - Jan 25: +1,306

Feb 25 - Apr 25: +1,043

The data is mostly correct, except for Nov-Jan25, supposed to be 406 instead. Edited for you here:

(Cat A + B only)

Nov 24 - Jan 25: +406

As mentioned by LTA, increase will be progressive.. progressive means developing gradually or in stages right? If they one shot increase quota by 20%, the next COE bidding will easily crash by some 20% or more and hurt second hand dealers and their salespeople. would that be necessary? 

On 1/18/2025 at 3:21 PM, inlinesix said:

1st and foremost, COE has no impact on election.

The increase I see now is just natural release from scrapped cars rather than any addition.

(Cat A + B only)

Nov 24 - Jan 25: +1,306

Lets see

@Ct3833 

On 1/18/2025 at 3:01 PM, Ct3833 said:

I dont know as I am not PAP or LTA, I am purely based on my own specilation, and as i said, i use my own 小人 mentality.

But the word progressive is a non quantifiable word , they can do 15k COE this year,  5K next year, or 18k this year, 2k next year, it is still progressive. It is up to them. 

If yo go and look at the availale COE spread in next few years, whoever transport minister will to approve addition into 2027 or 28 ought to be fired..

My speculation is that come 27/28 LTA will cut the quota and fill into 30/31. There is a limit to how much they can fill now and cut from future. But there is less limitation to cut from present and fill in future.

Remember cut and fill doesn’t mean must be fill today

On 1/18/2025 at 6:26 PM, Ct3833 said:

Lets see

Speakingfor myself only, COE prices wont change who i vote for, never did, never will.

and you will never know if it does or not, unless each and every voter shares their thoughts

so theres really nothing to “see”

On 1/18/2025 at 10:45 PM, Throttle2 said:

Speakingfor myself only, COE prices wont change who i vote for, never did, never will.

and you will never know if it does or not, unless each and every voter shares their thoughts

so theres really nothing to “see”

I mean lets see if they will allocate more COE before election and if COE price will to come down before election. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 1/18/2025 at 8:13 PM, Forever84 said:

@Ct3833 

My speculation is that come 27/28 LTA will cut the quota and fill into 30/31. There is a limit to how much they can fill now and cut from future. But there is less limitation to cut from present and fill in future.

Remember cut and fill doesn’t mean must be fill today

This is possible, cut some COE, let COE price goes up , increase revenue.

Edited by Ct3833

On 1/18/2025 at 11:32 PM, Ct3833 said:

Why need to increase revenue?
Budget revenue from COE for FY 23/24 already $4.3b.

On 1/18/2025 at 11:50 PM, inlinesix said:

What's wrong with collecting more money? 

On 1/18/2025 at 11:31 PM, Ct3833 said:

I mean lets see if they will allocate more COE before election and if COE price will to come down before election. 

Thought they already said they will be allocating more?  So what better time to allocate more than before Election.

i remember reading previously, they even said if you dont vote for me, then why should they upgrade your HdB estate, right?

correct me if i am wrong.   So yes, base on such mentality.  

On 1/18/2025 at 11:50 PM, inlinesix said:

Because their objective is to flatten the COE dip and spikes. The main reason people complain is because the COE goes from 40k to 120k in few years. People anchor the price as 40k that’s why they complain, if 80k is the norm, and it goes to 120k, the complain will be less. The government goal is car lite anyway they not interested in asking more ppl to drive and as u said isn’t 4b better for small amount for COE better?

On 1/18/2025 at 11:32 PM, Ct3833 said:

Revenue is price x qty. if qty goes down and price doesn’t go up enough…. Then lose liao. 

On 1/18/2025 at 11:56 PM, Volvobrick said:

What's wrong with collecting more money? 

Yes and no.

Usually, civil servants don’t exceed budget.

Personal take : Car lite can only be achievable if all or most PHV function as PHV.. seem still a loop hole as a way to own car with minimum down payment..

and the PHV driver don come out with pattern many many.. accepted and cancelled ride last minute and cause the price to surge.. 

5th Gear

Car lite mean more  phv with addition of  two more ride hailing companies. In other words also expecting more retrenchments, good luck Singapore, good luck

Anyway if really want car lite then why still so many phv to replace private cars and  these phv are not cars meh. they should also remove these phv too and focus only on public transports if serious about car lite🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 1/19/2025 at 8:02 AM, Mockngbrd said:

More phv on road = car heavy 

Yes. Car lite is just an excuse to charge more for our cars.