ER-3682 Twincharged August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/13/2024 at 10:50 PM, Volvobrick said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/east-asia/mercedes-benz-south-korea-discloses-ev-battery-maker-list-after-fire-4543571 Pay so much for Conti, but the core is made in China..... Because Batteries Mfg,are very Toxic & Polluting,Germany won't make it...they bought from Korea or China. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 9:32 AM, Kopites said: Simple solution. Increase the insurance premium for all EV ten folds. 😁 Might not be 10x given it is super low probability of 0.025% but very high impact. But given the issues on battery replacement cost if damaged in an accident, I think EV premium can only go up. Hybrid's premium should go up too. 3.5% chance of fire, that is freaking scary. If I have to go for an surgery procedure and the surgeon tells me there is a 3.5% chance of complications and or death. I will be f... worried. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 11:50 AM, ER-3682 said: Because Batteries Mfg,are very Toxic & Polluting,Germany won't make it...they bought from Korea or China. Not true lah. China just have the entire supply chain for battery manufacturing and even Farasis, which is originally from California had opt to built their facilities there. But Farasis is also building a new battery plant in Germany now. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 11:24 AM, Stratovarius said: EV battery tech are just not ready for mass production, unstable and inefficient. Try to store combustible items in factory and you need SDS, permits and proof of safety measures but no such controls for EVs. While many say that EV burn less likely to ICE, the thing is that the chance of it happening is not 0%, meaning it will still burn and there is nothing you can do to stop the fire. Not saying the safety issue need not be addressed, I think it will with better technology but perhaps we might not be there yet. But nothing in this world is zero... except perhaps death and tax. Gasoline also very flammable. I am sure when automobile was first introduced, lots of issues and deaths too. A seat belt was an after thought. Just sharing my views, not here to win a debate. 😃 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 11:20 AM, yishunite said: Now u know why I am still driving ICE 🤣 No diff for ICE. It is btw 20 - 30% 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 10:25 AM, Voodooman said: Not anti lah, but EV sceptic. You will be last to buy one. 😂 Don’t live in landed. Less incentive. Public charging double cost of home. Tak shiok 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 12:36 PM, yishunite said: The difference is I bought during low COE so percentage from a low base is vastly different than today in high COE era. Not rocket science lol Excl COE, Tesla cost $88k 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 12:44 PM, yishunite said: My car cost less than this incl COE 🤣 100hp vs 280hp 😂😂😂😂😂😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 12:48 PM, yishunite said: Singapore roads speed limit 90 km/h Why you so insecure about your choices gotta flex irrelevant things I dont care about? Who cares about speed limit when you can buy an almost 300hp car for less than $90k. Anyway, move on since you are hugging your ICE. 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 Move on, you will never understand. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 1:09 PM, inlinesix said: Move on, you will never understand. A Attrage (point a to b) driver is happy with a 12-15s hybrid (can save even more money). Handling is usually the least of his or her consideration. "I don't go fast when speed limit is 90km/h" is the common refrain but to those whereby motoring is more than a point A to B thingy. It is seldom about top speed. Everyone has different marginal utility for cars, so to each his own lah. 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 1:44 PM, Voodooman said: A Attrage (point a to b) driver is happy with a 12-15s hybrid (can save even more money). Handling is usually the least of his or her consideration. "I don't go fast when speed limit is 90km/h" is the common refrain but to those whereby motoring is more than a point A to B thingy. It is seldom about top speed. Everyone has different marginal utility for cars, so to each his own lah. Yeah lah. Spend less on cars maybe splurge on vacations/love ones/Charity. Everyone has his own priorities in life. I only live with 200 plus HP also. 3 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 1:44 PM, Voodooman said: A Attrage (point a to b) driver is happy with a 12-15s hybrid (can save even more money). Handling is usually the least of his or her consideration. "I don't go fast when speed limit is 90km/h" is the common refrain but to those whereby motoring is more than a point A to B thingy. It is seldom about top speed. Everyone has different marginal utility for cars, so to each his own lah. I like this part 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 2:52 PM, yishunite said: I have no problem with those who like fast. But I was wondering why this joker insist on pushing tesla on me when I have zero interest... real small dick energy here 😅🤣 Universal truth 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 2:52 PM, yishunite said: I have no problem with those who like fast. But I was wondering why this joker insist on pushing tesla on me when I have zero interest... real small dick energy here 😅🤣 Those pricks see dust when they jio me.. 😄 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 3:45 PM, RadX said: Those pricks see dust when they jio me.. 😄 Yours IM5 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fellows 4th Gear August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 On 8/14/2024 at 8:46 AM, Voodooman said: Not that you will ever buy a EV but just for discussion. BYD doesn't have that long a track record, so Tesla seems to be a better bet among all the major players, in terms of battery safety. ATTO 3 become the best selling EV in SG. A new brand to Singapore as more and more Chinese EV start selling in SG, not sure is a good sign or not. Suddenly Singaporean are okay with Chinese Brand EV these 2-3 years. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fellows 4th Gear August 14, 2024 Share August 14, 2024 (edited) On 8/14/2024 at 1:44 PM, Voodooman said: A Attrage (point a to b) driver is happy with a 12-15s hybrid (can save even more money). Handling is usually the least of his or her consideration. "I don't go fast when speed limit is 90km/h" is the common refrain but to those whereby motoring is more than a point A to B thingy. It is seldom about top speed. Everyone has different marginal utility for cars, so to each his own lah. Sorry to say that, Attrage is a crap vehicle, sat twice on PHV ride. The size and comfort totally trash. No more third time, if I saw this car, immediately cancel and re-book. Another 2 vehicles that were trash especially for rear passengers are Toyota C-HR and the first gen Honda Vezel/HR-V also will not take for PHV. Not a good choice for even family car but they are everywhere. Edited August 14, 2024 by Fellows ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...