Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 Hi. Anyone here in MCF has kids doing IBDP in singapore? Whether in International school or MGS/ACS(I)/SJI. Can share parent's POV and whether you think it's beneficial for your kids vs the Singapore A level system? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 Singaporean kids cannot go international school unless medical reasons right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 As in citizens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 11:15 AM, Windwaver said: Singaporean kids cannot go international school unless medical reasons right? I for independent. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 10:21 AM, Lala81 said: Hi. Anyone here in MCF has kids doing IBDP in singapore? Whether in International school or MGS/ACS(I)/SJI. Can share parent's POV and whether you think it's beneficial for your kids vs the Singapore A level system? Thanks. Don't know leh. Always read singapore gets the most top scorer compare to other countries on this exams. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 11:20 AM, Ender said: Don't know leh. Always read singapore gets the most top scorer compare to other countries on this exams. Both local and international schools 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 There is also the Polytechnic route to university besides the A-level and IB Program. IMHO, the poly route is good for those kids who are very clear about their intended profession, or who are very into learning by hands-on experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 I think singapore has compulsory pri school education for all singaporeans. Once you past PSLE, can join international schools for IB. But $$$. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 (edited) On 5/16/2024 at 11:28 AM, serenade said: There is also the Polytechnic route to university besides the A-level and IB Program. IMHO, the poly route is good for those kids who are very clear about their intended profession, or who are very into learning by hands-on experience. I'm just more interested in how an IB program may work to the benefit of the student. The O levels and A levels are really just teaching kids how to grind. Especially A levels. Not much benefit unless u want to do a pure STEM degree. Poly etc no lah, not unless they are very sure what they want to do at age 16. That one is a choice u can decide after O levels. Edited May 16, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 (edited) Benefits potentially - less overall stress cos it's an international exam vs just our A levels which are of a higher difficulty level - more holistic learning and more suited for University or actual working life Potential cons - less demanding on sciences/mathematics. So if u are going into hard STEM in local Uni, u maybe lagging behind initially. Overall, it's either very $$$$ or you have to be very good academically to get into the 3 above schools. Edited May 16, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 I don't have input, but I believe traditionally SG produces high IB scores. However, I also notice those who went the IB route are usually the stronger students who knows what they want after the program. Given limited slots, getting into those schools are also very competitive. Be prepared to fight. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 11:44 AM, Lala81 said: Benefits potentially - less overall stress cos it's an international exam vs just our A levels which are of a higher difficulty level - more holistic learning and more suited for University or actual working life Potential cons - less demanding on sciences/mathematics. So if u are going into hard STEM in local Uni, u maybe lagging behind initially. Overall, it's either very $$$$ or you have to be very good academically to get into the 3 above schools. I would beg to differ that the A levels are more difficult or possess higher difficulty, especially with the recent A level changes whereby only three main core subjects are counted, aside from GP, with project work requiring only a pass grade. It's a lot lighter now. The IB program on the other hand requires six core subjects, which each having the same weightage in IB score calculation. On top of the 6 core subjects, students can also be awarded up to 3 additional points for their combined attainment in Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay. So it's very content heavy. Not for the faint hearted I say. There are a few local schools offering IB courses for local students after their psle such as MGS, SOTA, SJI, Singapore Sports Sch.. just to name a few. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 11:58 AM, Invigorated said: I would beg to differ that the A levels are more difficult or possess higher difficulty, especially with the recent A level changes whereby only three main core subjects are counted, aside from GP, with project work requiring only a pass grade. It's a lot lighter now. The IB program on the other hand requires six core subjects, which each having the same weightage in IB score calculation. On top of the 6 core subjects, students can also be awarded up to 3 additional points for their combined attainment in Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay. So it's very content heavy. Not for the faint hearted I say. There are a few local schools offering IB courses for local students after their psle such as MGS, SOTA, SJI, Singapore Sports Sch.. just to name a few. IBDP is more breadth rather than depth. From what i know, even u take HL for the IB areas, it's also less deep than any of the comparable A level topics for math/sciences (humanities i have no idea). There's 6 topics. u need to take 3 at higher levels, 3 at standard levels. Nowadays, u go to the IP schools, those giving tours can also say workload is heavy. Honestly last time u sec 2 got talk about load management, good time management? Now all these even the sec school kids can tell you this. no good time management = die. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 I never include SOTA/sports school cos ... my kids have no talent in those lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 10:21 AM, Lala81 said: Hi. Anyone here in MCF has kids doing IBDP in singapore? Whether in International school or MGS/ACS(I)/SJI. Can share parent's POV and whether you think it's beneficial for your kids vs the Singapore A level system? Thanks. I think you have answered your own questions regarding the differences etc. you have also expressed your opinions. dont need to care about other parents POV….. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 12:36 PM, Throttle2 said: I think you have answered your own questions regarding the differences etc. you have also expressed your opinions. dont need to care about other parents POV….. Of course I have my own opinions. Never really considered going that route before the subsidised route are all concentrated in the west of singapore, and all require very good grades. I've know parents who sent their kids to international school before though. Just see if got any crowd sourced views lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 12:24 PM, Lala81 said: I never include SOTA/sports school cos ... my kids have no talent in those lol. Have you spoken to your kids about it? They may have their own thoughts too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 16, 2024 Author Share May 16, 2024 On 5/16/2024 at 12:49 PM, Tianmo said: Have you spoken to your kids about it? They may have their own thoughts too. my kids not like yours lah. Anyway not like this is not like 16 or 18 years. They just go where i ask them to go lol. Been hearing about IB on-off over the years, but never really considered. Then spoke quite a bit to my boss wife over company lunch so just re-evaluating lor. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...