Gansu in 9 days - 敦煌,七彩丹霞,嘉峪关,莫高窟 和 新龙门客栈,张掖·!

therock

On 8/6/2024 at 7:49 PM, Volvobrick said:

SH now even better. Cleaner, more polite, much cleaner air (thans5yo EVs) reasonable prices and I find it much better than Seoul. Even my wify liked it. 

ok, maybe is time to pay another visit...

is the social life very happening....my last visit, I was alone at the street junction  waiting for the green man also  got pulled over from girls. Another instance was went out after dinner as my colleague wanted to get some oxygen....also kena..the girls are really daring...:grin:  

Shanghai ?

nah the level of sophistication has gone up liao 

Shanghai regards itself as almost a different country and talks, dresses and behaves differently 

On 8/6/2024 at 8:32 PM, therock said:

Early flight out to Dun Huang!

1713509751_dcxMK2jySFiKVcDsl82Q_thumb_25a63.thumb.jpg.fa1be6ea10adccdd99ae8c53d7c07a01.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a6c.thumb.jpg.b7b36b878fe40bfc8d9503844b50272b.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a64.thumb.jpg.c31be94054489ade6b18755e997e2d85.jpg

dun huang is a brand of gu zheng. Didn't know it's a place. Lol. 

On 8/6/2024 at 9:25 PM, therock said:

Night scenes along the Yellow River

Loads of people, even on a weekday night and the water is pretty fast flowing..

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_259af.thumb.jpg.3388ab85872506d36be1cce9fb71a916.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_259a9.thumb.jpg.6a785733f21c68dfec884c8ce7460e81.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_259b7.thumb.jpg.58bd31e2654e89d0e8402bbe0c0165aa.jpg

Now is their summer holiday.  Everywhere will be crowded.

July and Aug also hottest month there, 40deg is normal for many city. I will avoid traveling there this period.

On 8/7/2024 at 8:43 AM, Tohto said:

Now is their summer holiday.  Everywhere will be crowded.

July and Aug also hottest month there, 40deg is normal for many city. I will avoid traveling there this period.

During summer, I hid indoor with air cond. The heat is scotching.

SH is the worst with high temp and humidity.

On 8/7/2024 at 8:46 AM, inlinesix said:

During summer, I hid indoor with air cond. The heat is scotching.

SH is the worst with high temp and humidity.

To make thing worst, most of their indoor place like restaurant,  cafe or even mall aircon is not cold enough.

On 8/7/2024 at 7:51 AM, Spidey10 said:

ok, maybe is time to pay another visit...

is the social life very happening....my last visit, I was alone at the street junction  waiting for the green man also  got pulled over from girls. Another instance was went out after dinner as my colleague wanted to get some oxygen....also kena..the girls are really daring...:grin:  

I not yandao like you....

Or you must have looked really harm-sap! 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 8/6/2024 at 9:22 PM, therock said:

@mersaylee - you don't say ok..

in our transit at PVG, the girls wanted Macs! I was rolling my eyes... but they insisted it tasted better, haha

However their service is good, but you gotta use the wepay or local payment apps... 

Alipay in LZno problem right? (tested ok in SH & Beijing)

Edited by Si4dr

On 8/7/2024 at 9:26 AM, Si4dr said:

Alipay in LZno problem right? (tested ok in SH & Beijing)

Whole China is using lah.. even beggar.

Only cash is a problem at some smaller shop.

On 8/7/2024 at 10:00 AM, Tohto said:

Whole China is using lah.. even beggar.

Only cash is a problem at some smaller shop.

I hate their notes.

So dirty

@Lala81  it is known for the Pi Pa, which is one of the original ancient instruments...

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25aa0.thumb.jpg.9b92ab146c1931e8bfda798d91c9eb86.jpg

A very early start and a short flight later, we land in Dun Huang the city closest to the Mo Gao Grottoes...

Still a few EVs but far less than in LZ

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a71.thumb.jpg.1f5f4773c692e2e08d8ff3e154c4264e.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a6e.thumb.jpg.51b771a24bb490e50def99743ff5a20c.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a72.thumb.jpg.6e5422f5581c7e6f6d414de61a5d5d8b.jpg1860888185_NpLzj2yTb2an9F0M8tcUA_thumb_25a6f.thumb.jpg.b7449cfa3363879d080f4543133244f7.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a73.thumb.jpg.6f5a7f50f60a37d24384e8714a25a4a4.jpg

Simple quick lunch... at a donkey restaurant! 

Sammo Hung ate here.. 

High meat, low fat, tastes like beef... and you can't really tell

image.png.ace5bfdf6be37b51357d3a646b6842b8.png

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a7c.thumb.jpg.554e05fe197a28d79545ff852f9e9583.jpg

This one tastes like a curry puff haha

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a77.thumb.jpg.40a0b8cb0e019bd096dd3c07c12a0da6.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a7b.thumb.jpg.7949520f4ab564c78b1bcbfb8959674e.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a76.thumb.jpg.e6223ea8685938677ec4c017505a669b.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a7a.thumb.jpg.d62c99b2b77d1eeddbbdf80dfddc76bc.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a75.thumb.jpg.e13f643da71385a90a7bf093c7a7357e.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a79.thumb.jpg.0787de41dfe873806bc4fe4d6ba7fd01.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a74.thumb.jpg.47dd0efa42331fe883bcebcbdd6b9b6a.jpg

Edited by therock

So after the ass meal, we went to see a couple of musicals.. that help give context to the history of Dun Huang and the treasures in the caves, especially since they were lost to foreigners - you literally have to go to the British Museum to see them

To be honest some parts of the first show were a bit creepy, I was told it's 'artistic' by my Chinese student.. I'm too plebeian haha 

Feels like Chinese Ghost Story..

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a99.thumb.jpg.cfa7d937e3f313f9737fc03aaf589e4d.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a90.thumb.jpg.d753b1be18245eede8e8fbef3a66fa63.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a8d.thumb.jpg.bd9a84d1111bdbae0c53ef633be37935.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a8e.thumb.jpg.94b623e131b6fee65ffda9093ba272cd.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a87.thumb.jpg.7352dfa8ec7f213344f07cf1cff3c95e.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a92.thumb.jpg.2b2db8d57147955ab36c36a40b3d6217.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a8c.thumb.jpg.f82f3a6a61ff123253b2b806f983796f.jpg

Edited by therock

The second show was far more lights and sound .... 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25aa5.thumb.jpg.82e771a3054a4140e531b35e2bc53326.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a9b.thumb.jpg.37a5b905d1bb46418a060672749e83f6.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25a9f.thumb.jpg.bb18bf6a529af2da56c377aa5daec63b.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25aaf.thumb.jpg.b4a3e1594f0f59c0b022703c0b3699d6.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25aad.thumb.jpg.44bc5a3c9ad74c2d5687259c33c7f536.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25aab.thumb.jpg.34da9f084c8fb6f5c68da15e1fa59b88.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_25aa8.thumb.jpg.6962123ba1e5813827e6eddb3b14142b.jpg

Edited by therock

So this is our destination later this evening... 

On our way to the Mo Gao Grottoes 

image.png.04e7a80434bf3ce77f657a238db98f5e.png