LTA to increase up to 20,000 COEs

Ct3833

On 11/1/2024 at 11:36 AM, No_worries said:

The way these dealers talk got no sense. But I can see they especially the used car dealers might be worried, if the COE correct by a large margin, their used cars especially those 2019/2020 cars bought at high price with low COE paper value might be affected .

These cars have very low scrap value and scrapping them prematurely to cut loss is not an option.

you go ask for quote around used car dealers, they will quote you dirt cheap price.  If you are buying a car from them, they may quote you a better price.

On 10/31/2024 at 6:54 PM, Gnahp said:

that's not a problem actually

I know many car owners go all the way to another country to pump petrol

my neighbour even bragged to me that he never spend a single cent on singapore petrol, new car until scrapped at 10 years 

He go in custom at 3am to pump?

Every 2 weeks queue like siao not sian meh. Crazy...

On 11/2/2024 at 12:39 PM, 107fan said:

Retiree can go in anytime.

During weekdays lunch, it’s about 30 mins 

On 11/2/2024 at 1:47 PM, inlinesix said:

Retiree can go in anytime.

During weekdays lunch, it’s about 30 mins 

I should start going in during lunch time...WFH haha

On 11/2/2024 at 12:39 PM, 107fan said:

Reminds me of someone I know who religiously cross to another country every Sat just for petrol. 

I think he did that for 6 or 7 yrs, then alas gave up and changed to EV. Hahaha

On 11/2/2024 at 4:14 PM, Terence2112 said:

Reminds me of someone I know who religiously cross to another country every Sat just for petrol. 

I think he did that for 6 or 7 yrs, then alas gave up and changed to EV. Hahaha

Probably also got a second property in JB...

On 11/3/2024 at 6:02 PM, Kavinduh said:

@Ct3833 what if everyone’s mindset the same? Then all wait to bid end up demand higher than usual

There will always be kia sue, play safe, suckers to fill up the supply 😅

On 11/3/2024 at 1:03 AM, 107fan said:

Or mistress…. 

On 11/3/2024 at 6:02 PM, Kavinduh said:

@Ct3833 what if everyone’s mindset the same? Then all wait to bid end up demand higher than usual

Well that’s life. Bottomline is coe is where it is cause someone else willing to pay. Can say whatever you want about manipulation but you can don’t buy

On 11/3/2024 at 1:03 AM, 107fan said:

Highly a mistress kept in JB 😆

On 10/31/2024 at 9:09 AM, Calinlin said:

You all are not getting it.

This 20,000 has nothing to do with COE supply or price. It is to sugar coat the worst ERP or road pricing device in the history of man kind. Tell you see, if you pay more for a bad ERP system, we can have more cars. But 20,000 is just 2%.

I think we need ERP 3.0 more than 20,000 coe. 

For that to happen, most of us here are out of the Rat Race . . . gg forward, I hope ERP 3.0 will not happen, if it do happen, only one thing can go up is the REVENUE

On 11/3/2024 at 9:04 PM, Meanmachine said:

Highly a mistress kept in JB 😆

A mistress in a JB property, and he will go in 3 weeks pet month🤣

Edited by Ct3833

On 10/31/2024 at 1:46 PM, Mkl22 said:

ERP3 will make you pay as long you are not traveling on a private road. Once you touch LTA owned tarmac, it’s $$$$. 
ERP department is different from COE Department. Each got their own KPI targets. Even the bloody vehicle inspection also have. Now electric cars don’t have emissions component , for sure got some smlj inspection to be added to recover cost. Mark my words. 

EV also must have serviceable tyres, brakes, lights, horn and check for side slip mah. :D 

On 11/1/2024 at 3:55 PM, Jamesc said:

This is how used cars will be affected.

20,000 buyers will buy new instead of used.

Used car prices will fall.

Imagine 20,000 new flats in your area.

Sure people buy new and not a resale right?

Resale price affected or not?

Won’t be affected lah.. used car dealers are in this biz for the longest run . Why would they not consider all risk? The moment the used car dealer take in yr car, the dealer would already costed in the risk of holding the product and storage and retro the car . When selling, the dealers also earn on the higher asking price and the loans comms n insurance just like a new car sales agent plus the buyer may also have a used car to trade in from the used car dealer . So the profit is a multiplier effect. So back to the original question. Unless the car sharing company do not aggressively bid, the coe will not drop. If however the consolidated ride sharing market go into a recession, then probably it will drop . LTA now has a wiser team that average out the feast and famine period of CoE. So highly unlikely to drop unless their intel is fault.