RSAF F-16 jet crashes at Tengah Air Base; pilot receiving medical attention

Tohto

Maintenance crew will be stressed now, as the whole maintenance record will be dig out.

• Sad 1

Got excuse to get more new toys ie F35....like me waiting for my old TV to die.

• Haha! 8

MY one got bideo, RSAF one dont have ? 

On 5/8/2024 at 3:12 PM, Volvobrick said:

Dun be surprise wait f35 more accident then f16😅

On 5/8/2024 at 3:23 PM, Ct3833 said:

taking video within the camp is chargeable offence leh. Airbase should be no photos/videos area. 

I would like to see the gong kia who upload. 

Anyway that one was practice for a show, so have video taken is normal. This one just routine take off only. 

• Haha! 7

At Tengah Airbase how to have bideo.

Bro, u ord or shld i use rod at least 40 yrs ago 😆?

If got double decker passing by at the time, passengers could've videoed the approach if got smoke etc 

It is a 25 year old plane at very close to EOL already. Although refurbished with new engines, avionics and armaments, the airframe is still old. All it needs is a fracture under take off stress at full throttle and the pilot loses control at critical juncture.  

On 5/8/2024 at 3:33 PM, Lala81 said:

taking video within the camp is chargeable offence leh. Airbase should be no photos/videos area. 

I would like to see the gong kia who upload. 

Anyway that one was practice for a show, so have video taken is normal. This one just routine take off only. 

KIN def no video. But hor, go Google map see satellite image v clear. Lol. 

On 5/8/2024 at 4:49 PM, serenade said:

It is a 25 year old plane at very close to EOL already. Although refurbished with new engines, avionics and armaments, the airframe is still old. All it needs is a fracture under take off stress at full throttle and the pilot loses control at critical juncture.  

Our oldest four C-130 are built in 1958 and 1960 which qualifies them for retirement if they were Singaporean. But I guess the virtue of having multiple engines means that losing one engine isn’t going to result in a hull loss. 

It’s still not clear why the F-16 crashed though - we only know it was at the takeoff phase. Perhaps more information will come soon.

But I guess residents in Jurong West will enjoy some peace and quiet in the days to come 🤐

On 5/8/2024 at 3:56 PM, Tohto said:

At Tengah Airbase how to have bideo.

that place has cameras covered 24/7. day and night vision.

maybe mindef would release it if no OPSEC involved.

So zhun. Barely a month after our neighbour helicopter crash.

Tiagong Tengah HDB aircon not cold

So maybe pilot fainted coz stuffy?.....

On 5/8/2024 at 3:12 PM, Volvobrick said:

You can "accidentally" spill kopi onto the old TV.... Just sayin.. 😆

On 5/8/2024 at 5:24 PM, Soya said:

Tiagong Tengah HDB aircon not cold

So maybe pilot fainted coz stuffy?.....

or maybe pilot forgot insert cash card in the new OBU since OBU installed under the seat...

• Haha! 11