Bus stop design and admitting a mistake

Wind30

On 7/8/2024 at 4:49 PM, Volvobrick said:

Traffic light timing just call them immediately to complain. Tell them jam till JB! They will adjust within a day or two. 

Where got so fast adjust, they would reply you bring you go merry go round and round and round first, then say would monitor the situation closely and make adjustment if necessary. 😂

On 7/8/2024 at 5:02 PM, SGMCF328 said:

Never invite someone for official opening of the new bus stop, that's why complaint many many. Hahahaha

amy-khor-ribbon-bus-stop-1024x658.jpg

BTW, this is not the first time bus stop design draw flak users. Anyone still remember this classic case about 12 years ago?

402998_10150610155153001_1408113231_n.jp

And 6 years later LTA is still trying to defend the stupid design!

Source: https://mothership.sg/2018/05/strange-bukit-timah-bus-stop/

Screen-Shot-2018-05-27-at-1.18.53-AM.png

@inlinesix did you even read the article about the complaint on Caldecott bus stop? Please don't sprout nonsense lah, what water from the slope. Piangz

@Stary Instead of putting TV screen at the bus stop (where user are not likely to make out the service number), might as well as use AI for bus service number recognition and read out the number of the arriving buses.

"Bus service 179 approaching the bus stop"

"Bus service 154 approaching the bus stop"

"Bus service 852 approaching the bus stop" 

It will kills 2 birds with 1 stome, as such system, beside showcasing the adaptation of technology, it will also help those with visual impairment to move around easier.

So what is this weird looking new bus stop look like now?

On 7/8/2024 at 6:12 PM, 13177 said:

Where got so fast adjust, they would reply you bring you go merry go round and round and round first, then say would monitor the situation closely and make adjustment if necessary. 😂

On my experience they do, cos a few days later when I used same junction timing was altered in favour of my travel direction. 

Even road works I would call if the traffic wardens all stand around doing F.O. just waving their hands according to the traffic lights instead of using their brains to clear the most jammed traffic directions. 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 7/8/2024 at 6:33 PM, Volvobrick said:

On my experience they do, cos a few days later when I used same junction timing was altered in favour of my travel direction. 

Even road works I would call if the traffic wardens all stand around doing F.O. just waving their hands according to the traffic lights instead of using their brains to clear the most jammed traffic directions. 

Follow LTA’s wayang! So just wave and dance…. 

On 7/8/2024 at 8:16 PM, Mkl22 said:

Follow LTA’s wayang! So just wave and dance…. 

I see most the time they just stand there doing nothing.

The bus-stop above TEL springleaf MRT station just outside a Prata shop is exactly the same design as well. When I was taking a bus, those pillars are just a blindspot and I could hardly see the bus and the same goes for the bus driver. It's really a stupid design. These days, designs here just approved without giving much practical thoughts. Don't think about AI this and that when the basic common sense is lacking.

Edited by Heartbreakid

Sad state of affairs nowadays.

How did this design even get approved? Worst thing is it has happened before elsewhere and it get repeated.

Same with ERP2.0.

Knn..

Edited by Fcw75

On 7/9/2024 at 7:43 AM, Fcw75 said:

Sad state of affairs nowadays.

How did this design even get approved? Worst thing is it has happened before elsewhere and it get repeated.

Same with ERP2.0.

Knn..

Big boss outsource to mid mgt, mid mgt outsource to Kah kia, Kah kia outsource to consultant, consultant gives job to main con, main to sub con, sub con allocate to foreign workers. All I need to system very safe one. Always have someone to point finger at. 

On 7/8/2024 at 4:20 PM, Jellandross said:

Don't be so negative guys. Standing is better for health. Just like picking cardboard is for exercise.

449838303_970326741769818_47528072372157

When in heavy rain, who would like to stick their head out to get wet just look at the bus number approaching ? :slow:

Designer [hur] 

On 7/9/2024 at 9:58 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

When in heavy rain, who would like to stick their head out to get wet just look at the bus number approaching ? :slow:

Designer [hur] 

To be fair, the shelter extends quite far so one wouldn't get wet by sticking their head out (unless strong wind). No idea if this extended shelter design necessitated the multi-pillar design though.

On 7/9/2024 at 10:31 AM, Lethalstrike said:

KPKB more LTA give you this design then you know! 🤣
image.png.4e7ff16c98998c169d00eb37c856bc3a.png

LCK area still got this design.

On 7/9/2024 at 10:57 AM, inlinesix said:

LCK area still got this design.

I don't recall this design is still around. But i know these few still around on LCK emergency runway and Old CCK road 🤣

image.png.cf6daf44639db1a19704f02a962c7596.png

image.png.1a612dee72674b7edbed8658c935e3bf.png

On 7/9/2024 at 11:56 AM, Lethalstrike said:

I don't recall this design is still around. But i know these few still around on LCK emergency runway and Old CCK road 🤣

image.png.cf6daf44639db1a19704f02a962c7596.png

image.png.1a612dee72674b7edbed8658c935e3bf.png

The 1st photo is as bad as your previous photo.

There are 3 more bus stops to jetty.

2 of it is 1/3 of photo 1.

Last one has no shelter.

On 7/9/2024 at 9:58 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Designer [hur] 

This bus stop think got a shelter extended out, so don't think would get wet during heavy rain when they stick their head out. Lol.

Macam a shelter for horse or cow...got provide free grass buffet some more 😂

On 7/9/2024 at 12:22 PM, inlinesix said:

The 1st photo is as bad as your previous photo.

There are 3 more bus stops to jetty.

2 of it is 1/3 of photo 1.

Last one has no shelter.

I think upgraded liao for the last bus-stop at the old jetty near coast guard 😅

image.thumb.png.91f349fe0ab7e954267025d566cd2d37.png

can.. dont increase bus fare for the next 10years!!