Shop Houses Collapse at Syed Alwi Road

Maxus-MIFA9

Quote from Yahoo News: 

2 shophouses partially collapse at Syed Alwi Road, 6 injured

Two shophouses partially collapsed at Syed Alwi Road in the early hours of Tuesday (8 Oct).

According to a Facebook post by the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF), the team was alerted to the incident at 1.30am.

"Upon arrival, SCDF immediately commenced a search of the area to ascertain if anyone was trapped under the debris. Two search dogs and a drone were also deployed to augment the search operation," they wrote.

As passersby reported hearing a loud blast, a firefighting machine was deployed as a precautionary measure, to disperse any potential build up of flammable gases using its water mist spray function.

Firefighters rescued a victim who was trapped on the second storey of the affected shophouse at 84 Syed Alwi Road using a ladder.

No one was found trapped under the debris, said SCDF.

SCDF shared, "Two persons were assessed by paramedics for minor injuries and conveyed to Singapore General Hospital and Tan Tock Seng Hospital. Four other persons were also assessed for minor injuries but they declined to be sent to the hospital."

CNA reported that, according to the Building and Construction Authority, the cause of the incident is "suspected" to be a gas explosion.

image.thumb.png.9f3129ca96ffdafc2bf1aa465856b8b8.png

Edited by Maxus-MIFA9
  • Shocked 3
  • Sad 1

On 10/8/2024 at 10:45 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Reminded me of Hotel New World collapsed :=B:

Stones throw away literally 

Kudo to our SCDF. [thumbsup]

Ever ready to save lives. 

Edited by Maxus-MIFA9

On 10/8/2024 at 11:48 AM, BanCoe said:

Stones throw away literally 

Last month also a stone throw away where fight broke out and one killed. :lll._.:

On 10/8/2024 at 10:51 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Last month also a stone throw away where fight broke out and one killed. :lll._.:

Ok lah let’s call it Mustafa’s triangle 🤪🤪

• Haha! 9

On 10/8/2024 at 11:44 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Firefighters rescued a victim who was trapped on the second storey of the affected shophouse at 84 Syed Alwi Road using a ladder.

Wah... corner unit somemore ah. Sure above valuation 🤔

If kenna condemned must demolish,  liao chor 😳

Screenshot_20241008-120841_Maps.jpg

On 10/8/2024 at 11:45 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Reminded me of Hotel New World collapsed :=B:

Hotel New World is caused by putting Extra Weight on the Top Floor without Approval,Syed Aiwi Case is caused by Gas Explosion.

On 10/8/2024 at 1:13 PM, ER-3682 said:

Hotel New World is caused by putting Extra Weight on the Top Floor without Approval,Syed Aiwi Case is caused by Gas Explosion.

What extra weight that can caused the whole hotel collapsed siah?

On 10/8/2024 at 5:27 PM, 13177 said:

What extra weight that can caused the whole hotel collapsed siah?

If i not wrong,Owner add another Level & fitted a Bigger Water Tank on the Top Level..

On 10/8/2024 at 11:53 AM, BanCoe said:

Ok lah let’s call it Mustafa’s triangle 🤪🤪

Dei, the triangle is Mustafa, Vkk, and Haniffa...

Those were the days..😁

On 10/8/2024 at 12:57 PM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

I see all make up from red brick. can put back lah. no scare no scare. hahaha 

On 10/9/2024 at 4:20 PM, kobayashiGT said:

I see all make up from red brick. can put back lah. no scare no scare. hahaha 

Pre-War Shophouses all make of Bricks,these Shophouses all almost 100 Years Old...i knew because i got 3 Shophouses in Rowell Rd.

On 10/8/2024 at 8:34 PM, Hoseyboh said:

Dei, the triangle is Mustafa, Vkk, and Haniffa...

Those were the days..😁

I dunno leh …… your Topo very powderfull ….. ok lah next meet up we meet there go jalan 

On 10/9/2024 at 4:59 PM, ER-3682 said:

Pre-War Shophouses all make of Bricks,these Shophouses all almost 100 Years Old...i knew because i got 3 Shophouses in Rowell Rd.

Rowell road …… Hmmm …… @Hoseyboh favorite old dayz area 😂😂…..