Holiday to Thailand - Phuket - Bangkok - Chiangmai

Hello everyone,

I'm thinking of travelling to Thailand next year... I've been there 4x in the past but didn't have much impression cos I didn't plan for those trips... first one was a visit to some missionaries in Chiangrai, second one was a work trip to Nongkhai, third one was family trip to Phuket, and fourth and last trip was SAF exercise... wah haha...

Thinking of taking my family there next year... got a few questions which I hope those who travel often to Thailand can help answer...

1. When is the best time to travel to Thailand? Jun or Dec? Reading online tells me that Jun is hot and humid and wet, while Dec is dry and cool. But Dec is peak travel season while Jun is down period.

2. Looking through the web, I was thinking of doing the trip this way: Singapore -> Phuket (beach) -> Bangkok (city) -> Chiangmai (highlands) -> Singapore. I'm basically plotting to go from South to North. A few related questions to such an itinerary:

a. I know I can fly from Singapore to Phuket direct, and from Chiangrai back to Singapore direct. What about within Thailand - Would flying domestic flights from place to place be the only possibility? Is it drivable? I could rent a car in Phuket and drive? Does it make sense to drive to Bangkok? Or can take train? Or is bus the only public transport option besides flying? Which airlines should I consider if I fly? Which car rental company should I use if I self-drive? Which bus transport company should I use if I bus? And rail?

b. How many days should I spend at each place? I was thinking of 3-5 days each... so that would make my trip 17-18 days if I spend 5 days at each place. Enough to do for 5 days at each place? Not interested in temples, prefer nature, markets, gardens, and places of interest that are highlights of each place.

3. I am totally lost when it comes to where I should base myself in each of the 3 places. Any suggestions are welcomed! 

For background:

a. For Bangok, I have stayed there 2x, first time was Siam Square Novotel (but that hotel must be quite ancient now) and so I know it's like close to the mega malls, MBK, and second time at Pratunum (but I can't remember what was the hotel name and I didn't really see the place).  Back then there was no MRT or underground or any such thing. I'm sure Bangkok has transformed since I last was there. And in any case, I was there only for 1 night or so as a transit.

b. For Phuket, I remember staying at Club Andaman. It's no longer around. But I believe it was along Patong Beach. I was just reading on Tripadvisor from a German tourist that the traffic jams in Phuket (particularly along Patong Beach and to/from airport) are horrendous, plus Phuket is filled with lots of PRCs, Russians, and Indians which makes it very unplesant. What's your experience. The last time i was there I remember taking a car around visiting Kata & Karon beach on my last day and finding all of them very quiet and deserted.

c. Never been to Chiangmai.

4. What do you consider as the must-sees in each of these 3 places?

5. Some caveats:

a. No water activities. My wife refuses to get onto a ferry. So visiting Phi Phi or Koh Samui is out of question. We stick to Phuket strictly.

b. I got 2 little kids. I need to bring travel strollers along like my last trip to Japan.

c. Child-friendly activities would be very helpful.

d. No massages & questionable activities.

e. I'm on a tight budget... heh heh...

Thank you very much!

For singaporeans with kids, the most common place, people go is khao yai. There are a few places like those sunflower farms which i think is ok to enjoy a cooler weather.

There are assorted animal cafes in BKK, and i saw my cousin go to some in Hua Hin also. 
Should still have kidzania and underwater world in BKK.

Chiangmai area seems to me for kids, is only elephant riding which I personally don't support on an ethical perspective. 

If you are thinking of that many days, why not drive up from Singapore ?

Edited by Davidklt

On 7/3/2024 at 2:34 PM, teomingern said:

Hello everyone,

I'm thinking of travelling to Thailand next year... I've been there 4x in the past but didn't have much impression cos I didn't plan for those trips... first one was a visit to some missionaries in Chiangrai, second one was a work trip to Nongkhai, third one was family trip to Phuket, and fourth and last trip was SAF exercise... wah haha...

Thinking of taking my family there next year... got a few questions which I hope those who travel often to Thailand can help answer...

1. When is the best time to travel to Thailand? Jun or Dec? Reading online tells me that Jun is hot and humid and wet, while Dec is dry and cool. But Dec is peak travel season while Jun is down period.

