Mercedes EV fire burn down 70 cars at Incheon apartment basement carpark

Yamapi

On 8/16/2024 at 12:39 PM, Lethalstrike said:

The Captain EVs here are still diplomatic and level headed, definitely not EV fanatics or EV Nazis 😅

for sure....😆

On 8/16/2024 at 12:32 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I share the same view as you. It's silly to have these sort of tribal identity just over a particular EV brand or even worse, over an automotive propulsion method. It's ok to be passionate over something and to bond with like-minded individuals, but you don't preach and put yourself on a high horse and say EV is the best thing since sliced bread and every other propulsion option sucks 🤣

There's quite a few EV drivers in this thread and the Electric car thread, including myself. But we don't become obnoxious about it. There's really some pros and cons seldom spoken about until you've actually owned one. And you don't actually save much by driving an EV here (partly offset by higher insurance and road tax). For me, what I truely enjoy is the drive itself (instant pick-up & silence) and I have regular access to charging from Mon-Fri. Saves me the stupidity to purposely drive somewhere just to pay parking and do DC charging once or twice every week. I've mentioned that once there are enough EVs on the roads and I have to start queuing for chargers, I will change to a Lexus petrol hybrid 🤣

And no need to preach la. Sibeh annoying. I have my buddies ask me why I stupid buy EV (the skeptics), some ask me for more opinions on actual experience of ownership (the fence sitters) and last group is if I can recommend any sales consultant who can give best price (the convinced). Usually I just smile and share my honest opinions. And not forgetting we're just renting from government for 10 years, preach so hard for what leh? Life is short 😂

Yeah not like we are YouTube channel creator. 

We not selling cars like Elon. He's a business savvy salesman first and foremost. He's a genius who knows how to make use of A STORY to drive his message. 

Can appreciate EV technology. But I also appreciate how we are milking every last drop out of Dino juice. 

Without keystone identity boundaries, for example, our religious (over here we don't have whole community being one religion) and small community identity (say someone who used to stay in kampung or a Hougang/LCK/Kang Kar etc). These doesn't exist anymore. 

So people need to latch onto an identity/cultural movement/message. 

On 8/16/2024 at 12:14 PM, yishunite said:

Have. Rolls Royce NTU partnership doing R&D on it right now. If not wrong proof of concept already done (i.e. flying EV no issue) question is further safety testing and infrastructure requirements (commercial viability)

Exactly, if flying electric planes are not yet military, it’s just a bunch of boys with their kit RC cars they can drive.

On 8/17/2024 at 12:15 AM, Datsun366 said:

Exactly, if flying electric planes are not yet military, it’s just a bunch of boys with their kit RC cars they can drive.

Aren't drones electric planes ?? and loaded with ammo too ... becoming quite common this days in real warfare   

On 8/17/2024 at 10:28 AM, BanCoe said:

Aren't drones electric planes ?? and loaded with ammo too ... becoming quite common this days in real warfare   

Carry people.

the evolution was cars gave the engines and planes improved them to what we have today in ice.

f1 using electric yet?

electric plane carry nukes? Passengers?

not yet stabilised tech. Easy to volunteer gung ho. I more cautious, let others try it. NIMBY.

Edited by Datsun366

On 8/17/2024 at 4:27 PM, Fcw75 said:

Ferocious…can’t tell what car.

This one confirm petrol… got a wake of burning fuel behind the car. Probably fuel hose or tank leak then kaboom. 

On 8/18/2024 at 8:01 AM, Mkl22 said:

This one confirm petrol… got a wake of burning fuel behind the car. Probably fuel hose or tank leak then kaboom. 

Also, black smoke instead of white/grey.

Not sure I would be in the black car casually driving passed at that speed, but fire is petrol not battery so little chance of sideways flames and explosions. 😅

On 8/18/2024 at 8:13 AM, ER-3682 said:

Just wonder LTA will ask C&C to recall the Mercedes Benz EQE for Checks.?

No way. LTA will be sleeping…. 
like I said, only if something big happens then action…. Else forever monitoring

On 8/18/2024 at 11:11 AM, Mkl22 said:

No way. LTA will be sleeping…. 
like I said, only if something big happens then action…. Else forever monitoring

They are the king of monitoring, aka “the CCTV” gang, do nothing unless thing start to happen. A bunch of fools that don’t know need them for what. 

On top of risk of EV fires issue, speeding e-bike on roads, nowadays also see alot of vehicles be it van or cars, tinted windows until cannot even see what is inside, don’t know how they pass inspection and be on the road. Police, TP, VICOM, STA, LTA all sleep together. 

Edited by Fellows

On 8/18/2024 at 2:01 PM, Fellows said:

They are the king of monitoring, aka “the CCTV” gang, do nothing unless thing start to happen. A bunch of fools that don’t know need them for what. 

On top of risk of EV fires issue, speeding e-bike on roads, nowadays also see alot of vehicles be it van or cars, tinted windows until cannot even see what is inside, don’t know how they pass inspection and be on the road. Police, TP, VICOM, STA, LTA all sleep together. 

some passat was blocking my estate's exit out to main road yellow box on friday morning. His tint is like 100%. You can't even see the outline of the driver from the front windows. 

On 8/18/2024 at 5:47 PM, Lala81 said:

some passat was blocking my estate's exit out to main road yellow box on friday morning. His tint is like 100%. You can't even see the outline of the driver from the front windows. 

Take picture and report