International Baccalaureate (IBDP) in Singapore - Parent's POV

Lala81

On 5/16/2024 at 3:26 PM, Krieger said:

My son was invited to go for DSA nush as he got gold in the science and math Olympiad. BUT, when we were there, we decided not to..... i think most of them came out to be researchers or sort. The maths questions they did there....

My son just did SASMO since p1. 

NMOS only for p5 onwards  

I think learning to do research is not really what I want my kids to learn. Lol unless they really want to. 

On 5/16/2024 at 3:40 PM, Ender said:

Actually SST got play cheat and admit PSLE student privately. Not part of the join admission. But maybe less than 5.

This I don't know, but I think they do contact those on the KIV list after school starts if there are drop outs. 

According to my son, one of his junior years only ended up with 197 when school started, but somehow was filled up to 200 later. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/16/2024 at 3:43 PM, Lala81 said:

Lol honestly until today I didn't know sst was for sec school kids.

I thought it was a hybrid tertiary institution like something like polytechnic or specialized uni. Cos they mention industry involvement etc.

Sec 1 talk what industry... 

Really swagu. 

SST affiliated with Ngee Ann Poly. They have a design subject and electrical engineering subject taught by NP lecturers and mark by NP. 

I think they were involve in some industry project also, but not everyone.

They also have subject on Entrepreneurship, but I told him BS lah, your old man teach you better. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/16/2024 at 4:02 PM, Tianmo said:

This I don't know, but I think they do contact those on the KIV list after school starts if there are drop outs. 

According to my son, one of his junior years only ended up with 197 when school started, but somehow was filled up to 200 later. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

most of your sons classmate go jc A levels for science? Since it seems your son go poly is more outlier. 

On 5/16/2024 at 4:22 PM, Lala81 said:

most of your sons classmate go jc A levels for science? Since it seems your son go poly is more outlier. 

The ratio of Poly to JC has gone from 40:60 when they started to 60:40 by the time it reaches my son. 

From sec 3, they get to choose an elective subject out of 4 for O levels, namely biotech, computing, electrical engineering and design. An additional elective combining computing and electrical engineering was introduced during his last year, those who choose that elective can skip physics for O levels.

Most kids (60%) went on to poly depending on what elective they did for O levels. The rest went on to A levels and IB. 

I think 70% of his classmate went to poly. Out of his gang of 8, all single dig O levels, only one went to JC for A levels science because he did biotech, scored 87 and already had offer from NTU, but waiting for NUS reply. 

The other 7 all in poly, the one in cyber security, with GPA 4 already had an offer from NUS base on 2 yrs results. Another fellow I heard gotten DSTA scholarship and bonded already. 

My son is in life science and biomed, so still open to do med if he does well enough. Now his GPA only 3.8 [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/16/2024 at 5:00 PM, Tianmo said:

The ratio of Poly to JC has gone from 40:60 when they started to 60:40 by the time it reaches my son. 

From sec 3, they get to choose an elective subject out of 4 for O levels, namely biotech, computing, electrical engineering and design. An additional elective combining computing and electrical engineering was introduced during his last year, those who choose that elective can skip physics for O levels.

Most kids (60%) went on to poly depending on what elective they did for O levels. The rest went on to A levels and IB. 

I think 70% of his classmate went to poly. Out of his gang of 8, all single dig O levels, only one went to JC for A levels science because he did biotech, scored 87 and already had offer from NTU, but waiting for NUS reply. 

The other 7 all in poly, the one in cyber security, with GPA 4 already had an offer from NUS base on 2 yrs results. Another fellow I heard gotten DSTA scholarship and bonded already. 

My son is in life science and biomed, so still open to do med if he does well enough. Now his GPA only 3.8 [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I’m probably out of date. What the the percentage of poly student that end up in local uni like NTU NUS. My time was very few. 

On 5/16/2024 at 5:11 PM, Mkl22 said:

I’m probably out of date. What the the percentage of poly student that end up in local uni like NTU NUS. My time was very few. 

10-15%

in recent years they look at more broad aspects like community work and the like in considering admissions 

On 5/16/2024 at 5:00 PM, Tianmo said:

Nyp? Do well in internship and stand a better chance

On 5/16/2024 at 3:59 PM, Tianmo said:

Yes, I think mind fried. [:p]

After my son came out from the entry test, he said daddy if you don't want a crazy son, spare me from here, who the fark talk about the universe in Primary school? Luckily I read about it for fun, so I know what they asking, but I think I still didn't get the answer correct. 

We left and never bother with it again.  That night I over heard he telling his friend over the phone, " my crazy dad send me to NUSH entry test, want to kill me. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

They looking for gep level kids or those with same potential actually, that are curious or can apply logic thinking beyond their age, that's why ask about universe at primary level [laugh]

Nowadays there is no more gep stream in secondary. So these specialized schools fill the gap. Secretly, gep still continues [laugh] and is nurtured. That's why there are seemingly 2 schools for sciences... Sst and nush.

