Should we help each other?

Benarsenal

Whether donating money or doing volunteer work.

Just a simple question. Don't read too much into it.

Regularly I wash my mil's bowl and plate every other day...seasonally buy her ah lian every other week...feel charitable enuf...😁

Personally charity is best done without others knowing. That to me is the real meaning z

ill leave it at that😅

On 8/13/2024 at 7:47 PM, Volvobrick said:

Who's Charity? 

@Jamesc wants to know😂

just like how he wants to know Cess

IMG_4591.jpeg

My feeling is that Singaporeans generally seem to be a selfish and self-centred lot, so many don't really have sense of empathy to want to help others out of their own goodwill without anything in return.

But then 90% vote yes, so maybe I'm wrong 🤔

Edited by Benarsenal

I burnt ''Hell Notes'' to those Lonely Ghosts during 7th Month,is it consider as ''Charity''.? @RadX

On 8/13/2024 at 9:33 PM, Benarsenal said:

My feeling is that Singaporeans generally seem to be a selfish and self-centred lot, so many don't really have sense of empathy to want to help others out of their own goodwill without anything in return.

As I say 

based on what you see, many do not show their acts and that’s the way unlike PAPsmear.. where we see their good acts publicized to the hilt

On 8/13/2024 at 9:45 PM, mersaylee said:

I tink i can consider got do charity work 5 times a week...thru singpool...😁

Even you won,you don't collect the Money..then is Charity.

On 8/13/2024 at 9:48 PM, RadX said:

As I say 

based on what you see, many do not show their acts and that’s the way unlike PAPsmear.. where we see their good acts publicized to the hilt

but then do liao also must let people know so that other will follow.

I always see one old lady dragging a trolly also as her walking aid, up and down buses, I will buy some bread for her when I see her loitering outside the bread shop, the cashier told me she was there quite often and I was the only person who asked if she wants any bread and bought her something. One night I saw her alighting at the same bus stop as me, helped her carry the trolly down the bus and i happen to buy some bread with me so pass them to her. You can't help many people every day but why not help someone when you see that needed one. Not about publicity, just hope that other will also do it.

Do I question the reason or story behind them, no. If want to give, dun ask.

• Praise 10

On 8/13/2024 at 9:33 PM, Benarsenal said:

Something you saw or working on could have triggered this thought, and to me that's quite normal. 

Personally, I think Singaporeans are not as selfish and self centered as you might think. If you look at how much money the president charity show and many other charity events collected every year. The Huang Na case, the India airport worker who was killed at the taxi stand, among other donation cases, most received more than what they had expected. 

Many ppl also donate a fix amount regularly to selected charity organizations via the community chest, there are many ppl I personally know donate coffin and coffin clothing to the needy in Thailand. 

But I see many ppl siam those employed charity donation workers, for a reason(s). 

Many times, it's how the event is manage, how donation is ask,  what kind of workers are employed and if training is provided.

I don't do charity via time because I am not cut for it, but within my means, monetarily I do often. However, I never give a single cent to those mobile charity stations outside malls and along supermarkets, other then those students willing to take any amount into their collection bag with a smile when they pass you the sticker.

Asking money is always tough, asking others for a X amount of money is tougher, but above all, asking others for a fix X amount of money auto transfer every month in the name of charity need a script. Btw, I didn't vote.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 8/13/2024 at 9:36 PM, ER-3682 said:

I burnt ''Hell Notes'' to those Lonely Ghosts during 7th Month,is it consider as ''Charity''.? @RadX

KNN, that my friend is offering. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 8/13/2024 at 9:48 PM, RadX said:

As I say 

For every hater, there will be a supporter, and for ppl you mentioned, their acts are not for the haters but in the hope that their supporters will follow. 

Public figures have their role in public. For ppl like you and I, who give a duck what charity and how much we really donate. [laugh][laugh][laugh]