kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 24 Share June 24 Source: https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/singpost-trial-postal-collection-service-smrt-trains SINGAPORE Post (SingPost) and SMRT’s business arm, Stellar Lifestyle, are launching a postal collection pilot project as part of their memorandum of understanding to explore deploying more postal service points near MRT stations. For three months starting from Tuesday (Jun 25), up to two “mail ambassadors” in SingPost uniforms will collect postal items daily from the Tampines and Raffles Place MRT stations. They will travel on the East-West Line between the off-peak hours of 11 am and 2 pm to bring these postal items to SingPost’s sorting facility located near the Paya Lebar MRT station. SingPost and Stellar Lifestyle said the pilot was designed to study the benefits of utilising MRT trains to collect postal items, particularly in terms of operational cost efficiencies and carbon emission savings. It also represents the first time SingPost will be using MRT trains for postal collection. Should the pilot prove successful, both parties plan to expand the trial to more train stations across all other SMRT-operated lines. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 24 Share June 24 “Mail ambassadors” will travel on MRT between off-peak hours of 11 am and 2 pm? Is there a off-peak hours on MRT le? Find that MRT like whole day also quite crowded. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 24 Share June 24 It's a good idea. No point driving when the sorting centre is next to the mrt station. No need to park also, no need trucks and no need drivers. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 24 Share June 24 Good trial ….. max profits for themselves ….. nothing passed to consumers except hikes 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 24 Share June 24 Really cut cost until like that ah, make postman take MRT. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic June 24 Share June 24 I more excited if smrt collahorate with durian sellers to allow durian delivery via train... Reduce carbon foot prints ftw! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 24 Share June 24 On 6/24/2024 at 9:04 PM, Benarsenal said: Really cut cost until like that ah, make postman take MRT. Maybe they want to show people that they are also supporting car lite and reducing carbon footprints. 😂 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 24 Share June 24 Hmmmmm............. look like someone I know. @Tianmo you changed job 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 24 Share June 24 On 6/24/2024 at 9:04 PM, Benarsenal said: Really cut cost until like that ah, make postman take MRT. Who knows they use 60 year olds to get concession travel with Passion Kad 😇😇 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 7:38 AM, BanCoe said: Who knows they use 60 year olds to get concession travel with Passion Kad 😇😇 Not a bad ideal at least to give some job to those retired oldies. They can even deploy at major MRT interchanges to collect mails. This will save SingPost $$$$$$ to hire drivers going around collecting from post boxes all over SG and also maintenance of the vans/lorries, ERP charges & car park charges. Set up a small booth at the platform and station retirees during peak hours. (7 am to 9.00 am and 4 pm to 6 pm). I don't mind working at one of the booths for 4 hours a day with $2000/- salary per month. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 25 Share June 25 (edited) On 6/25/2024 at 8:43 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said: Not a bad ideal at least to give some job to those retired oldies. They can even deploy at major MRT interchanges to collect mails. This will save SingPost $$$$$$ to hire drivers going around collecting from post boxes all over SG and also maintenance of the vans/lorries, ERP charges & car park charges. Set up a small booth at the platform and station retirees during peak hours. (7 am to 9.00 am and 4 pm to 6 pm). I don't mind working at one of the booths for 4 hours a day with $2000/- salary per month. When they collect at those post boxes, do they really have car park charges? I always wonder where they park their van when some of those post boxes located at some weird location, like inside MRT station and along a busy road? Edited June 25 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 8:43 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said: Not a bad ideal at least to give some job to those retired oldies. They can even deploy at major MRT interchanges to collect mails. This will save SingPost $$$$$$ to hire drivers going around collecting from post boxes all over SG and also maintenance of the vans/lorries, ERP charges & car park charges. Set up a small booth at the platform and station retirees during peak hours. (7 am to 9.00 am and 4 pm to 6 pm). I don't mind working at one of the booths for 4 hours a day with $2000/- salary per month. Laoban …… shhh…. Here under Do you want to Retire at 60 got many wannabes ……. Psst …. U can offer your Mifa oso to do this 😂😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 8:50 AM, 13177 said: When they collect at those post boxes, do they really have car park charges? I always wonder where they park their van when some of those post boxes located at some weird location, like inside MRT station and along a busy road? I tot most of them are on public roads ?? Or petrol stations …. Maybe the MRT ones maybe they do within 15 mins sprint 🤪🤪or they got special designated loading / unloading location ( maybe) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 8:50 AM, 13177 said: When they collect at those post boxes, do they really have car park charges? I always wonder where they park their van when some of those post boxes located at some weird location, like inside MRT station and along a busy road? Most probably they will take MRT to Paya Lebar Post Building (main SingPost) which is just beside a MRT station. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 9:08 AM, BanCoe said: Laoban …… shhh…. Here under Do you want to Retire at 60 got many wannabes ……. Psst …. U can offer your Mifa oso to do this 😂😂 Then I will ask for $5k per month salary with transport allowance. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 9:24 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said: Then I will ask for $5k per month salary with transport allowance. Habis lah ….. they go bolehland n get cheaper Rm5k can get lah and willing to also OT 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 9:10 AM, BanCoe said: I tot most of them are on public roads ?? Or petrol stations …. Maybe the MRT ones maybe they do within 15 mins sprint 🤪🤪or they got special designated loading / unloading location ( maybe) Not all on public roads, even on public roads, the collection van can like that stop along the road ah? I see some post box inside building and can't remember the exact location that i have seen for those in weird location. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 25 Share June 25 On 6/25/2024 at 6:57 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said: Hmmmmm............. look like someone I know. @Tianmo you changed job I thot it's this fellow...from air to land mail...nah...your mail delivered by hand...😁 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...