2. Looking through the web, I was thinking of doing the trip this way: Singapore -> Phuket (beach) -> Bangkok (city) -> Chiangmai (highlands) -> Singapore. I'm basically plotting to go from South to North. A few related questions to such an itinerary:

a. I know I can fly from Singapore to Phuket direct, and from Chiangrai back to Singapore direct. What about within Thailand - Would flying domestic flights from place to place be the only possibility? Is it drivable? I could rent a car in Phuket and drive? Does it make sense to drive to Bangkok? Or can take train? Or is bus the only public transport option besides flying? Which airlines should I consider if I fly? Which car rental company should I use if I self-drive? Which bus transport company should I use if I bus? And rail?

b. How many days should I spend at each place? I was thinking of 3-5 days each... so that would make my trip 17-18 days if I spend 5 days at each place. Enough to do for 5 days at each place? Not interested in temples, prefer nature, markets, gardens, and places of interest that are highlights of each place.

3. I am totally lost when it comes to where I should base myself in each of the 3 places. Any suggestions are welcomed! 

For background:

a. For Bangok, I have stayed there 2x, first time was Siam Square Novotel (but that hotel must be quite ancient now) and so I know it's like close to the mega malls, MBK, and second time at Pratunum (but I can't remember what was the hotel name and I didn't really see the place).  Back then there was no MRT or underground or any such thing. I'm sure Bangkok has transformed since I last was there. And in any case, I was there only for 1 night or so as a transit.

b. For Phuket, I remember staying at Club Andaman. It's no longer around. But I believe it was along Patong Beach. I was just reading on Tripadvisor from a German tourist that the traffic jams in Phuket (particularly along Patong Beach and to/from airport) are horrendous, plus Phuket is filled with lots of PRCs, Russians, and Indians which makes it very unplesant. What's your experience. The last time i was there I remember taking a car around visiting Kata & Karon beach on my last day and finding all of them very quiet and deserted.

c. Never been to Chiangmai.

4. What do you consider as the must-sees in each of these 3 places?

5. Some caveats:

a. No water activities. My wife refuses to get onto a ferry. So visiting Phi Phi or Koh Samui is out of question. We stick to Phuket strictly.

b. I got 2 little kids. I need to bring travel strollers along like my last trip to Japan.

c. Child-friendly activities would be very helpful.

d. No massages & questionable activities.

e. I'm on a tight budget... heh heh...

Thank you very much!

how come your every trip must look so tiring one [laugh]

I am going chiang mai end of this month, 2 nights in the mountain and 4 nights around old city, basically relax, eat, shop, sleep.

On 7/3/2024 at 2:55 PM, Jman888 said:

I am going chiang mai end of this month, 2 nights in the mountain and 4 nights around old city, basically relax, eat, shop, sleep.

Wah hahaha.. tiring meh... it's fun mah... plus I don't go back again lor... visit once thoroughly... then check off the bucket list? No?😁

On 7/3/2024 at 2:55 PM, Jman888 said:

Where you stay? Atas expensive I cannot afford... cheap but atas is best for me... hehehe...

Jun will be pretty hot for Thailand 

If not planning for water activities, think can skip Phuket unless you want to visit the Big Buddha statue or explore Phuket old town.

Go each country must know what the country is good for.

go thailand, is frankly to eat, relax, find some relief from their weather which can be beastly. 

A beach is just a beach. Their domestic tourism tends to be completely separate from international tourism. 

If u are bringing small kids along, then you have to ask what is your intent of the holiday.
There's really nothing much in thailand that they will remember. See monkey can bring to bt timah reserve lol. 

Probably bring them to take the river boat along chao phraya. 

Bring them to the animal cafes in BKK city. 

There's some indoor playgrounds in the city along sukhomvit though not really budget stuff, but still cheaper than SG.

e oni thing my kids remember when i took them 2 chiang mai yrs back is e elephant ride + feeding e elephant & giraffe

On 7/3/2024 at 1:53 PM, Jman888 said:

paging @Arogab for help!

Wah lan eh, I am not the only one familiar with Tomyam Land ok? :dizzy:

So far, what is peak season and what is low season. What to choose also must ask meh?? 

What kind of budget?? Tight means what. I am tight in my budget, but I drive 3 hours to Huahin and stay in Hilton and eat seafood. Wahahaha. Because there are even more expensive ones. 

Some more got wife this and that cannot, got Children. Better Plan onw self lah. I mai khao chai. 

I only answer legit questions, Thailand for 77 province, all got their tourist places, 5 days each province sure not enough for me, for some, maybe they don't like. I go to Chiang Mai few times driving there and back 5 days, go take one day, back take one day, all 3 days I drive, also many places I cannot see enough. Maybe BKK ok, but still depends what you want to do.

Driving from BKK to Phuket or the other way takes you 13 hours I think, even if you are damn fast, 11 hours ba. Haha

Many domestic airports in Thailand, For TS, just Phuket, Don Mueng and Chiang Mai lor. 

For stay, check out your budget again lah. I not sure how to budget one. I can stay cheap cheap place with friends or stay very expensive one also can. It really depends on my scenario. Not to ask others. Go Pattaya with my boss, stay one night 6K plus, go with my buddies or go fishing , one night 1k plus.

Eat and drink also very wide range leh. I can eat 90 bath one meal. Or I eat the high end one. Or one night I drink 4 bottles 500 over bath blah blah blah. 

TS, I talk kok king,:XD: just I hope to answer you more legit questions. Haha. There are more ppl here know how to eat Tomyam better than me ok.

On 7/3/2024 at 2:57 PM, teomingern said:

Where you stay? Atas expensive I cannot afford... cheap but atas is best for me... hehehe...

i am staying in a spa resort on the mountain, there are many many glamping sites on the mountain near Mae Rim district, price also quite reasonable.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/wdTddrS9oPYjKQkg8

https://www.agoda.com/sl/yoJTLs2vX41

Lodging is the last thing that you need to worry, there are tons of choices and not expensive.

On 7/3/2024 at 3:03 PM, Strat said:

Jun will be pretty hot for Thailand 

If not planning for water activities, think can skip Phuket unless you want to visit the Big Buddha statue or explore Phuket old town.

Probably just the main beaches at Patong itself lor... only when my wife comfortable with the ferries then will consider cos I can't save 3 people if anything happens to the ferry... ha ha...

On 7/3/2024 at 6:15 PM, teomingern said:

Probably just the main beaches at Patong itself lor... only when my wife comfortable with the ferries then will consider cos I can't save 3 people if anything happens to the ferry... ha ha...

Hmm.. IMO Patong beach is not that nice and super crowded with Ang Mos.

On 7/3/2024 at 6:22 PM, Strat said:

Hmm.. IMO Patong beach is not that nice and super crowded with Ang Mos.

yes, I will avoid patong at all cost, and hotels there dun really have nice seaview [laugh] 

many beaches along phuket got better view and cheaper massage.

On 7/3/2024 at 3:12 PM, Lala81 said:

Go each country must know what the country is good for.

go thailand, is frankly to eat, relax, find some relief from their weather which can be beastly. 

A beach is just a beach. Their domestic tourism tends to be completely separate from international tourism. 

Yup... eating would be one of the activities - more for the adults but the kids would love the junk food and snacks I guess...

As I mentioned Phuket for beach lor... beachfront resort style chilling, night markets... Bangkok more for shopping at markets and seeing the sights... Chiangmai to escape the heat... might switch to Chiangrai but I think it's less developed for tourism (that's my impression years ago)... 

So yeah like that lor...

On 7/3/2024 at 8:06 PM, teomingern said:

Yup... eating would be one of the activities - more for the adults but the kids would love the junk food and snacks I guess...

As I mentioned Phuket for beach lor... beachfront resort style chilling, night markets... Bangkok more for shopping at markets and seeing the sights... Chiangmai to escape the heat... might switch to Chiangrai but I think it's less developed for tourism (that's my impression years ago)... 

So yeah like that lor...

Yeah your kids so Young.

Best is to have structured activities like the ones I mentioned. Unfortunately language barrier is major there outside the most touristy spots. 

Aquarium, pet cage, zoo, beach, swimming pool/Waterpark, amusement rides, indoor playground.

Everything else is pretty much for your own enjoyment.