Wind30 Turbocharged October 29, 2024 Share October 29, 2024 (edited) On 10/29/2024 at 8:19 PM, Carbon82 said: Election goodies to me. Not that I am skeptical, but the article mentioned 20,000 is across all categories for the next few years, so say 5 years. 20,000/5 = 4,000/year or 333/mth If spread over just cat A, B & E (which is highly unlikely), that represents just about 111 more COE per month, the impact would be almost negligible, in view of the stronger demand. I thought the bumper coe years are coming? If lta has half a brain, the addition quote will be released on the lean years which is just 2025 and 2026 right? if it is election goodies, they are to do it soon and fast to bring down the prices before election Edited October 29, 2024 by Wind30 ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 29, 2024 Share October 29, 2024 On 10/29/2024 at 9:38 PM, Gnahp said: where got I already told my wife if the COE stays at the current level when we are changing car next car will be a toyota Your Toyota is Lexus LS,LC or LM,correct.? 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged October 29, 2024 Share October 29, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 7:04 AM, ER-3682 said: Your Toyota is Lexus LS,LC or LM,correct.? I am looking at toyota harrier hybrid ah boss... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear October 29, 2024 Share October 29, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 12:07 AM, Thinker00 said: 3/4 coe taken by private hire. Consumer don’t benefit Does that mean expecting more retrenchments to do phv?🤣 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator October 29, 2024 Share October 29, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 6:41 AM, Wind30 said: I thought the bumper coe years are coming? If lta has half a brain, the addition quote will be released on the lean years which is just 2025 and 2026 right? if it is election goodies, they are to do it soon and fast to bring down the prices before election You hit the nail on the head! I don't want to sound like a political critic but... Ok you mentioned that bumper crop coming (quota may increase by more than 20 - 30% yoy) and premium expected to soften in the next few years, which is the big picture. So if we continue to add another 100 COE per cat per month, any significant impact on the COE premium? More like a drop in a cup of kopi. However, many are wowed by the 20,000 headline, and they will likely link whatever drop in COE premium to the latest incentive announced by LTA, and the bumper crop taking the back seat (although it is the key driving force). To make it even more layman, just like some JLB at a workplace, with not much contribution in their day to day task, volunteered to participate in some process improvement project (as a clerk or postman maybe) and once the project materialize, they take credit for the success. Ok, end of my lecture. Please remember to pay your tuition fee on time to avoid late charges. 18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/29/2024 at 7:32 PM, Ct3833 said: LTA to add up to 20,000 COEs across vehicle categories from Feb 2025 Lets start guessing, when will COE price come down, or will it at all? Managing down COE price in prep for election? 😁but if they will to releaae it progressively over a few years, i guess there will be not much effect. Lets see how it will play out, meantime, for those who want to change car, there is no rush for now, it is worth waiting, unless COE price takes a nosedive in the next few months https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/lta-to-add-up-to-20000-coes-across-vehicle-categories-over-next-few-years-from-feb-2025 Actually i very scared when i read this yesterday.....1st thing came to mind was give chicken wings, later take back the whole farm...so in my mind, already thinking take it with a load of salt... 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 Good revenue... assuming each COE at 100k. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 (edited) On 10/30/2024 at 7:34 AM, Carbon82 said: You hit the nail on the head! I don't want to sound like a political critic but... Ok you mentioned that bumper crop coming (quota may increase by more than 20 - 30% yoy) and premium expected to soften in the next few years, which is the big picture. So if we continue to add another 100 COE per cat per month, any significant impact on the COE premium? More like a drop in a cup of kopi. However, many are wowed by the 20,000 headline, and they will likely link whatever drop in COE premium to the latest incentive announced by LTA, and the bumper crop taking the back seat (although it is the key driving force). To make it even more layman, just like some JLB at a workplace, with not much contribution in their day to day task, volunteered to participate in some process improvement project (as a clerk or postman maybe) and once the project materialize, they take credit for the success. Ok, end of my lecture. Please remember to pay your tuition fee on time to avoid late charges. anyway walter T is a joker... can say that coming years coe quota will drop.... no wonder our whole coe system is in shambles. LTA can say whatever they want to justify whatever. nothing new. the biggest ever increase was from 1963-1964, 153004 to 171502, a 14.5% increase. baseline so low then too. Since 1990. the biggest increase was in 2007. 6.5% or almost 52k. 😁 Edited October 30, 2024 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 (edited) On 10/30/2024 at 8:14 AM, Spidey10 said: Actually i very scared when i read this yesterday.....1st thing came to mind was give chicken wings, later take back the whole farm...so in my mind, already thinking take it with a load of salt... the next rhetoric is.... due to the lower vehicle speeds on our roads, we need to up ERP charges..... HUAT AH!!! same nonsense by adding more people to this island.. then say our systems cannot cope.... Edited October 30, 2024 by Mkl22 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:25 AM, Mkl22 said: the next rhetoric is.... due to the lower vehicle speeds on our roads, we need to up ERP charges..... HUAT AH!!! That should be the way. In fact, it should start from $10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 30, 2024 Author Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:14 AM, Spidey10 said: Actually i very scared when i read this yesterday.....1st thing came to mind was give chicken wings, later take back the whole farm...so in my mind, already thinking take it with a load of salt... If COE really drops and if want to buy new, then take the opportunity, the claw back in this case , if any, will likely be negative growth during the subsequent few years, deal with it as it comes.😉 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:25 AM, Mkl22 said: the next rhetoric is.... due to the lower vehicle speeds on our roads, we need to up ERP charges..... HUAT AH!!! probably will happen....i have no confidence now.....anything also can happen........maybe no up ERP, just move to distance base charging....the moment you drive out from the car park of your flat, start charging liao.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:27 AM, Ct3833 said: If COE really drops and if want to buy new, then take the opportunity, the claw back in this case , if any, will likely be negative growth during the subsequent few years, deal with it as it comes.😉 indeed...but knowing our G...i am sure there are some fine prints somewhere...will pop up sooner or later. if indeed drop, then that's good opportunity.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:28 AM, Spidey10 said: probably will happen....i have no confidence now.....anything also can happen........maybe no up ERP, just move to distance base charging....the moment you drive out from the car park of your flat, start charging liao.... It is fair as long as Road tax is scrapped Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:32 AM, inlinesix said: It is fair as long as Road tax is scrapped u think will scrapped? i have reservations.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 30, 2024 Author Share October 30, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 8:32 AM, inlinesix said: It is fair as long as Road tax is scrapped Road tax will likelt not be l scrapped, it is another source of recurring income stream 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 (edited) On 10/30/2024 at 6:41 AM, Wind30 said: I thought the bumper coe years are coming? If lta has half a brain, the addition quote will be released on the lean years which is just 2025 and 2026 right? if it is election goodies, they are to do it soon and fast to bring down the prices before election Yes. cars from age group year 6 to 9 (4 years) account for 50% of all COE. Saw this via the LTA Sep stats age grouping. In contrast, cars from 1st to 4 years old only account for 22%. So the bumper coe years are coming. see if u can view the breakdown below. Edited October 30, 2024 by Gz0707 added pic 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 the report also stated average mileage of vehicles, went down. not sure what they base it on. covid obviously skewed the figures. yet another case of using data in special circumstances, to justify. ↡ Advertisement 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...