TP speeding cause accident

Benarsenal

On 9/6/2024 at 8:44 AM, inlinesix said:

80miles range. Enough?

If Ride Fast..become 80km....even lesser if Bike carry extra Loads.

Edited by ER-3682

On 9/6/2024 at 8:49 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Yeah .. good for pottering around in the hdb area for parking offences 

Give so high Salary to TP go around HDB Area giving Parking Summons.?Waste Taxpayer's Money.

Edited by ER-3682

On 9/6/2024 at 8:52 AM, ER-3682 said:

Give so high Salary to TP go around HDB Area giving Parking Summons.?Waste Taxpayer's Money.

If Dubai can do it, so can we . Already paying tonnes more money to others .. why not spread to the lower down as well? Already scrap the 55 million for the transit card n u want to curb the salary of the transaction specialist meh

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 9/5/2024 at 10:58 PM, Benarsenal said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/traffic-police-officer-admits-to-speeding-on-motorbike-before-it-hit-pedestrian-who-later-died

I find this quite interesting. Does that mean TP cannot speed when responding to accidents? Then why always see those TP car/bike drive so fast when siren on? [confused]

He was on duty, that doesn't mean he was rushing to an accident scene. Most TPs are JLB anyway, they have absolutely no reason to speed except to chase criminals and rush to an accident to secure the site.

On 9/6/2024 at 9:29 AM, Beehive3783 said:

He was on duty, that doesn't mean he was rushing to an accident scene. Most TPs are JLB anyway, they have absolutely no reason to speed except to chase criminals and rush to an accident to secure the site.

It literally states in the first paragraph.

An on-duty Traffic Police officer was speeding on a motorcycle while making his way to a road accident when his vehicle struck a pedestrian, who later died in hospital.

He obviously got into trouble because he killed someone. But I think the judge's reasoning is odd, because it sets a precedent that says TP can NEVER speed at all, even for emergencies.

On 9/6/2024 at 9:50 AM, Benarsenal said:

It literally states in the first paragraph.

He obviously got into trouble because he killed someone. But I think the judge's reasoning is odd, because it sets a precedent that says TP can NEVER speed at all, even for emergencies.

Oops.. missed that. But seriously, what emergency do TP have that needs them to speed? Off the top of my head, answer is none. Only SCDF has real reasons to speed to a scene.

On 9/6/2024 at 1:34 AM, Volvobrick said:

" had a history of speeding before he became a police officer" 

Enough said! 

Hope he gets a long jail term. 100 in a 50km/h zone within a housing estate is just asking for it. 

looks like one of his (main) motivations to be a TP is cos he thought he could speed and get away with it :D

On 9/6/2024 at 10:03 AM, limpeh6969 said:

looks like one of his (main) motivations to be a TP is cos he thought he could speed and get away with it :D

Am sure he live with regrets now that a life is gone cause by him.

On 9/6/2024 at 9:52 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Oops.. missed that. But seriously, what emergency do TP have that needs them to speed? Off the top of my head, answer is none. Only SCDF has real reasons to speed to a scene.

I arrived at aftermath of accident scene.  It was immediately after right turning corner along Republic Ave.

The debris spread across the road.  Only 1 lane is passable.

Definitely need TP to manage traffic urgently.

On 9/6/2024 at 9:52 AM, Beehive3783 said:

So, I still find it odd they have to stop at red traffic lights, all lights still going off like a Christmas tree.

I mean, I know why, other drivers have no friggin clue how to handle cases where emergency vehicles would need to go through red lights. Drivers would simply either panic and crash, or not move and hog the junction. In the US or Europe, you'd literally have the emergency vehicle driver climb down from the vehicle and give them a good kicking.

On 9/6/2024 at 10:59 AM, bsswan said:

So, I still find it odd they have to stop at red traffic lights, all lights still going off like a Christmas tree.

I mean, I know why, other drivers have no friggin clue how to handle cases where emergency vehicles would need to go through red lights. Drivers would simply either panic and crash, or not move and hog the junction. In the US or Europe, you'd literally have the emergency vehicle driver climb down from the vehicle and give them a good kicking.

