5 Days in Hong Kong with a toddler in tow - tips needed on places to go and eat

therock

On 10/21/2024 at 4:19 PM, 13177 said:

Looks like i need to revisit HK again liao. Think went HK at least 10 years ago. Lol.

You should have gone when there were many free umbrellas....would bring you tears when there's gas...😂

On 10/21/2024 at 4:23 PM, mersaylee said:

You should have gone when there were many free umbrellas....would bring you tears when there's gas...😂

Don't scare cave ppl😂

Edited by inlinesix

The rudeness is legendary so I’ll be surprised if that’s changed

but I can try to use the harness and I have my lightweight stroller

more important are suggestions for food and attractions 🙏 

On 10/21/2024 at 4:32 PM, therock said:

The rudeness is legendary so I’ll be surprised if that’s changed

but I can try to use the harness and I have my lightweight stroller

more important are suggestions for food and attractions 🙏 

In general, HK Island walkway is narrow.  Avoid stroller.

May kenna diu for blocking walkway.

On 10/21/2024 at 8:28 AM, Mkl22 said:

got elevator, but only at certain entrances. much like japan.

Not true for Japan... every station had lifts bar one for my entire trip there last Dec... also got pavements and even small eateries could bring in our travel strollers (folded me course)... we had quite an easy time moving about... don't know about Hong Kong though... never been there...

On 10/21/2024 at 8:31 AM, Mkl22 said:

HKger are an ironic bunch... tiu the main landers but yet go mainland to spend... if got pride then dont go... 😁

Same like Singaporeans right? Complain about VEP but die die still must go to Malaysia to shop and eat com holiday... 🤷‍♂️

On 10/21/2024 at 8:43 AM, ER-3682 said:

Even i am a Cantonese,our Slang,straight away they heard it,they will know We are from Singapore.

Our Cantonese has a lot of loan words from Malay lor... so it's not the same as that in Hong Kong... I think maybe the Cantonese in Hong Kong and Guangdong also not the same?

On 10/22/2024 at 10:17 AM, teomingern said:

Our Cantonese has a lot of loan words from Malay lor... so it's not the same as that in Hong Kong... I think maybe the Cantonese in Hong Kong and Guangdong also not the same?

It depends on whether you watch enough TVB drama to learn new words😂

HK and GZ canto is also diff.

GZ canto has a lot more phrases from Mandarin (HK canto also moving that direction with Greater Bay Integration)

On 10/22/2024 at 10:17 AM, teomingern said:

They are the same.

On 10/22/2024 at 10:26 AM, inlinesix said:

It depends on whether you watch enough TVB drama to learn new words😂

HK and GZ canto is also diff.

GZ canto has a lot more phrases from Mandarin (HK canto also moving that direction with Greater Bay Integration)

Yeah... cos when I was young, when I hear the Cantonese from my mother's side, it often didn't square with the Chinese language structure I learnt in school... and my dad's side Hokkien was even further removed... it was only later in life when I got to hear Cantonese from Hong Kong, then I realized our Singapore Cantonese is quite different... and of course one day I heard some Taiwan tv programme in Hokkien with Chinese subtitles and was stunned to find that I could read it in Chinese and it matched the Hokkien and it didn't work like with our Singapore Hokkien... 

That was decades back... and it was only then I realized our dialects were pidgin versions...

On 10/22/2024 at 10:41 AM, teomingern said:

Yeah... cos when I was young, when I hear the Cantonese from my mother's side, it often didn't square with the Chinese language structure I learnt in school... and my dad's side Hokkien was even further removed... it was only later in life when I got to hear Cantonese from Hong Kong, then I realized our Singapore Cantonese is quite different... and of course one day I heard some Taiwan tv programme in Hokkien with Chinese subtitles and was stunned to find that I could read it in Chinese and it matched the Hokkien and it didn't work like with our Singapore Hokkien... 

That was decades back... and it was only then I realized our dialects were pidgin versions...

Our dialect is similar to our Mandarin.  It is Rojak.

Sometime, ppl catch no balls.

On 10/21/2024 at 9:09 AM, mersaylee said:

Hashtag jasonleong's HK cab driver ..."DLLM!...this is the HK parliament..." 😁

OIP (3).jpg

HK taxi lou tend to complaint a lot [laugh]

although you can get taxi everywhere, if can try to call uber as the drivers are mostly young people and they dun talk much [laugh]

On 10/22/2024 at 11:48 AM, Jman888 said:

although you can get taxi everywhere, if can try to call uber as the drivers are mostly young people and they dun talk much [laugh]

Generation gap...?😂

On 10/22/2024 at 10:14 AM, teomingern said:

Not true for Japan... every station had lifts bar one for my entire trip there last Dec... also got pavements and even small eateries could bring in our travel strollers (folded me course)... we had quite an easy time moving about... don't know about Hong Kong though... never been there...

Err that’s what I said. Japan does have elevators but not at  every subway or train exit/entrance. Some are just a long flight of steps. Even after the fare gates you do need to locate the elevator to get down to the platform. Can be tucked away in a corner.  

On 10/22/2024 at 11:48 AM, Jman888 said:

Like our local taxi, they usually show black face if the journey is short. I take the long route from Shenzhen bay to airport frequently and there they are ok. 
I took a cab with my luggage once from Keong Wah street to AirPort Express Kowloon station. Taxi saw me with luggage and thought I was going to airport. So black face…. 😅

On 10/22/2024 at 2:16 PM, Mkl22 said:

Err that’s what I said. Japan does have elevators but not at  every subway or train exit/entrance. Some are just a long flight of steps. Even after the fare gates you do need to locate the elevator to get down to the platform. Can be tucked away in a corner.  

Oh... sorry misunderstood you... Generally the lifts are at one end, not unlike most places... not a big issue to find it... our SOP was to get off, unfold stroller, strap kids in, look up, spot the elevator sign, and make our way there and get down... more walking but that's really part of the fun... it wasn't so difficult to navigate the stations, and really quite convenient... mostly the lifts were near the escalators... so at parts of our journey, we were with my sister's family and we split... they used escalator cos their kids were already 11 & 14 and we use lifts cos ours were still on strollers... and we would meet below or above... not much issue... I know some places the two lead to totally different areas com meeting up again is an issue... 

On 10/22/2024 at 2:22 PM, Mkl22 said:

Like our local taxi, they usually show black face if the journey is short. I take the long route from Shenzhen bay to airport frequently and there they are ok. 
I took a cab with my luggage once from Keong Wah street to AirPort Express Kowloon station. Taxi saw me with luggage and thought I was going to airport. So black face…. 😅

I gotta get a cab from HK island station to South Pacific hotel 

do they take cash or will I get scolded haha