NDR 2024: What you need to know of key topics in PM Wong's speeches

kobayashiGT

On 8/19/2024 at 9:43 AM, Jman888 said:

boomer must wait for budget speech, will give many medisave n eldershield [laugh]

Expand  

Young seniors dun get shit but is expected pay for others goodies. Always 

On 8/19/2024 at 9:51 AM, inlinesix said:

My fren became professional student at 50.

After graduate, need to serve 2 years bond.

His course was compressed to 2 years (from 3 years).

Expand  

Ah wong neber say got bond wor. All i heard is go take skillsfuture course, ah gong pay for u n here's 3k/mth for troubling u to sleep in class instead of at home 

On 8/19/2024 at 1:57 AM, Inlinefour said:

unemployed sinkies can line up for 1k payout for 6 months next year 🫣🫣🫣

employed ones will foot the bill 🤫🤫🤫

good job Liangpopo 🤑🤑🤑

btw he got pm and fm salary plus mp allowance huat ah 🤩🤩🤩

Expand  

LKY will turn in his grave to know that such welfare handouts are slowly becoming the norm in the singapore of today [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

On 8/19/2024 at 9:56 AM, Soya said:

Ah wong neber say got bond wor. All i heard is go take skillsfuture course, ah gong pay for u n here's 3k/mth for troubling u to sleep in class instead of at home 

Expand  

$3k/mth full time training.

T2 has all the time to go for it.

You want early retirement huh?

Got T&C or not?

Edited by inlinesix

On 8/19/2024 at 10:08 AM, Sosaria said:

LKY will turn in his grave to know that such welfare handouts are slowly becoming the norm in the singapore of today [laugh]

Expand  

You want him come back like Lord Voldemort huh?

Edited by inlinesix

On 8/19/2024 at 10:21 AM, inlinesix said:

Got T&C or not?

Expand  

Maybe must be confirm chop officially retrenched then can qualify for this scheme. Otherwise I also want to fire my boss and start collecting $3k per month [laugh]

Such policies seem to cater to the masses but currently those who are gainfully employed and slogging away are still the majority, who will resent the fact of having to fund these handout schemes. If this is some kind of populist election strategy, it may backfire.

Edited by Sosaria

On 8/19/2024 at 10:29 AM, Sosaria said:

Maybe must be confirm chop officially retrenched then can qualify for this scheme. Otherwise I also want to fire my boss and start collecting $3k per month [laugh]

Such policies seem to cater to the masses but currently those who are gainfully employed and slogging away are still the majority, who will resent the fact of having to fund these handout schemes. If this is some kind of populist election strategy, it may backfire.

Expand  

what you said reminds limpeh of this

sclhmnhwy5bb1.jpg

On 8/19/2024 at 1:53 AM, 13177 said:

Ya lo, doesn't benefit me at all.

Anyway, it says:

From mid-2025, singles and their parents who are buying new flats to live with or near each other will get priority access to Build-to-Order (BTO) public housing units.

At present, only married children and their parents enjoy this priority access. Singles looking for BTO flats can only buy two-room flexi units and only after they have turned 35.

He means there is a change of singles buying BTO flats on the age and size of BTO besides getting the priority access to BTO?

Expand  

Or build more 2 room flat. Given Singapore space constraint I doubt government would go down the route allowing single to get a 3 rooms or bigger unit. 

Not long ago, hdb did published there will be white house bto(without structure rooms). I see such white house, smaller in size, bto probably has such single applicant in mind.

On 8/19/2024 at 6:14 AM, Tohto said:

Look like nothing for me again. 

Cannot be asking me to 老来得子 right 😅

Expand  

Same lor, got nothing

I got 2 kids.... 

Past the age to have a 3rd one

The only thing that have probably more cycling path🤣

On 8/19/2024 at 11:35 AM, Atonchia said:

Same lor, got nothing

I got 2 kids.... 

Expand  

At our age we can try to unemploy ourselves after collecting cpf, then go attend class while collecting up to $3k a month [laugh]

Who say don't have?

On 8/19/2024 at 11:52 AM, Sosaria said:

At our age we can try to unemploy ourselves after collecting cpf, then go attend class while collecting up to $3k a month [laugh]

Who say don't have?

Expand  

I still have quite some years to collect CPF...

Not sure if this scheme will still be available.

Edited by Atonchia

On 8/19/2024 at 11:35 AM, Atonchia said:

Same lor, got nothing

I got 2 kids.... 

Expand  

Everytime got some big headline abt sporean get this, get that, i dun bother liao. Consperm get nothing one as the goodies seems to be targeted at the same voting demographics 

Get $300 CDC voucher I oso scare. Sure kena pay back more in taxes than that....

On 8/19/2024 at 10:08 AM, Sosaria said:

Expand  

shhh dun anyhow say cos you know what gate open liao he might be hunting for liangpopo :scared:

On 8/19/2024 at 11:59 AM, Soya said:

Everytime got some big headline abt sporean get this, get that, i dun bother liao. Consperm get nothing one as the goodies seems to be targeted at the same voting demographics 

Get $300 CDC voucher I oso scare. Sure kena pay back more in taxes than that....

Expand  

mean you top 10% high earner :D

On 8/19/2024 at 10:21 AM, inlinesix said:

Got T&C or not?

Expand  

3k applicable only to current employment of minimum 6k salary unemployed taboleh apply :ouch-it-hurts: