Used Mercedes buyer spends $40,000 on repairs

Ct3833

On 7/3/2024 at 8:34 AM, Ct3833 said:

In fact i am quite puzzled with the spare parts price, a  complte newly built car also cost about the same price, why the engine alone can be so expensive.  

You know used car dealers never always tell the whole truth?

Well buyers also when they tell their story also never always tell the whole truth!

I don't know why people always say used car dealers not honest lah, don't always tell the whole truth etc etc.

As if every evil lying person all became used car dealers

and every buyer is an angel that is always honest and always tell the truth only!

All those people that bang another car in the car park and run away is all used car dealers?

All the people that tailgate and never pay HBDees parking is a used car dealer?

So many people in SG never tell the truth and not only used car dealers!

case dismissed by the Small Claims Tribunal in April.

This says it all!

They have all the facts that we don't know.

We only have one side of the story.

Some years back. 1 guy u know replace his 7 series engine( new engine) about 30k +-.

This 1 if engine alone. 40 k I think quite high

On 7/3/2024 at 10:40 AM, Jamesc said:

I am now willing to pay for people to take her away.

Anyone want?

I will give $50!

What a stale...for an old gem...😅

On 7/3/2024 at 11:37 AM, Beregond said:

Some years back. 1 guy u know replace his 7 series engine( new engine) about 30k +-.

This 1 if engine alone. 40 k I think quite high

Mercedes ley. Anyway with inflation now. Everything also go up up up 

On 7/3/2024 at 7:30 AM, D3badge said:

is this the sane Carro company? look the same for both logo (from stomp and Carro website)

if same then you know their promises !

12-Month Warranty for Engine & Gearbox

https://carro.co/sg/en/carro-certified

Carro
Certified

160-Point
Inspection

5-Day Money Back
Guarantee

12-Month Warranty
for Engine & Gearbox

No Mileage
Tampering

No Major Accidents,
Fire & Flood Damage

CarroT

man-eating-carrot-making-thumbs-up-gestu

On 7/3/2024 at 10:40 AM, Jamesc said:

I am now willing to pay for people to take her away.

Anyone want?

I will give $50!

You Give just $50.00 so little,you Give $50,000.00 maybe sure got People want.

On 7/3/2024 at 1:00 PM, ER-3682 said:

You Give just $50.00 so little,you Give $50,000.00 maybe sure got People want.

$50,000.00? 

Cheaper to hire a hitman!

image.png.3e26b3889897c1afab123d7a8f513679.png

I don't want people to say

Yah lah one used car dealer protecting his fellow used car dealers

as they all side side each other!

But the used car dealer willing to buy back and the car buyer simi story?

Don't want some poor buyer kenna buy a car so chui?

image.png.c00e2cb12c5fc176a3099724456d3757.png

On 7/2/2024 at 4:57 PM, Volvobrick said:

Piston protruding out? Never seen before. Should have post photos to educate us. 

40k for an engine. Must be AMG V8! 

piston not so strong

it is the conrod that is strong enough to punch through the block

main-qimg-58c3d2c663aa5a7dbe84fc0f157610

could be many reason but I will give one that I could think of

- timing chain skipped tooth/snapped, then piston hits valves, piston disintegrated, small end of the conrod flapping in the cylinder bore and puncture it

On 7/3/2024 at 8:31 AM, Ct3833 said:

Maybe carrot , spelling error ? Even if this is an isolated case, as a widely advertised company, i would think they should do something more favorable about it, unless every other car they sell also have problem😄

That why if I ever gonna buy 2nd hand car, I will only go to AD pre-owned shop

Edited by D3badge

On 7/3/2024 at 7:11 PM, D3badge said:

Sometime also depends on Luck,i have seen New Cars,broke down just 300Km out from showroom.

On 7/2/2024 at 7:27 PM, Stratovarius said:

I know 40k is for new engine. What I meant is glc typically sells for around 100k overseas new. Engines are not that expensive. Alot of the cost goes to labour. You cant compare a m2 engine with the 4 piston in the glc. My friend replaced his civic engine for around 7k. Kena flood also. 

$40,000.00 is C&C Price,C&C get the Engine from Factory without Engine Number,after fitting on the Car,LTA need to inspect the New Engine,make sure the Size & Emission meet the Current Standard,then LTA will give C&C a new Engine Number,C&C will ''Stamp'' the Number on the new Engine,usually the cost of the Engine is around $10,000.00,the rest are Labour,Paperwork & Profit.[C&C's Profit 100%].

On 7/2/2024 at 8:53 PM, Ct3833 said:

7k for new engine? So cheap ? I want to switch back to Jap car liao.😁

My previous swift sport omv 14k. How much you think the engine cost? Probably around 3k. I was quoted 7k to swapped to a tuned 1.8. [sly]

Quick check glc 300 omv around 50k. 

On 7/3/2024 at 9:23 PM, Stratovarius said:

My previous swift sport omv 14k. How much you think the engine cost? Probably around 3k. I was quoted 7k to swapped to a tuned 1.8. [sly]

Quick check glc 300 omv around 50k. 

oh hor, now we know who did illegal mod.🤣  7k was new engine ? 

On 7/3/2024 at 7:11 PM, D3badge said:

yah AD pre owned cars make  sense , though slightly more expensive. In fact these days outside used car dealers are not cheap also, plus hanky panky free, i mean hanky panky comes free.

On 7/3/2024 at 1:53 PM, Jamesc said:

$50,000.00? 

Cheaper to hire a hitman!

image.png.3e26b3889897c1afab123d7a8f513679.png

your MIL pretty leh. 

Due to the trade in offers offered by AD when buying new cars , AD used division always get the first pick on good condition cars , those condition not so good , they will normally organise private auction for other used car dealers to bid lo …

that’s why these AD used car dealers , their cars got less issues …