Should we help each other?

Benarsenal

On 10/28/2024 at 5:16 PM, Stary said:

Haiz.......not HDB, that's the problem.

Actually for HDB residents,  they can also arrange bulk disposal service with their town council 

😆

Yes, for hdb i will arrange for bulk disposal even the items are in good condition. Rather than arrange those ‘charity’ to come collect and still need to pay them. Lol.

On 10/28/2024 at 3:19 PM, Sdf4786k said:

well, mine was a miscommunication. Was at a lor mee stall ordering for my wife ..

I only had a handphone for Paylah with me. It turned out that the stall didn't have Paylah and needed cash. I told the loh mee stall holder, "I got no money. "The lady behind me wanted to pay for me. I told her I didn't have money physically with me.

I just needed to go to the table to get from the wifey. LOL.

Anyway, it was a nice gesture that the younger generation is indeed helpful for handouts.

Must be not chio...if not im sure you'd take the offer and her phone numbar to arrange for a meatup to play her back...i mean pay her back...😁

On 10/28/2024 at 11:23 AM, Jman888 said:

dun think of help as in monetary or big favour, small small gesture also help. People give up seat for me, i will gladly sit down and say thank you, likewise i will give up my seat to other when they need it more. I will thank people who hold and lift or door for me but dun i expect other to thank me if i do that for them, no need cos i do it out of my own will.

Giving help not necessary expecting a return, and accepting help also no need to guess other for having agenda when they help, so many guessing or calculation 算计 only make the world more complicated. I dun guess, i just gladly take.

Anyone want to treat me lunch, dinner a bit difficult cos usually reserved for wife :D

Exactly. Helping others does not require an expectation of getting something in return.

On 10/28/2024 at 1:33 PM, Stary said:

The above are good thoughts and really nice to see someone here thinking about this.

However, for people to help one another, our community has to be at least considerate and kind towards each other first.  Today, we are still far from that.  People are still mostly inconsiderate and we see such behaviours all the time resulting in outcomes such as road rage to neighbor disputes.

One day people will realize that to have abuundance/success  for themselves, the best way is to serve/give or help others first. 

I agree. But what can we do to move forward as a society towards that ideal?

I have loaned money to people before, close friends and not so close friends.

Some do indeed take advantage, so just take that as a lesson learnt. But there are also those with honour and integrity, and returned the sum promptly when they can.

If you are ok with knowing you've taken advantage of other people's kindness, I can only say, I wish you find peace some day.

On 10/28/2024 at 11:44 PM, Benarsenal said:

I agree. But what can we do to move forward as a society towards that ideal?

I can give suggestions here, but I know it will never be followed.  Infact, most may find what I suggest below "weird".  Anyway here goes:

1) Minimises oneself from all social media exposure. While social media aims to connect people, it also end up connecting all the undesired traits of people to our mental health. People with poor mental health/stresses/depress simply doesn't have the mental state  to help others in need.

2) Minimise using DMs/texts and start calling and talk whenever possible.  Humans are gifted with a mouth and a ear that could talk and listen thousands of words. Helpfulness start when people can be human with each other again.

3) Start teaching financial literacy in schools to the children. When you have a society that is financially savvy and aware, they will be less likely to fall into finances issue, and hence has more bandwidth/willingness to help the less privilege.

I have more, but no point listing anymore because the 3 above are already hard to achieve.

Edited by Stary

I think the society is too financial savvy, that's why all the ugly behavior start to surface. Kids already start comparing how rich their parents are and where they go for holiday [rolleyes]

Tell me abt it… kids observe their teachers also and see what car they drive , what watch, clothes etc

Last time no such thing… and all these become objects of desire for them and cultivate a “it’s all me” mentality

On 10/29/2024 at 8:19 AM, RadX said:

Tell me abt it… kids observe their teachers also and see what car they drive , what watch, clothes etc

Last time no such thing… and all these become objects of desire for them and cultivate a “it’s all me” mentality

I always observed what my teachers drove in prembaree school leh...

Science teacher drove Alfa 33 twin spark, had the best sound in the carpark

PE teacher drove Civic EG sedan

Chinese teacher drove Ford Laser

Math teacher drove Hyundai Elantra

Other cars didn't pique my interest. 

Form teacher was a m/cycle pillion, not sure if her father or her boyfriend sent her to school :D 

On 10/29/2024 at 8:10 AM, Jman888 said:

I think the society is too financial savvy, that's why all the ugly behavior start to surface. Kids already start comparing how rich their parents are and where they go for holiday [rolleyes]

I don't think this is what it means to be financially savvy.