In Msia standstill traffic jam, drivers will move out of the way when there is sound of sirens.

Here, nobody give a f.

Really CMI

On 9/6/2024 at 10:59 AM, bsswan said:

You mean SCDF?

No proper guidance given by the authorities to motorists on how to give way to emergency vehicles at a traffic stop. Take the red light stop for example. What happens if the motorists have to run the red light in order to give way? Motorists are scared, it's $400 and 12 points. What if TP decide to fine the motorists anyway, even if they have valid reason to run the red light? LPPL situation. A proper and public directive has to be given on the matter. 

Also, I feel that emergency vehicle drivers here are too soft and scared to violate traffic laws to get to an emergency. Not sure if it's because of internal directives on proper driving behaviour on the roads or what, or if the drivers are afraid of backlash if some idiot decides to release a dashcam recording of them doing so.

Another situation which applies for ambulances with lights on but no sirens. Patient condition has probably stabilised and they are already near the hospital, so no need to continue the 100% rush to hospital, maybe can dial down to 60 or 70% urgency.

Edited by Beehive3783

On 9/6/2024 at 11:10 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Also, I feel that emergency vehicle drivers here are too soft and scared to violate traffic laws to get to an emergency. Not sure if it's because of internal directives on proper driving behaviour on the roads or what, or if the drivers are afraid of backlash if some idiot decides to release a dashcam recording of them doing so.

Who want to take the risk of losing iron rice bowl?

On 9/6/2024 at 8:52 AM, ER-3682 said:

sup sup water... 1 coe bidding, can feed many, many TP. 

On 9/6/2024 at 9:01 AM, Sdf4786k said:

If Dubai can do it, so can we . Already paying tonnes more money to others .. why not spread to the lower down as well? Already scrap the 55 million for the transit card n u want to curb the salary of the transaction specialist meh

Dubai got oil ... part of the UAE.... during the lull time people (expats) just abandon their cars by the Airport roadside .....Their traffic is notoriously bad.... most people (local and expats) will have a driver ..... very ez to get cheap foreign labour unlike ours here....Gov gives lotsa freebies ...... even wedding money.... we got nothing in comparison , thats why Emirates Airline took off so fast from nothing    

On 9/6/2024 at 11:10 AM, Beehive3783 said:

You mean SCDF?

No proper guidance given by the authorities to motorists on how to give way to emergency vehicles at a traffic stop. Take the red light stop for example. What happens if the motorists have to run the red light in order to give way? Motorists are scared, it's $400 and 12 points. What if TP decide to fine the motorists anyway, even if they have valid reason to run the red light? LPPL situation. A proper and public directive has to be given on the matter. 

Another situation which applies for ambulances with lights on but no sirens. Patient condition has probably stabilised and they are already near the hospital, so no need to continue the 100% rush to hospital, maybe can dial down to 60 or 70% urgency.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/more-emergency-vehicles-allowed-beat-red-lights-faster-response-scdf

got lah.  Not supposed to beat the lights to give way.  And article did not say emergency vehicles allowed to go beyond the speed limits, only to go through red lights and making U-turns (when safe) .

All commonsense. But then commonsense is not common in this part of the world.

On 9/6/2024 at 2:11 PM, Volvobrick said:

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/more-emergency-vehicles-allowed-beat-red-lights-faster-response-scdf

got lah.  Not supposed to beat the lights to give way.  And article did not say emergency vehicles allowed to go beyond the speed limits, only to go through red lights and making U-turns (when safe) .

All commonsense. But then commonsense is not common in this part of the world.

Ok, fair enough.. but what would you do if an ambulance with lights and sirens blaring pulls up behind you at the red light and you are the first vehicle? It would be very hard for me to decide what to do. Indirectly, a life might be at risk in the ambulance.

I know the politically correct answer is to stay there and don't move, but will it affect your conscience, knowing that those few seconds might be critical to the patient? 

Is there a better way to deal with the situation? Perhaps, cross the stop line and move to the side, but not driving across the junction?

Edited by Beehive3783