MOE to remove Mobile Guardian app from students' devices after hacking incident report

Jellandross

  On 8/5/2024 at 2:21 PM, Sosaria said:

Go back to pen and paper lah. All these gadgets and devices are really distracting for the kids. And already too much screen time...... maybe that is why autism, adhd and all that is much more prevalent these days. The negative effects of too much time staring at electronic screens is quite well-documented, maybe it's time to go back to basics .

Then, ask the students to use gadgets and electronic devices in the name of digitalization, still have to take the trouble to disable the full function by installing this and that guardian. I wonder which scholar's idea? Now who gonna fix the mess? Probably the guy who suggested it already took credit and promoted up.

Expand  

Yes, my daughter iPad is a hand me down from me. The school made the iPad such that it cannot access anything which I thought was plain stupid as it cannot do a lot of things. She actually had to get a 2nd tablet to access the stuff she wants at home…. Such a waste of money.

On 8/5/2024 at 1:26 PM, Wind30 said:

The company is based in uk?

my daughter iPad is also frozen. She is happy though because she can bring her own tablet to school, she did not lose any stuff as she use google docs and she lazy so not much personal notes.

but I hear some students notes were gone if u store it locally. If u are the kind that do lots of personal notes over the 4 years in secondary school, sad case to lose everything.

Expand  

The sch teachers are also clueless about how this whole thing works. My kids got two to three assignments kena wiped out. Teachers simply said just re-do everything lor.

My wife dulan go whatsapp the dept head "You sure your system so cock up no cloud backup to restore back?" but in a nicer way lah.

My kids came home say IT support restore everything liao 😂 

On 8/6/2024 at 2:09 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Thought SG was Hi-Tech & IT experts. :wut:

After ERP2 and now this .... :slow:

Who is the Minister in-charge of SG Inforcom ?  

Expand  

That useless minister again who is in charge of SG Inforcom, no wonder la. 🙄

Well intentioned to have an app to control certain behaviours like using at bedtime. cannot anyhow install app that is not for education into the device for daytime.

But the app itself has a lot of flaws.

On 8/6/2024 at 2:09 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Thought SG was Hi-Tech & IT experts. :wut:

After ERP2 and now this .... :slow:

Who is the Minister in-charge of SG Inforcom ?  

Expand  

SG is so high tech but apparently we got no homegrown company who can do this type of $hit

but we sure got a lot of talents to develop simplygo and erp2.0

  On 8/6/2024 at 3:43 AM, limpeh6969 said:

SG is so high tech but apparently we got no homegrown company who can do this type of $hit

Expand  

I think homegrown will be much worse. For software, I always think the bigger the company the better. There is no incremental cost if producing a software so the company with a larger market has huge competitive adv.

On 8/6/2024 at 3:43 AM, limpeh6969 said:

Expand  

Simplygo is adapted from existed system 

On 8/6/2024 at 2:26 AM, Lala81 said:

Well intentioned to have an app to control certain behaviours like using at bedtime. cannot anyhow install app that is not for education into the device for daytime.

But the app itself has a lot of flaws.

Expand  

The best mean to control usage at bed times is to switch off the router. All go to sleep. No PC. 😁 

As for mobile even easier. Parent link. Remote shut down the phone. 😁

Edited by Kopites

On 8/6/2024 at 2:18 AM, 13177 said:

That useless minister again who is in charge of SG Inforcom, no wonder la. 🙄

Expand  

Useless but in the inner circle, so every year appraisal sure kilat kilat no matter what screw up

On 8/6/2024 at 5:01 AM, Sosaria said:

Useless but in the inner circle, so every year appraisal sure kilat kilat no matter what screw up

Expand  

On 8/6/2024 at 5:32 AM, inlinesix said:

She took over this ministry from 2021.  Before that, it was Iswaran.

Expand  

I noticed no matter which ministry she is in charge also cannot make it. And yet she no need to take responsible for the mess?!

On 8/6/2024 at 6:31 AM, 13177 said:

I noticed no matter which ministry she is in charge also cannot make it. And yet she no need to take responsible for the mess?!

Expand  

Was this app initiated when she was in-charge?