LTA to increase up to 20,000 COEs

Ct3833

On 11/25/2024 at 9:14 PM, Jamesc said:

There was a genius that bid $2.

The highest bid was maybe 50 - 60k

but everyone only paid $2!

So the lowest bidder is the most important bidder!

That's provided the number of bidders (including the $2 bidder) equals the number of COEs.

Otherwise, the $2 bidder will be ignored and be irrelevant.

Edited by epigram

On 11/25/2024 at 11:16 PM, Mkl22 said:

Then you have a bright idea, I will treat ah gong well, when he dies, maybe I can some inheritance.

But  after his death you realized that you were conned big time, cause he was a bankrupt. 😂

somehow I got this sinking feeling that there will be changes to the coe rules coming up. 🥹

just like what they did to CPF SA. 

Probably when distance charging is implemented 

Mr $2 is my hero 

He is a hero to all the people that got the $2 COE.

He is also a hero to all car owners we got one over the TAL.

He is also a hero to all who renewed their COE and kept their 10 year old car for another 20 years.

The funny thing no one claimed credit for it.

And some one say irrelevant!

There are 2 heros in COE

Mr $2 and Mr $101.

Anyone that got their car in 2009 and 2019 knows what I am talking about.

Anyone car expire in 2029?

Cars with the lowest COE in SG.

Covid cars also cheap. New cars and renewed COE cars.

In 2019 around March April so many cars due for scrap got renewed.

One wheel in the scrap yard already and got to live another 10 years.

On 11/26/2024 at 9:41 AM, Jamesc said:

There are 2 heros in COE

Mr $2 and Mr $101.

My first car COE $5001, Jan 2009 :D 

On 11/26/2024 at 8:52 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Wah lao eh, mine was $689 or $869 that I cannot remember liao. My 2 years of driving a 2.0 Subaru Impreza was just FOC leh

On 11/26/2024 at 9:52 AM, Beehive3783 said:

On 11/26/2024 at 10:19 AM, Arogab said:

Wah lao eh, mine was $689 or $869 that I cannot remember liao. My 2 years of driving a 2.0 Subaru Impreza was just FOC leh

All so lucky to get a dirt cheap coe back then siah.

On 11/26/2024 at 10:48 AM, 13177 said:

Not say lucky, but rather that was the time to get a car since COE was so low back then.

COE like stock market buy at the right time will be low.

Buy at the wrong time will be really high.

The reason for the 20k increase is so no more wild swings.

What they want is 

high all the time!

I am not for it because I rather have the wild swings.

On 11/25/2024 at 11:16 PM, Mkl22 said:

Then you have a bright idea, I will treat ah gong well, when he dies, maybe I can some inheritance.

But  after his death you realized that you were conned big time, cause he was a bankrupt. 😂

somehow I got this sinking feeling that there will be changes to the coe rules coming up. 🥹

just like what they did to CPF SA. 

Can share your thoughts? Is it for the better?

my guess is that there will be some COE refund when distance based charging is implemented to make it fair usage policy 

On 11/26/2024 at 12:07 PM, Battledome64 said:

Can share your thoughts? Is it for the better?

my guess is that there will be some COE refund when distance based charging is implemented to make it fair usage policy 

COE refund? It is akin to ABSD refund in property. Most properties are 99 years "usage" too.

Do you think it is possible?😄

On 11/26/2024 at 9:48 AM, 13177 said:

Mine was 2008, I think back then, lots of people talking about bad economy and I think car showroom was quiet too. 

Those who are pessimistic about  any significant coe drop despite the 20k COEs announcement are probably the ones who already got their COE at 100k level. Come out with  all kinds of analysis , statistics and reasons to justify that they have made the smart choice 🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 11/26/2024 at 9:41 AM, Jamesc said:

There are 2 heros in COE

Mr $2 and Mr $101.

i remember in 2008, i bought a honda jazz...and COE was $4k....that time honda having promo....free COE..:grin:..i think i paid $40k for the jazz at that time and it was scary as it was during the GFC....scare the hell out of me! Drove 2 yrs and sold the Jazz for $60k...

On 11/26/2024 at 12:50 PM, Ginyu said:

Those who are pessimistic about  any significant coe drop despite the 20k COEs announcement are probably the ones who already got their COE at 100k level. Come out with  all kinds of analysis , statistics and reasons to justify that they have made the smart choice 🤣

:grin:...else how to console themselves....

On 11/26/2024 at 10:19 AM, Arogab said:

what drive 2 yrs free.....drive 2 yrs and sell still make money ahh.....i bought my jazz and sold it after 2 yrs...:grin: