car Air-con compressor

DEC 2021 Jan  i went to carousel and saw this shop doing car aircon compressor @$98, name: S_ _ r_ _ _r. so i went down to his workshop at 160 sin ming #08 floor  to change my compressor, he said  condenser,very dirty and need to change new one and will do a vacuum,  the price of the compressor is $448 for a new one and the condenser closed to $700, during the installation,i request  the mechanic to top up oil into the compressor, but he refused and said inside already come with oil, so not choice and i have to let it be. vacuum using external motor, after collecting my car, the aircon is average only, not satisfactory at all, so i  ask them, they said my cooling coil cover up with dirt

some where in oct  2022, i did once car vacuum and oil top up in johore

i only use my car twice a week, but today my compressor jammed and puller  and screw broken up, , i went back and ask the boss how come compressor break down after using 2 1/2  year  only   ,  boss replied what to do? i can't give 10 year warranty ! and he said his mechanic left and he actually do not know how to do car vacuum, so that is why my car compressor jammed up with dirt.

I went to other aircon specilize mechanic today at kakit bukit and the mechanic top up 10ML of green oil  into the compressor. he told me although got oil in the compressor, but still need to top up . play safe. also ask me want to get good one or OEM no brand type, i told him good one, $580, complete with machine vacuum, 2 years aircon problem solve, very cold from  the switch 1,2,3,4

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-06 at 09.53.08.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-06 at 09.53.20.jpeg

Edited by vincenttan67

On 6/6/2024 at 10:06 PM, awhtc said:

Your engine compartment looks dirty despite using for only twice a week. Your belt is also starting to look a bit worn.

Belt must see the inner groove lah, cannot judge the belt by its cover. hahahaha 

On 6/6/2024 at 8:31 PM, vincenttan67 said:

DEC 2021 Jan  i went to carousel and saw this shop doing car aircon compressor @$98, name: S_ _ r_ _ _r. so i went down to his workshop at 160 sin ming #08 floor  to change my compressor, he said  condenser,very dirty and need to change new one and will do a vacuum,  the price of the compressor is $448 for a new one and the condenser closed to $700, during the installation,i request  the mechanic to top up oil into the compressor, but he refused and said inside already come with oil, so not choice and i have to let it be. vacuum using external motor, after collecting my car, the aircon is average only, not satisfactory at all, so i  ask them, they said my cooling coil cover up with dirt

some where in oct  2022, i did once car vacuum and oil top up in johore

i only use my car twice a week, but today my compressor jammed and puller  and screw broken up, , i went back and ask the boss how come compressor break down after using 2 1/2  year  only   ,  boss replied what to do? i can't give 10 year warranty ! and he said his mechanic left and he actually do not know how to do car vacuum, so that is why my car compressor jammed up with dirt.

I went to other aircon specilize mechanic today at kakit bukit and the mechanic top up 10ML of green oil  into the compressor. he told me although got oil in the compressor, but still need to top up . play safe. also ask me want to get good one or OEM no brand type, i told him good one, $580, complete with machine vacuum, 2 years aircon problem solve, very cold from  the switch 1,2,3,4

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-06 at 09.53.08.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-06 at 09.53.20.jpeg

Erm. u have used for 2 years liao, cannot go back to the workshop for any guarantee lah. Abit not fair. I think this kinda thing cannot be prevented one. If really suay suay, then replace the pulley and screw lor. 

The question now is is your air con cold now? Very crucial for SG driving one leh. 

On 6/7/2024 at 11:24 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Erm. u have used for 2 years liao, cannot go back to the workshop for any guarantee lah. Abit not fair. I think this kinda thing cannot be prevented one. If really suay suay, then replace the pulley and screw lor. 

The question now is is your air con cold now? Very crucial for SG driving one leh. 

For the record.

Most of the new compressor are not given warranty. ( from supplier to WS).

if WS give out Warrently like 1year. And it break down in 9mth. Most cases they cannot claim from supplier. 

If they give u 1 year warranty.  The mark up% will be at least 100% +++++. To cover their risk.

@kobayashiGT just share share, replacing pulley and the cover in 2024 are no longer possible, only this workshop seng Kee at sin ming road does this overhaul of compressor available  in 1995 ,  mechanic & the owner can do, but the company have closed down after the owner pass away. so the practise now  is just change a new compressor , fast ,easy, smooth job, , maybe got one shop in singapore does this compressor overhaul, any one know please share. thanks

@Beregond Just share share, 2 years is really short, i have ever went to johore near KSL  to replace a 600 riggit re-con compressor in 1995 & 2005. used more than 3 /4 years , then scrap the car, now the price 2024 for the re-con compressor in johore is R $850 +/- , when  the compressor come, is a new grey  spray, inside  overhaul , i believe replaced all the thrust bearings, shaft plate, snap rings, oil,   etc..., re-con  like new

On 6/7/2024 at 11:41 AM, Beregond said:

For the record.

Most of the new compressor are not given warranty. ( from supplier to WS).

if WS give out Warrently like 1year. And it break down in 9mth. Most cases they cannot claim from supplier. 

If they give u 1 year warranty.  The mark up% will be at least 100% +++++. To cover their risk.

I’m now importing more and more parts from Japan online shops. Useless local stockist refuse to order or quote ridiculous prices. Even with shipping still much cheaper. 
let some of the local stockist close down. Good riddance to some of them. 

On 6/9/2024 at 11:47 AM, vincenttan67 said:

@Beregond Just share share, 2 years is really short, i have ever went to johore near KSL  to replace a 600 riggit re-con compressor in 1995 & 2005. used more than 3 /4 years , then scrap the car, now the price 2024 for the re-con compressor in johore is R $850 +/- , when  the compressor come, is a new grey  spray, inside  overhaul , i believe replaced all the thrust bearings, shaft plate, snap rings, oil,   etc..., re-con  like new

Don’t trust jiuhu recon. Their recon is more like importing second hand cars from Japan and then stripping the parts. Give them a good clean and respray to look new and tada. Recon. 

On 6/9/2024 at 5:03 PM, Mkl22 said:

Don’t trust jiuhu recon. Their recon is more like importing second hand cars from Japan and then stripping the parts. Give them a good clean and respray to look new and tada. Recon. 

Recon parts are strip parts from Japan.

Recon cars are Japanese used car.

There are cases of stripped car being imported and put back together as used car.

Not the other way round.

Nowadays There are even strip parts from China.

On 6/7/2024 at 11:24 AM, kobayashiGT said:

The workshop that changed my aircon compressor also didn't give me any warranty. Later i managed to nego for 1 week warranty.

Yes, their suppliers also don't give them warranty, so the workshop is also unable to give warranty to customers.

2.5 years later still go back to the workshop to complain, i think it's too much already :D 

2nd Gear

@vincenttan67 

So in the end did you managed to replace only the pulley?

If I am not wrong this compressor is a variable displacment compressor. So there is a pulley that slips and break  when the compressor has a mechanical jam and the rest of the belt system will continue to operate.

If the compressor has jamed I doubt replacing pulley will solve the problem as it might be damaged.

Normally will require replacement of the compressor and flushing the AC system of debris.

Edited by Boxster

@Boxster nowsday the easy way is to replace the whole aircon compressor, i also did not want to go and find , so just change to a new one this and a new aircon mechanic, dare not go sin ming anymore. now very  cold . Also just share share abit  As for car alternator, i still manage to find mechanic whom can take out and repair the inside ,the carbon, cost very little money, oher mechanic whom do not want to do will ask customer to change the whole new alternator. cost very high