Tohto Hypersonic July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 7/5/2024 at 1:55 PM, Jman888 said: i rather fly to each city and rent a car there, but not in bkk cos public transport and grab is good enough. i book a transport with driver to Hua Hin then rent a car to go around the outskirt, same for phuket. chiang mai i will take grab and book day tour to visit the national park and temples on various day, suppose to be stress free n easy I took my rental car at BKK and drive straight to Hua Hin. Then driving around 4 days there Return leg, I drive to BKK and return the car there at no extra cost. Then used public transport for 3 days there. @teomingern Thailand once outside city is very easy to drive. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 (edited) On 7/6/2024 at 11:14 AM, Tohto said: I took my rental car at BKK and drive straight to Hua Hin. Then driving around 4 days there Return leg, I drive to BKK and return the car there at no extra cost. Then used public transport for 3 days there. @teomingern Thailand once outside city is very easy to drive. Correction, should be collected my rental car from airport. Return at BBK downtown. Edited July 6, 2024 by Tohto 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear July 10, 2024 Author Share July 10, 2024 Ok... that's interesting... Currently thinking of flying in to Phuket from Singapore then drive from Phuket to Bangkok... seems like renting a car one way is about below $100 a day... much cheaper than flying... and I get to drive long distance and we get to see the country via the highways... one day set aside for this drive should be enough - 11-13 hours drive based on Google Maps? And then was watching videos on YouTube... thinking of taking the 1st Class Sleeper Train #9 from Bangkok to Chiangmai... two per sleeper cabin with connecting door between 2 cabins... should be quite exciting for my kids... like to mix up travel modes during a trip... Also realized that hotel costs are like crazy during Dec peak season... Holiday Inn Express at Patong is like $100 around now... but $160 in Dec... wah piang... crazy... 60-70% more... maybe I try June... but it's really hot and maybe rainy in June? Not sure if worth to do it in June... anyone suggestions? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear July 26, 2024 Author Share July 26, 2024 I think I finally settle on Holiday Inn Express for Phuket and ParkRoyal Apartments for Bangkok... hotel price is Dec is like really crazy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged July 27, 2024 Share July 27, 2024 On 7/3/2024 at 2:34 PM, teomingern said: Hello everyone, I'm thinking of travelling to Thailand next year... I've been there 4x in the past but didn't have much impression cos I didn't plan for those trips... first one was a visit to some missionaries in Chiangrai, second one was a work trip to Nongkhai, third one was family trip to Phuket, and fourth and last trip was SAF exercise... wah haha... Thinking of taking my family there next year... got a few questions which I hope those who travel often to Thailand can help answer... 1. When is the best time to travel to Thailand? Jun or Dec? Reading online tells me that Jun is hot and humid and wet, while Dec is dry and cool. But Dec is peak travel season while Jun is down period. 2. Looking through the web, I was thinking of doing the trip this way: Singapore -> Phuket (beach) -> Bangkok (city) -> Chiangmai (highlands) -> Singapore. I'm basically plotting to go from South to North. A few related questions to such an itinerary: a. I know I can fly from Singapore to Phuket direct, and from Chiangrai back to Singapore direct. What about within Thailand - Would flying domestic flights from place to place be the only possibility? Is it drivable? I could rent a car in Phuket and drive? Does it make sense to drive to Bangkok? Or can take train? Or is bus the only public transport option besides flying? Which airlines should I consider if I fly? Which car rental company should I use if I self-drive? Which bus transport company should I use if I bus? And rail? b. How many days should I spend at each place? I was thinking of 3-5 days each... so that would make my trip 17-18 days if I spend 5 days at each place. Enough to do for 5 days at each place? Not interested in temples, prefer nature, markets, gardens, and places of interest that are highlights of each place. 3. I am totally lost when it comes to where I should base myself in each of the 3 places. Any suggestions are welcomed! For background: a. For Bangok, I have stayed there 2x, first time was Siam Square Novotel (but that hotel must be quite ancient now) and so I know it's like close to the mega malls, MBK, and second time at Pratunum (but I can't remember what was the hotel name and I didn't really see the place). Back then there was no MRT or underground or any such thing. I'm sure Bangkok has transformed since I last was there. And in any case, I was there only for 1 night or so as a transit. b. For Phuket, I remember staying at Club Andaman. It's no longer around. But I believe it was along Patong Beach. I was just reading on Tripadvisor from a German tourist that the traffic jams in Phuket (particularly along Patong Beach and to/from airport) are horrendous, plus Phuket is filled with lots of PRCs, Russians, and Indians which makes it very unplesant. What's your experience. The last time i was there I remember taking a car around visiting Kata & Karon beach on my last day and finding all of them very quiet and deserted. c. Never been to Chiangmai. 