Even after $60k in vet bills and going into debt, S’pore couple couldn’t save their dog

Windwaver

On 9/17/2024 at 9:32 AM, Davidklt said:

No Medisave, no Chas.

Buy pet insurance for peace of mind.   These days a number of insurance companies offer pet insurance for the "fur kids" . . . medical cost for pets is astonishing. 

On 9/17/2024 at 3:36 PM, Bezbee said:

Buy pet insurance for peace of mind.   These days a number of insurance companies offer pet insurance for the "fur kids" . . . medical cost for pets is astonishing. 

The reason why pet medical is expensive is because owners is willing to pay. 

some fool buys. some fool sells. 

On 9/17/2024 at 3:11 PM, Volvobrick said:

You don't even have No 1 don't think until no 3 OK? 

Aiyah. I keep fish lah. what the biggie. hahaha. 

On 9/17/2024 at 11:41 AM, Abracadabra said:

For me, there is a community cat at void deck. An orange bobtail which I feed and play with everyday. It will come to me when I call out "Meow" even if it is out of my sight. Then there is also my favorite golden retriever at my block. 😘

That’s why don’t bring home all the troubles

when want to play just go downstairs offer some food and play 

On 9/17/2024 at 4:46 PM, Mustank said:

You seem to be talking about small 3....

Or maybe just stray cats. 

On 9/17/2024 at 9:27 AM, Volvobrick said:

Vets are charging 3 times more than human docs for the same meds/test. Been through it for my last furry master. 

I would advice those not so well off not to have dog/cat despite the joy they bring. 

Keep fish! 

If pet dog/cat sick but owner no money to engage vet.. can owner get charged for not taking proper care of pet?

On 9/17/2024 at 5:23 PM, Tkseah said:

If pet dog/cat sick but owner no money to engage vet.. can owner get charged for not taking proper care of pet?

Pay to kill it.... 

Sadly many will let them to die. 

On 9/17/2024 at 9:27 AM, Volvobrick said:

Vets are charging 3 times more than human docs for the same meds/test. Been through it for my last furry master. 

I would advice those not so well off not to have dog/cat despite the joy they bring. 

Keep fish! 

That's why in PRC in recent times keeping dogs as pets has become a status symbol.

On 9/17/2024 at 9:12 AM, kobayashiGT said:

wpah. sell HDB somemore? This one is hero. 

where are they staying now ah? Condo? hahaha 

Probably [laugh] Or move back to stay with parents

They don't seem like very practical people.

I mean, they started a holistic pet food business; how niche is that? With the proceeds of the flat sale after settling the dog's bills.

Edited by Sosaria

On 9/17/2024 at 5:23 PM, Tkseah said:

Yes. It happened before and was reported in the press. It was a case in Pulau Ubin. The owner was fined a few Ks.

On 9/17/2024 at 7:00 PM, Davidklt said:

Yes. It happened before and was reported in the press. It was a case in Pulau Ubin. The owner was fined a few Ks.

Does that apply just for dogs and cats?  What about rabbits, hamsters, tortises, birds and fishes?

On 9/17/2024 at 7:33 PM, Tkseah said:

Does that apply just for dogs and cats?  What about rabbits, hamsters, tortises, birds and fishes?

Law is grey. But there seems to be a bias towards furry warm blooded animals if you notice [laugh] Especially mammals.

Never heard anyone tio complain of mistreating tortoise, bird or fish, unless it is a wildlife smuggling case.

Edited by Sosaria

On 9/17/2024 at 7:46 PM, Sosaria said:

Law is grey. But there seems to be a bias towards furry warm blooded animals if you notice [laugh] Especially mammals.

Never heard anyone tio complain of mistreating tortoise, bird or fish, unless it is a wildlife smuggling case.

Not mistreating lah.. just that may not be able to afford to bring sick pet chicken to see $100 vet...

On 9/17/2024 at 8:55 PM, Tkseah said:

Not mistreating lah.. just that may not be able to afford to bring sick pet chicken to see $100 vet...

Pet chicken at least can turn into curry. At least won't be called mistreatment.

On 9/17/2024 at 10:24 PM, Sosaria said:

Pet chicken at least can turn into curry. At least won't be called mistreatment.

Cooking your pet shd be considered manslaughter ... LOL

Remind me of old kampung days when grandma will slaughter the chicken for occasion, don't think you have the heart to eat the fellow you played with in the yard 😅.

On 9/17/2024 at 6:09 PM, Abracadabra said:

It's good to think ahead .... far ahead ..... small 4 small 5 .... 🤔

i study until prembaree 3 only. i cannot count after 3 one. focus on one first. @Volvobrick ask me finish one first then think of 3. 

On 9/17/2024 at 4:46 PM, Mustank said:

Same.

My place got alot of neighbourhood cats. I go pet every 1 of them.

Why i even need to keep 1 myself🤣