LTA to increase up to 20,000 COEs

Ct3833

On 11/19/2024 at 10:21 AM, Beehive3783 said:

COE will remain high because of PHV leasing companies. They don't need to go to the showroom, the salesman will go to them with sales contract :D 

Even COE remain high but if need to change car, many people still go ahead to change car. Only thing difference during high COE is people would drive their car near to 10th year then change.

On 11/19/2024 at 10:21 AM, Beehive3783 said:

COE will remain high because of PHV leasing companies. They don't need to go to the showroom, the salesman will go to them with sales contract :D 

What if the government eventually carves out a separate category for private hire then?

On 11/19/2024 at 10:36 AM, 13177 said:

Even COE remain high but if need to change car, many people still go ahead to change car. Only thing difference during high COE is people would drive their car near to 10th year then change.

Ya just take bigger loan only to change🤣

On 11/19/2024 at 12:33 PM, Ginyu said:

Ya just take bigger loan only to change🤣

Ya, importantly still can afford ok liao, even loan has become bigger.

On 11/19/2024 at 10:36 AM, 13177 said:

Even COE remain high but if need to change car, many people who can afford it still go ahead to change car. Only thing difference during high COE is people would drive their car near to 10th year then change.

I amended your post for you, in bold :D 

Edited by Beehive3783

On 11/19/2024 at 11:21 AM, Invigorated said:

What if the government eventually carves out a separate category for private hire then?

I don't think it will happen. But if it does, it will happen before erections to make people cum :D 

Edited by Beehive3783

On 11/18/2024 at 7:32 PM, Ginyu said:

Some say if COE plunge; car dealers will lose their rice bowl. So need 

to keep it at high levels  so they can continue to huat. Still don’t understand the logic when car showrooms are empty but they still hoping coe to remain high🤣

coz car dealers bought those cars at high coe price and if coe drops, knn liao as they can't sell higher than the price they bought as new cars pegged to new COE price which is lower...

hhhmmm....wonder why these car dealers never cry father,cry mother when COE shoots up ahhh....work both ways right...:sick:

On 11/19/2024 at 1:04 PM, Beehive3783 said:

I don't think it will happen. But if it does, it will happen before erections to make people cum :D 

hope it will make me come....:grin:

On 11/19/2024 at 1:04 PM, Beehive3783 said:

无风不起浪。。

The words used are "studying, mulling, possible, not a straightforward exercise etc"

There are some obvious changes in stance with the new PM and we'll see if something cums out of this.

I personally think the 20k COE increase already shows that the people's voices are to be heard and I think the new private category is more likely to happen than not.

Well I may be wrong so we'll see. 

On 11/19/2024 at 2:43 PM, Invigorated said:

无风不起浪。。

The words used are "studying, mulling, possible, not a straightforward exercise etc"

There are some obvious changes in stance with the new PM and we'll see if something cums out of this.

I personally think the 20k COE increase already shows that the people's voices are to be heard and I think the new private category is more likely to happen than not.

That 20k progressive increase will likely be part of the normal mathematical increase.  Maybe push forward a bit here and there.

I really don't hope that PHV category.  It is likely to be from Cat A & B.

Once change, things may not be reversed.

Don't forget that LTA key Car-Lite.

Edited by inlinesix

On 11/19/2024 at 2:43 PM, Invigorated said:

无风不起浪。。

Do you think the next couple of mo months bidding will be trending down as pple wait for the impact of the 20k increase? 

On 11/19/2024 at 4:33 PM, Spidey10 said:

Do you think the next couple of mo months bidding will be trending down as pple wait for the impact of the 20k increase? 

It will only start from Feb 2025.

COE price like to decrease from 2026

On 11/19/2024 at 1:03 PM, Beehive3783 said:

I amended your post for you, in bold :D 

If the person can afford, confirmed will change car la. Even the coe is $100k or $200k vs last time $30k.

Maybe this is why how high coe can become also no scare car no people buy. Cause no matter a 1.6L car is $50k or $70k or $100k or $180k, people still can afford to buy.

On 11/19/2024 at 4:33 PM, Spidey10 said:

I guess it will trend down as the government already said such a move is likely to moderate COE prices.

trend down yes, crash definitely not.

"Responding to a question by MP Melvin Yong (PAP-Radin Mas) on whether the planned injection would help to stabilise COE prices, Mr Chee said that the authorities have increased COE supply since last year with the "cut-and-fill" move and additional injection of up to 20,000. 

“All else being equal, an increase in COE supply should help to moderate prices,” said Mr Chee. "

On 11/19/2024 at 4:35 PM, inlinesix said:

It will only start from Feb 2025.

COE price like to decrease from 2026

my thots would be trending down gradually as pple would factor in the increase and would not want to rush in...and as pple anticipate and wait it out, think prices will soften...

just my 0.02 cents of supply and demand.. and economics....:grin:

On 11/19/2024 at 5:16 PM, Spidey10 said:

my thots would be trending down gradually as pple would factor in the increase and would not want to rush in...and as pple anticipate and wait it out, think prices will soften...

just my 0.02 cents of supply and demand.. and economics....:grin:

That's 2 years of waiting le.

Not everyone can wait that long.

On 11/19/2024 at 12:41 PM, 13177 said:

Ya, importantly still can afford ok liao, even loan has become bigger.

cannot afford so take loan. For face value,  just have to take a bigger loan🤣