mersaylee Hypersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/16/2024 at 9:23 AM, RadX said: Say like dun say Β walk the talk babyππ Β anyway think the poll rigged liaoβ¦ the anti-Ev brigade added their salt , pepper and sambal ππ I support ev...but my very rich godfather no support...everytime i ask thru singpool he denies my electric dreams...π β‘ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/16/2024 at 9:23 AM, RadX said: Say like dun say Β walk the talk babyππ Β anyway think the poll rigged liaoβ¦ the anti-Ev brigade added their salt , pepper and sambal ππ Sadly, I can't afford to change car like you change underwear, so just wait lah. Truths be told, I don't dare to go test drive the i5, scare it will empty my bank account. π Yup, the number so far is an abnormal, away from global surveys, which consistently shows majority will stay with EV. And no comment from no camp, I suspect it is EV owners trying their best to hoard charging facilities by rigging the poll. π€£ππ 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/15/2024 at 5:10 PM, Vratenza said: Eh must state up front hor, I am not anti EV hor. Dun later I eventually change to EV, someone come and kachiao say I bulls**tting all these while.Β I just ask pertinent uncomfortable questions that EV owners squirm to answer because they need to face up to their decisions or whims.Β Β You have 2 cars in the family, you are prime candidate to buy an EV, so I won't call your BS when you buy one for "wifey". πππ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/15/2024 at 5:54 PM, steveting99 said: Everyone should be keeping an eye on the world's largest car market - China. It is the most competitive motor vehicle market in the world. 30.09 million passenger vehicles were sold in 2023, up 12% from 2022. That 30.09 million cars includes 8.39 million that was exported out of China to the rest of the world. In 2024, one out of two new cars sold are now New Energy Vehicles (NEV) which are either fully electric or plug in hybrid electric. The Chinese people are abandoning ICE vehicles in droves. Manufacturers of ICE vehicles are seeing their market share shrink and facing price cuts/losses on every ICE vehicle sold. Good for consumers - bad for manufacturers.Β You have to understand why they switch. In big cities like Shanghai, EV buyer doesn't need to bid for the number plates, saving lots of money and time. Plus govt subsidies.Β Here? Extra road tax instead! Going to continue to burn dead Dino juice for a long while.Β 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koster 3rd Gear June 16 Share June 16 One concern is the depreciation of EV like handphone with all the new technology advancement every other day. But wouldn't this apply to ICE too? No advancement in ICE technology means it wouldn't depreciate as fast? Doesn't seem logical to me. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 16 Share June 16 On 6/16/2024 at 9:35 AM, Voodooman said: Sadly, I can't afford to change car like you change underwear, so just wait lah. Truths be told, I don't dare to go test drive the i5, scare it will empty my bank account. π Yup, the number so far is an abnormal, away from global surveys, which consistently shows majority will stay with EV. And no comment from no camp, I suspect it is EV owners trying their best to hoard charging facilities by rigging the poll. π€£ππ I voted yes as it suits my needs, lifestyle and really βno need Β war petrol stationββ¦. YET!π safely savings are wayyy more than what the papers state but this is purely my own ownership experience! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 16 Share June 16 (edited) On 6/16/2024 at 10:01 AM, Volvobrick said: You have to understand why they switch. In big cities like Shanghai, EV buyer doesn't need to bid for the number plates, saving lots of money and time. Plus govt subsidies.Β Here? Extra road tax instead! Going to continue to burn dead Dino juice for a long while.Β Our Road tax for ICE is outdated. How can A250 &A45s pay same road tax? In Beijing, even NEV also needs to go through lottery. Likely only Shanghai exempted NEV from bidding for VRN Edited June 16 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 16 Share June 16 Simple people will tell you $17k is lesser than $18k so EV is cheaper. Lucky we are all more sophisticated people here and see Total cost and not just fuel cost. 2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 16 Share June 16 Don't worry about paper losses by China EV makers. The China gov is very good and will pay good moneyΒ for every EV made whether its sold or not. So the just make lah. Sell or don't sell, sell at a loss or profit China EV makers don't care. On 6/15/2024 at 5:54 PM, steveting99 said: Everyone should be keeping an eye on the world's largest car market - China. It is the most competitive motor vehicle market in the world. 30.09 million passenger vehicles were sold in 2023, up 12% from 2022. That 30.09 million cars includes 8.39 million that was exported out of China to the rest of the world. In 2024, one out of two new cars sold are now New Energy Vehicles (NEV) which are either fully electric or plug in hybrid electric. The Chinese people are abandoning ICE vehicles in droves. Manufacturers of ICE vehicles are seeing their market share shrink and facing price cuts/losses on every ICE vehicle sold. Good for consumers - bad for manufacturers.