4. What do you consider as the must-sees in each of these 3 places? 5. Some caveats: a. No water activities. My wife refuses to get onto a ferry. So visiting Phi Phi or Koh Samui is out of question. We stick to Phuket strictly. b. I got 2 little kids. I need to bring travel strollers along like my last trip to Japan. c. Child-friendly activities would be very helpful. d. No massages & questionable activities. e. I'm on a tight budget... heh heh... Thank you very much! very complicated to answer your queries pls read this thread, esp the page 3 onwards where i shared some details of some of my trips perhaps u need to zoom into what u want to do/see phuket - beach area. And now it's a Russian enclave. i'd avoid it BKK - typical city. lots of nice food if u know where to go. Not sure if suitable for small kids. Perhaps go Khao Yai as mentioned by others. Or take a trip to "alpaca farm" see my posts in the other thread. Chiang Rai - i have been driving to north thai every winter for quite a few years. Only took a break during the covid lockdown years. I think better to base yourself in Chiang Mai rather than Chiang Rai. Bigger city, easier to move around by foot or car. Lots of temples but not for you. Also have lots of hills, waterfall, hot spring, local markets etc. There are a few ethical elepant sanctuaries (no riding) in Mae Rim. Yes u can fly there and rent a car to move around. Got good clean massage and spa if u n your wife interested. btw For the north, june is wet season and low season. Dec is winter, peak tourist season. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear July 28, 2024 Author Share July 28, 2024 On 7/27/2024 at 9:53 PM, Shibadog said: very complicated to answer your queries pls read this thread, esp the page 3 onwards where i shared some details of some of my trips perhaps u need to zoom into what u want to do/see phuket - beach area. And now it's a Russian enclave. i'd avoid it BKK - typical city. lots of nice food if u know where to go. Not sure if suitable for small kids. Perhaps go Khao Yai as mentioned by others. Or take a trip to "alpaca farm" see my posts in the other thread. Chiang Rai - i have been driving to north thai every winter for quite a few years. Only took a break during the covid lockdown years. I think better to base yourself in Chiang Mai rather than Chiang Rai. Bigger city, easier to move around by foot or car. Lots of temples but not for you. Also have lots of hills, waterfall, hot spring, local markets etc. There are a few ethical elepant sanctuaries (no riding) in Mae Rim. Yes u can fly there and rent a car to move around. Got good clean massage and spa if u n your wife interested. btw For the north, june is wet season and low season. Dec is winter, peak tourist season. Thanks bro! My family hasn't been to Phuket so that's one consideration... Russian enclave? Probably only Thailand welcomes them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 15, 2024 Share August 15, 2024 came back from chiang mai 2 weeks ago, very relax place and 70% tourists (mainly ang mo, korean and taiwanese, some HK and PRC but then many are 'permanent' resident there liao) everywhere you go, feel safe. Everyday there are night market and the biggest one will be on Sunday within the old city stretching up to like 40% of the city, practically at the doorstep of the hotel i stayed Grab is easy for going places even to some mountain area, outdoor activities mostly on the mountain area, makan and shopping will be in the city/old city. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2024 Share August 15, 2024 On 8/15/2024 at 11:52 AM, Jman888 said: came back from chiang mai 2 weeks ago, very relax place and 70% tourists (mainly ang mo, korean and taiwanese, some HK and PRC but then many are 'permanent' resident there liao) everywhere you go, feel safe. Everyday there are night market and the biggest one will be on Sunday within the old city stretching up to like 40% of the city, practically at the doorstep of the hotel i stayed Grab is easy for going places even to some mountain area, outdoor activities mostly on the mountain area, makan and shopping will be in the city/old city. I was reading up on Da Nang as possible destination for holiday. Then lot of Digital nomads live in Chiang mai but want to escape the yearly bad haze season. So they thinking of hiding into Da Nang as a retreat. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2024 Share August 15, 2024 (edited) Thinking of where to go march hols 25 for SEA holiday with my friend's family. Thailand BKK also can kana haze. Da nang is one possibility. Edited August 15, 2024 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear August 15, 2024 Author Share August 15, 2024 On 8/15/2024 at 11:52 AM, Jman888 said: came back from chiang mai 2 weeks ago, very relax place and 70% tourists (mainly ang mo, korean and taiwanese, some HK and PRC but then many are 'permanent' resident there liao) everywhere you go, feel safe. Everyday there are night market and the biggest one will be on Sunday within the old city stretching up to like 40% of the city, practically at the doorstep of the hotel i stayed Grab is easy for going places even to some mountain area, outdoor activities mostly on the mountain area, makan and shopping will be in the city/old city. Nice field report bro! What is there to do there? Looking on the internet, like other than temples & hiking, nothing much else? