Volvobrick Supersonic June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/9/2024 at 11:37 AM, Kb27 said: My first encounter and rude shock was when i visited London Soho area, I think.in the 90s. Was following this Frommer's trip book recommendation, and went to this restaurant to have a meal. It was quite good, but i remember hearing some waiters (most likely from HK) cursing at AMDL "smelly vagina" for some reasons. But of cuz the ones being cursed don't understand. I was thinking what a strange way to do business. Then after I finished my meal, I went out and met with the rest of the group, that had split off. So they were hungry and I intro them and went back in with them to the same restaurant. As I had just finished my meal, I didn't order any, but sat with my friends through the meals. The waiters were starring at me and started shouting, I didn't order any food, I should not be there. A decade later, I was visiting my company's HK office, and my colleagues were really nice and friendly. They told me, HK people had changed and became polite. During my meals, breakfast, at the street small shops, my experience was that they were nice and polite too. So, I thought the society has really changed. I haven't visited HK for over 20 yrs, so maybe they had reverted. 😁 That infamous Wong Kee? Same experience in the 80's. Heard some years later the chef even chased some customers with a chopper..... ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 北姑面? Cook by atb? 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Author Share June 10, 2024 On 6/7/2024 at 4:51 PM, kobayashiGT said: My boss is undertaker leh. What do you think i am preaching. 😈 Next time your boss name is mention @radx , you please classify it to "Under Carriage" 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/10/2024 at 9:53 AM, Arogab said: Next time your boss name is mention @radx , you please classify it to "Under Carriage" Waaah Bosch ….now U got bragging rights ….. “ Under” anything including Under Armour branding oso 🤪🤪 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Author Share June 10, 2024 On 6/10/2024 at 9:06 AM, BanCoe said: Waaah Bosch ….now U got bragging rights ….. “ Under” anything including Under Armour branding oso 🤪🤪 My name change to Makita liao lah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 actually my main gripe about going to hkg post covid is not the lack of smiles. Frankly I dun really care about that, nor what mega event. It's the little conveniences for tourist. Airport express shuttles (yah yah, some will say uber/taxi), tourist octopus passes (the 3 days is extremely useful for me to travel around new territories from city), in town checkin at both hkg and kowloon station (now only hkg station and for cx only). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/10/2024 at 6:58 AM, Kopites said: tko. One of the "self claimed" middle income estates in hk. The migration impact of middle income families. no footfall = death 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Author Share June 10, 2024 If not for SARs, HK cleanliness is worse than before. Still, they have so many old buildings 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/10/2024 at 6:12 PM, Arogab said: If not for SARs, HK cleanliness is worse than before. Still, they have so many old buildings Once a HK friend brought me to a hole in a wall place for desserts. Desserts are good but the food prep was exactly next to the toilet. I lost my appetite after I came out of the toilet. That was just pre SARS. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/10/2024 at 6:27 AM, BanCoe said: Alamak Unker …so many trips … you must have been inspired by the World of Suzy Wong 😂😂😂 Me Tamjiak. Wah the makan. Jin happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/9/2024 at 10:23 PM, macrosszero said: 你有压力,我都有压力 The bus uncle version, IIRC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 HK, if you don't speak canto, they treat you like alien.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 Also, when walking on the streets, you're constantly behind a farking smoker. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/11/2024 at 7:06 AM, Beanoyip said: Also, when walking on the streets, you're constantly behind a farking smoker. I would say not so bad. I think it is worse in Europe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 10, 2024 Share June 10, 2024 On 6/7/2024 at 2:09 PM, 13177 said: HK is a place you either like it or hate it. I noticed HK people would treat you not very friendly if you speak mandarin and don't know how to speak cantonese. I thought HK today compare to the 70-80 are at least 120° improved version? In terms of services, they are about in par to Singapore lah. But they still feel they are more Altas than us only. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 11, 2024 Author Share June 11, 2024 On 6/10/2024 at 5:33 PM, Davidklt said: Once a HK friend brought me to a hole in a wall place for desserts. Desserts are good but the food prep was exactly next to the toilet. I lost my appetite after I came out of the toilet. That was just pre SARS. Not only that they were dirty and old. We have conversation and there are comments that HK people don't like to go home because their home is very small. Go home damn pek chek. So only go back to sleep only. On one occasion, I remember one of my ex-boss says - HK people don't need to use remote, because stick out the leg can press the TV. Haha Sorry folks, it's not racist but comments are related to the country and the people who thinks they are superior. I say a fair word on them, they are competitive. But that's it 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 11, 2024 Share June 11, 2024 On 6/11/2024 at 9:46 AM, Arogab said: Not only that they were dirty and old. We have conversation and there are comments that HK people don't like to go home because their home is very small. Go home damn pek chek. So only go back to sleep only. On one occasion, I remember one of my ex-boss says - HK people don't need to use remote, because stick out the leg can press the TV. Haha Sorry folks, it's not racist but comments are related to the country and the people who thinks they are superior. I say a fair word on them, they are competitive. But that's it no leh, i watch HKTV drama all their house quite big also. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 11, 2024 Author Share June 11, 2024 On 6/11/2024 at 8:56 AM, Jman888 said: no leh, i watch HKTV drama all their house quite big also. Yeah. I think so too. But go HK and see yourself. Haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...