Β Β 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 16 Share June 16 Depending on which ev Β i am currently driving EV and will drive EV again for next car Β https://cleantechnica.com/2024/04/11/tesla-leading-in-auto-brand-loyalty/amp/ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/15/2024 at 5:33 PM, RadX said: Where my advocate @Tianmoπ Which part of for EV owners ONLY you don't understand?Β Not for advocate/s.Β I am going to start one thread "For to be EV owners ONLY" and you better don't double standard merge my thread hor. Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 16 Share June 16 On 6/16/2024 at 1:10 PM, Tianmo said: Which part of for EV owners ONLY you don't understand?Β Not for advocate/s.Β I am going to start one thread "For to be EV owners ONLY" and you better don't double standard merge my thread hor. Β I merger ALLπLike this one too 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 16 Share June 16 Anyway poll gonna end soon n lock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 1st Gear June 16 Share June 16 (edited) @JamescΒ Singapore government has a long term vision for light duty (passenger) vehicles to be Zero Emission Vehicles (ZEV). From 2030 onwards, registration of pure ICE vehicle will no longer be possible. That means that even if you manage to register your pure ICE vehicle on the last minute, 10 years later (2040) when the CoE expires - your pure ICE vehicle will be last one on the road. Ministry of Transport (MoT) article about this is here: https://www.mot.gov.sg/news/press-releases/details/singapore-joins-the-collective-2030-zero-emission-vehicle-deployment-goal/#:~:text=It is aligned with Singapore's,our vehicle population by 2040.Β The days are numbered for pure ICE vehicles. Look to China to what's going to happen to Singapore.Β Edited June 16 by steveting99 clarification 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/16/2024 at 10:01 AM, Volvobrick said: You have to understand why they switch. In big cities like Shanghai, EV buyer doesn't need to bid for the number plates, saving lots of money and time. Plus govt subsidies.Β Here? Extra road tax instead! Going to continue to burn dead Dino juice for a long while.Β singapore is all about generating income. nothing else matter π 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 16 Share June 16 Ok @VoodoomanΒ poll stuck into this thread Β let it rideβ¦ wanna see the end results π 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 16 Share June 16 On 6/16/2024 at 4:25 PM, Beregond said: singapore is all about generating income. nothing else matter π All the more ICE road tax should align with EV. π Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 1st Gear June 16 Share June 16 (edited) On 6/16/2024 at 10:01 AM, Volvobrick said: You have to understand why they switch. In big cities like Shanghai, EV buyer doesn't need to bid for the number plates, saving lots of money and time. Plus govt subsidies.Β Here? Extra road tax instead! Going to continue to burn dead Dino juice for a long while.Β There is a simple solution to this that aligns with Singapore governmentβs Green Plan 2030 and encouraging Singaporeans to adopt EVs as the future for transportation. For those individuals who wish to continue burning dead dino juice and would like an alternative to EVs as their ride of choice (i.e. 100% ICE vehicle) - Singapore should implement the polluter pays principle of imposing the non-Zero Emission Vehicle (non-ZEV) annual surcharge. The value of the non-ZEV is based on the CoE value at the time. For example the June 2024 Category A CoE is $88.2k. This will be the annual surcharge for owning 100% ICE burning dead dino juice Cat A vehicle. How about those who which to own a Cat B 100% ICE vehicle burning dead dino juice? No problem, the annual non-ZEV is doubled. As an example, the June 2024 Category B CoE is $100.607k, so the annual non-ZEV surcharge comes to 2 x $100.607 = $201.214k.Β This will be the annual surcharge for owning 100% ICE burning dead dino juice Cat B vehicle. On the open category vehicles (i.e. Cat E), the annual non-ZEV surcharge would be double the Cat B or 4x. So for example, the June 2024 Cat E CoE is $101.6k, so the annual non-ZEV surcharge is 4 x $101.6k = $406.4k.Β This will be the annual surcharge for owning 100% ICE burning dead dino juice Cat E vehicle. One must be wondering about those owners who chose a vehicle that is in-between the 100% ICE burning dead dino juice and EV? An example is the hybrid vehicle such as the Toyota Prius. Surely having a hybrid is polluting less and thus deserves a discount? Your thinking isnβt wrong here and a hybrid vehicle owner is entitled to save 25% off the annual non-ZEV surcharge. Since plug-in hybrids are supposed to pollute even less, a further 15% discount on top of the 25% of the hybrid for a total of 40% discount is made available. Proof of plug-in on a regular basis (i.e. twice per week) to obtain the additional 15% discount. Charging apps should make this simple to do. This is a sure win-win situation for all. Singaporeans still gets to choose on their ride and the Singapore government is going to earn some extra income from certain individuals who choices do not align with Green Plan 2030. The Singapore government doesnβt have to provide any incentives nor any subsidies as the market will figure this out soon enough. Wonβt take long to figure out how much cheaper it is to own an EV compared to ICE. Edited June 16 by steveting99 Clarification β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...