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear August 15, 2024 Author Share August 15, 2024 On 8/15/2024 at 12:23 PM, Lala81 said: Thinking of where to go march hols 25 for SEA holiday with my friend's family. Thailand BKK also can kana haze. Da nang is one possibility. March got haze meh? Thought the haze period is usually Jun to Oct? Or Thailand's haze period not the same? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 15, 2024 Share August 15, 2024 On 8/15/2024 at 12:17 PM, Lala81 said: I was reading up on Da Nang as possible destination for holiday. Then lot of Digital nomads live in Chiang mai but want to escape the yearly bad haze season. So they thinking of hiding into Da Nang as a retreat. Da nang is known as Hawaii of the east, beautiful beaches. Go Hui An old town to stay for few nights, and Ba Na hill for cooling French style old town, got castle up there, good to stay for a night. Great place to relax too, quite similar to chiang mai but I think food wise chiang mai better, alot of cafe n western restaurants if you dun want to eat thai food 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 15, 2024 Share August 15, 2024 On 8/15/2024 at 1:41 PM, teomingern said: Nice field report bro! What is there to do there? Looking on the internet, like other than temples & hiking, nothing much else? many farms and plantations on the mountains, visit these farms, coffee plantation, national park (highest point of whole thailand), waterfalls, elephant sanctuary, zipline and other outdoor activities. for city people, we just enjoy eating, shopping and massaging I stay on the mountain for 2 nights practically nua and do nothing. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear August 16, 2024 Author Share August 16, 2024 On 8/15/2024 at 3:07 PM, Jman888 said: many farms and plantations on the mountains, visit these farms, coffee plantation, national park (highest point of whole thailand), waterfalls, elephant sanctuary, zipline and other outdoor activities. for city people, we just enjoy eating, shopping and massaging I stay on the mountain for 2 nights practically nua and do nothing. Woah! Nice waterfall photo... don't mind visiting what you described! Farms and plantations sound interesting... got natural produce to try? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 16, 2024 Share August 16, 2024 Waterfall is very dependent on dry/wet weather. Only those pian tai ones like Niagra are really worth the visit year round. When i went in 2004 with my parents take guided tour of guangzhou, take bus ride 4 hrs to see a small trickle waterfall. I guess it maybe impressive at other times of the year when there's abundant waterflow. We didn't even bother to take a photo. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 16, 2024 Share August 16, 2024 On 8/16/2024 at 2:49 PM, teomingern said: Woah! Nice waterfall photo... don't mind visiting what you described! Farms and plantations sound interesting... got natural produce to try? just search chiang mai farm in google map and you will find plenty, fruits, flower, coffee/tea, and even cannabis and even animal farm (elephant, sheeps, tiger, etc) and most of them are for children to enjoy, quite a few strawberry farms. Many waterfall and also restaurants and cafe along the down stream of the waterfall where you dine with your feet in the water stay/camp on the mountain for 2 nights and explore these activities. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear August 16, 2024 Author Share August 16, 2024 On 8/16/2024 at 4:16 PM, Jman888 said: just search chiang mai farm in google map and you will find plenty, fruits, flower, coffee/tea, and even cannabis and even animal farm (elephant, sheeps, tiger, etc) and most of them are for children to enjoy, quite a few strawberry farms. Many waterfall and also restaurants and cafe along the down stream of the waterfall where you dine with your feet in the water stay/camp on the mountain for 2 nights and explore these activities. Thanks! Very helpful! Better than those silly angmo guides that pop out in a Google search... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear August 16, 2024 Author Share August 16, 2024 On 8/16/2024 at 3:16 PM, Lala81 said: Waterfall is very dependent on dry/wet weather. Only those pian tai ones like Niagra are really worth the visit year round. When i went in 2004 with my parents take guided tour of guangzhou, take bus ride 4 hrs to see a small trickle waterfall. I guess it maybe impressive at other times of the year when there's abundant waterflow. We didn't even bother to take a photo. I going in Dec, which is the dry season... so I guess not much water lar... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...