On 5/16/2024 at 5:11 PM, Mkl22 said:

I don't know man, but I am sure is a lot more.

Your time and my time might be close, and back then there were only 2 polys and 2 Uni with hell lots of JCs and pre-Us. But now there is only one Pre-U left and many JCs has merged, with a total of 5 polys and 6 local Uni. 

Back then, only the top 3% with certificate of merits from poly can gain direct entry to local Uni, the rest need to go work 2 yrs before can apply. Now no need, as long as got GPA 3.6 and above can apply for Uni liao.

My daughter's classmates from poly, more than half in her Uni class now. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/16/2024 at 5:16 PM, RadX said:

Nyp? Do well in internship and stand a better chance

Sure? I better tell him to switch to carry mode during internship. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 5/16/2024 at 5:58 PM, Tianmo said:

Sure? I better tell him to switch to carry mode during internship. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Not so obvious ah😂

244EF54C-FD3E-4437-9142-0280264B53FC.gif

On 5/16/2024 at 3:06 PM, Krieger said:

Hi Lala, my first kid went to SJI (I). DSA, you need to pay up front 3K just to apply for a slot. Then the school will interview the parents and finally decide on various factors. Min. school grades in P6 before PSLE needs to be at least AL 12. The school emphasis less of technology but more on articulation. Why we decide to go this route for my first kid? IB allows the kid to go overseas uni alike Stanford etc. BUT you need to be the top before you have a chance to go to those top overseas school. If not it will be second tier universities which I felt local Nus or Ntu is better. 

If given a second chance to choose, we would have sent him to a school alike SST. I think Tianmo sent his kid there. The students they produced is very different, daring , willing to learn and they learn deep. I had a few SST med interns, and they are darn good with tip end medical topics such as neuro and cells. Best thing is practical insertion is very good as well. I do not really know how they taught in that school, but it works. 

Is there a reason your other kids (I'm presuming from how you phrased it) didn't follow? 

Why sji international. Based on proximity only? 

My boss kids go acs international. Another colleague's son go sji international. Another peer kid used to go HCI. 

On 5/16/2024 at 3:26 PM, Krieger said:

My son was invited to go for DSA nush as he got gold in the science and math Olympiad. BUT, when we were there, we decided not to..... i think most of them came out to be researchers or sort. The maths questions they did there....

I've heard that their math questions are one level above NMOS (from my friend). So it's pretty 变态。

If can get gold for nmos and science, got try for dsa science/math elsewhere? 

On 5/16/2024 at 11:35 AM, Lala81 said:

I'm just more interested in how an IB program may work to the benefit of the student. The O levels and A levels are really just teaching kids how to grind. Especially A levels. 

Not much benefit unless u want to do a pure STEM degree. 

Poly etc no lah, not unless they are very sure what they want to do at age 16. That one is a choice u can decide after O levels. 

I have to agree on this, school is still very grindy like playing a game.

Good for sheep :grin:

@Lala81 

On 5/16/2024 at 8:05 PM, Lala81 said:

I've heard that their math questions are one level above NMOS (from my friend). So it's pretty 变态。

If can get gold for nmos and science, got try for dsa science/math elsewhere? 

Hi, yes in fact I will say it's 2 level above. On the first day of the deal, you need to answer some maths questions with no calculator. They just want to see the process of how you do the workings. Allow me to share, 40% are locals, 60 % are new citizens from...my wife and I decided to turn down when we were being offered at the Sea results day.

Another thing that makes me unhappy is the basically non existent of carpark for us parents. The nearest is a HDB car park that goes up slope at any 5-7 mins walk.

Seriously, I think the people you know in an IB class is also very different.

The exposure will be very different from a traditional school in Singapore.

I say go for it.

On 5/16/2024 at 8:03 PM, Lala81 said:

Is there a reason your other kids (I'm presuming from how you phrased it) didn't follow? 

Why sji international. Based on proximity only? 

My boss kids go acs international. Another colleague's son go sji international. Another peer kid used to go HCI. 

HCI is nearer to me than Sji (I). But my body is from a all boys Catholic school and next no brainer is also a Catholic school . I have no religion, but my wife is a Catholic. 

You have to choose one on the decision day and you cannot change Ur mind later. 

You have to know your kid well. If he or she loves to study then HCI is for you. But if alike to my son who frustrated his teachers asking questions on quantum physics etc, it's best to go schools such as ACS or even SST. Why? They have extra lessons out of school context. They get Apple, Nasa etc to have interns with them. 

We hate to see our kids go thru the grinding process and still cannot afford a central condo when he reaches 29 years. We do not want our kids to serve the machinery of this society, but to own machine and make others run it.