Financially-savvy would means they know what are the different investment instruments (bonds, stocks, gold, property, etc) ,concepts of compounding and diversification, CPF components and how it helps retirement, SG property market and their financial regulations (LTVs, ABSD, etc) and how to evaluate their own risk level and suitable investments for their profile over different life stages.. 

I would say like a mini CFA kind of lessons suitable for teens to young adults.

Even for adults, many still don't quite understand the available investment options , financial planning concepts or how CPF components work. Most only know FD and  they think investment means buying stocks and properties only. 

Edited by Icedbs

On 10/29/2024 at 10:11 AM, Icedbs said:

I don't think this is what it means to be financially savvy.

Financially-savvy would means they know what are the different investment instruments (bonds, stocks, gold, property, etc) , how compounding works, importance of diversification, CPF components and how it helps retirement, SG property market and their financial regulations (LTVs, ABSD, etc) and how to evaluate their own risk level and suitable investments for their profile over different life stages.. 

I would say like a mini CFA kind of lessons suitable for teens to young adults.

Even for adults, I would say many still don't quite understand the investment options available or how CPF components work. Most only know FD and  investment only means buying stocks and property.

i agree. I also noob in terms of what to invest in... 

sigh... last time teacher never taught... 😂

On 10/29/2024 at 10:38 AM, Atrecord said:

i agree. I also noob in terms of what to invest in... 

sigh... last time teacher never taught... 😂

You are not alone bro.......2+ decades ago I was just as noob. 

I have my fair share of investment mistakes back those days....many exploded in my face  because it was the tech-bubble era. 😅😅

I think financial literacy at a young age is important. 

Edited by Stary

On 10/29/2024 at 12:33 PM, Stary said:

You are not alone bro.......2+ decades ago I was just as noob. 

I have my fair share of investment mistakes back those days....many exploded in my face  because it was the tech-bubble era. 😅😅

I think financial literacy at a young age is important. 

how, this count as shortcoming in govt practice or not? 😂

i personally think that govt (specifically, MOH/HPB) could have done the country and population a favour by educating kids from young not to sit too l ong, plus the posture of sitting, etc... got this feeling after i had to undergo slipped disc op, arising from prolonged sitting due to lack of awareness/knowledge... 

If more/all people know of this from young and take appropriate precaution, can save a lot of time/money/resources/pain in the population later on in life.

On 10/28/2024 at 11:51 PM, Benarsenal said:

I have loaned money to people before, close friends and not so close friends.

Some do indeed take advantage, so just take that as a lesson learnt. But there are also those with honour and integrity, and returned the sum promptly when they can.

If you are ok with knowing you've taken advantage of other people's kindness, I can only say, I wish you find peace some day.

Depending on the amount. If you are prepared, then treat it as a gift. Got return good, no you know that is the last time to loan this person. 

Indeed we all may face different situations and need help. Always be ready to help others than having others to help you. The fact that you could help mean you are well prepared and has the means. Positive 👍 

Edited by Victor68

On 10/29/2024 at 1:52 PM, Atrecord said:

how, this count as shortcoming in govt practice or not? 😂

i personally think that govt (specifically, MOH/HPB) could have done the country and population a favour by educating kids from young not to sit too l ong, plus the posture of sitting, etc... got this feeling after i had to undergo slipped disc op, arising from prolonged sitting due to lack of awareness/knowledge... 

If more/all people know of this from young and take appropriate precaution, can save a lot of time/money/resources/pain in the population later on in life.

Likely the problem is you la😂

In my 30s, i did weight training especially upper body strength.

From thereon, i have been in the right posture

On 10/29/2024 at 2:29 PM, inlinesix said:

Likely the problem is you la😂

In my 30s, i did weight training especially upper body strength.

From thereon, i have been in the right posture

yup for sure the problem was me, no doubt.

from young, i was instilled the thinking (by my mother) that better study hard, else grow up liao can only do menial works like sweep road, very tiring... so i studied hard, found office job sit at desk whole day, no need walk till muscle ache...

If only i was taught and told that sit too long can/will cause lower back problem, then i would have taken appropriate precaution from young...

On 10/29/2024 at 4:07 PM, Atrecord said:

yup for sure the problem was me, no doubt.

from young, i was instilled the thinking (by my mother) that better study hard, else grow up liao can only do menial works like sweep road, very tiring... so i studied hard, found office job sit at desk whole day, no need walk till muscle ache...

If only i was taught and told that sit too long can/will cause lower back problem, then i would have taken appropriate precaution from young...

I had never been able to sit still for more than 1 hour even though i studied hard

🤭