Family short trips around Asia

Wind30

The most recent trip is a trip to okayama and tottori in Japan in Sep. We wanted to go some place really off the beaten path in Japan.

The day before our flight, SIA cancelled all flights to Japan because of typhoon Shan Shan. Lucky our flight still took off as scheduled and was pretty smooth.

We stayed on night at the Osaka airport and took the early morning train to okayama. The afternoon trains were cancelled so we had like 15 minutes for breakfast to catch the only confirmed train to Okayama.

_A7R1895.jpg

_A7R1929.jpg

One of the top three garden were in okayama but it was NOT open because of the typhoon...

Funny thing is, the weather at okayama was perfect as can seen from the pictures below. Japan gov still closed a lot of stuff...

We shot this outside the garden....

japan004.jpg

japan005.jpg

From okayama we rented a car to drive to daises and tottori. Tottori is the least populated place in Japan...

We stayed one night in Daisen... which was like REALLY deserted.... we ordered dinner together with our hotel apartment but the dinner is at a restaurant outside the hotel.

I googled it and it looked REALLY run down and bad. But this place is so quiet there aren't any other choice for food unless we want to drive out. The restaurant was deserted but the owner, an elderly couple was really nice and the food was GREAT.

japan011.jpg

japan012.jpg

Edited by Wind30

On 10/28/2024 at 10:40 PM, Wind30 said:

The famous sand dunes in tottori

japan017.jpg

japan018.jpg

japan019.jpg

japan021.jpg

japan020.jpg

Been here.....and there was a sand muzuem i recall where they have a lot of sculptures made up of sand and those artist were putting up figurines the last when I was there...

your kid having a good time...unfortunately i was there in winter, my kids just enjoyed the walked on the sand and the view of the shoreline....beautiful! 

bring back memories man....thanks for the lovely photos! 

On 10/28/2024 at 10:09 PM, Wind30 said:

Nanjing city wall. pretty nice.

_ZVE2152.jpg

_ZVE2448.jpg

_ZVE2487.jpg

Looks really hazy... is this part of the winter haze due to the dryness? Or just smog due to emissions pollution?

On 10/28/2024 at 10:34 PM, Wind30 said:

One of the top three garden were in okayama but it was NOT open because of the typhoon...

Funny thing is, the weather at okayama was perfect as can seen from the pictures below. Japan gov still closed a lot of stuff...

We shot this outside the garden....

japan004.jpg

japan005.jpg

Oh wasted... I was there last winter... the Okayama Kokoen is really beautiful leh... why would a typhoon close the park? A bit strange - almost like telling you to not walk around in the open?

On 10/28/2024 at 10:40 PM, Wind30 said:

The famous sand dunes in tottori

japan017.jpg

japan018.jpg

japan019.jpg

japan021.jpg

japan020.jpg

Oh so nice! I missed this last year lor... it was storming like crazy when we arrived... sian... it was so out of the way... the weird thing is that it's easier to travel to Tottori by train from Osaka compared to from Hiroshima even though Tottori is within the same region as Hiroshima... like 3 hours by train from Osaka but 5 hours from Hiroshima...

Did you go to the Sand Museum? It was fabulous...

Edited by teomingern

Always enjoy your posting and the well taken photos. Very inspiring to travel more. Wanted to drive to Tottori in my recent trip to Osaka, instead went to Hida Takayama and Kanazawa instead. 

On 10/29/2024 at 8:31 AM, teomingern said:

Looks really hazy... is this part of the winter haze due to the dryness? Or just smog due to emissions pollution?

Tour guide say morning fog… but it is pollution I think 

On 10/29/2024 at 8:33 AM, teomingern said:

Oh wasted... I was there last winter... the Okayama Kokoen is really beautiful leh... why would a typhoon close the park? A bit strange - almost like telling you to not walk around in the open?

I think it’s a post Covid mentality… gov don’t mind asking people to stay at home just to be safe. That day the weather was fabulous at Okayama. The taxi driver I chatted with said this kind of closure is common even though nothing happens.

Edited by Wind30

On 10/29/2024 at 8:36 AM, teomingern said:

Oh so nice! I missed this last year lor... it was storming like crazy when we arrived... sian... it was so out of the way... the weird thing is that it's easier to travel to Tottori by train from Osaka compared to from Hiroshima even though Tottori is within the same region as Hiroshima... like 3 hours by train from Osaka but 5 hours from Hiroshima...

Did you go to the Sand Museum? It was fabulous...

Nope never went sand museum… this time we drove so we can visit places away from train stations..

On 10/29/2024 at 11:50 AM, Wind30 said:

Nope never went sand museum… this time we drove so we can visit places away from train stations..

Aiyoh... you missed some fabulous photo opportunities with your family... the museum just opposite the dunes... so cheap to enter too...

On 10/29/2024 at 12:00 PM, Volvobrick said:

Heading home later today after short trip. Hope car can start.... 

Huh? Rental car or your own car?