Benarsenal Turbocharged May 7, 2024 Share May 7, 2024 I think it really depends on the company culture, nature of work, and also the type of bosses you have. I have worked jobs where it's very intense during the working hours, but once knock off they completely won't touch you. And other jobs where there is flexibility (no need to go office) but sometimes have to work after hours. And also a mixture of somewhere in between those two. So ultimately it really is about finding the right mix that works for you. Communication with your superiors is important. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 7, 2024 Share May 7, 2024 (edited) On 5/7/2024 at 2:18 PM, 13177 said: Think i still prefer last time before covid, no zoom, no need bring computer back home even using laptop, cannot access company network from home and we work 100% in office and end work at the end of the day and we go home leaving work behind and then have our personal time and space. Expand I usually work another 5-6 hours at home after office hours everyday because there are teams at other time zones and I hate to make others wait for my replies till the next morning. I may have work only 20+ years before calling it a day. But most don't see the actual manhours I put in....... As usual,, no free lunches.😁 Edited May 7, 2024 by Stary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 7, 2024 Share May 7, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 11:14 AM, Sosaria said: Last time before covid, few used zoom or skype for local dealings. Teams was unheard of. Whatsapp mainly for family or friends. Most of us used desktop PC that we switched off and left it in the office at the end of the day and weekends. Today we have flexi work, and we spend more hours at home but with all the conferencing apps and WhatsApp work groups and laptop that you supposed to bring home for WFH, it turns out that we are working all the time. Expand Yah at times i do conf call when putting, after a while like play ping pong, give up 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 7, 2024 Share May 7, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 3:10 PM, Windwaver said: https://www.quora.com/Do-fish-get-bored-living-in-an-aquarium-for-all-of-their-life/answer/Anthony-Washington-107 Do fish get bored living in an aquarium for all of their life? I’m pretty sure they do. But as long as their needs are met, they can still love their lives. Even the best tank at an aquarium can’t compare with the majestic seas but they can live longer in a tank since there are no predators. If you think about it, humans sorta live in a self imposed “tank”. The earth is 196 million square miles large yet most of us stay within a 20 mile radius for the majority of our lives. We wake up at the same time, eat more or less the same foods, drive the same car to our same job, and go back to our same home to do the same mundane activities, then we go to sleep, wake up, and do it all over again. But as long as our basic needs are met and we have company, we don’t really complain of boredom. Just think of that same concept on a more simplistic level with fish. Maybe fish don’t really expect much more out of life since they were already bred and raised in a pet store tank before you purchased it. As long as they have food, a clean & safe environment, and other fish to keep them company, they should be alright. That’s just like humans. As long as we have food, shelter, security, and loved ones around, we’ll be just fine! I usually stay within a 10 mile radius 99.99% of the time and I barely ever wonder what life is like on the other side of the Earth. So I would assume that a pet fish is not worried about missing out on the deep blue sea. They adapt to their environment and make the most out of their existence. Expand Some people just prefer simple and stable life. No need to get so happening in their lifestyle. Doing the same things everyday is ok. 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 7, 2024 Share May 7, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 3:17 PM, Sosaria said: That's right, last time, if there's work to do and cannot finish, we have to stay back in office past knock-off time to complete it. Nowadays, sure, no matter what's the backlog, we can knock-off on time, eat dinner at home with family, but after that, continue working..... Pros and cons. Expand I am not a workaholic, so I don’t like work can be easily access and can be done anytime and anywhere. I like work and personal life to be separated. I don’t like my boss expected me to be able to respond to work like 24/7. I always think there is no work that can be so urgent until like life and death. Some bossess are simply too kan cheong. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 (edited) On 5/7/2024 at 11:03 PM, 13177 said: I am not a workaholic, so I don’t like work can be easily access and can be done anytime and anywhere. I like work and personal life to be separated. I don’t like my boss expected me to be able to respond to work like 24/7. I always think there is no work that can be so urgent until like life and death. Some bossess are simply too kan cheong. Expand IMHO. Some of my colleagues are workaholics but have low productivity in response. As such, my workaholic nature become dormant. I need to be mindful not to be too workaholic and productive in case I accidentally give them as well as myself, mental health challenges. Edited May 8, 2024 by Kklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 (edited) On 5/8/2024 at 12:22 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. Some of my colleagues are workaholics but have low productivity in response. As such, my workaholic nature become dormant. I need to be mindful not to be too workaholic and productive in case I accidentally give them as well as myself, mental health challenges. Expand Just be yourself. If you have to change yourself by intentionally :slow down your potential progress in order to blend with a slow group at work, then you should really ask if you are in the right place. Edited May 8, 2024 by Stary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/8/2024 at 12:22 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. Some of my colleagues are workaholics but have low productivity in response. As such, my workaholic nature become dormant. I need to be mindful not to be too workaholic and productive in case I accidentally give them as well as myself, mental health challenges. Expand Workaholic but have low productivity? How could it be? 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/8/2024 at 12:49 AM, Stary said: Just be yourself. If you have to change yourself by intentionally :slow down your potential progress in order to blend with a slow group, then you should really ask if you are in the right place. Expand IMHO. The right place to be lower profile. 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/8/2024 at 12:49 AM, 13177 said: Workaholic but have low productivity? How could it be? 😂 Expand IMHO. I would say workaholic can be effective but may not be efficient. Low efficiency will give rise to slower response. I refer to your previous post on kan cheong boss - actually the boss is not anxious, just that this is a method to put the ball in someone's court. 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 12:24 PM, Ct3833 said: My boss and business partners also always ask me to play golf, but the problem is after half a day golf, i have to use my sleeping time to catch up my work Expand When you play golf and go drinking or whatever, you relax ok. Haha 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/8/2024 at 1:17 AM, Arogab said: When you play golf and go drinking or whatever, you relax ok. Haha Expand Has your golf improved? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/8/2024 at 1:30 AM, inlinesix said: Has your golf improved? Expand I become the 70% of them liao. Playing 90 over. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 2:18 PM, 13177 said: In a way i view flexi work arrangement might mean what you have said, turns out that we are working all the time and work can be done at anywhere, which work would eat into our personal time and space. Think i still prefer last time before covid, no zoom, no need bring computer back home even using laptop, cannot access company network from home and we work 100% in office and end work at the end of the day and we go home leaving work behind and then have our personal time and space. Expand In this WFH, I agree it is not better off. The flexi hours is either not defined clearly as what you mentioned, abused by MGMT, still allocating staff new work at 5.15pm for next day meeting at 9am, ended up staff work through wee hours. Or you have staff abused that flexi hours where you can really calculate the amount of work done that greatly reduces when WFH. The work-life balance culture still doesn't quite set in even WFH. Gen Gan is just lip service. Still reeks of commander speech. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/8/2024 at 2:01 AM, Unfazed said: In this WFH, I agree it is not better off. The flexi hours is either not defined clearly as what you mentioned, abused by MGMT, still allocating staff new work at 5.15pm for next day meeting at 9am, ended up staff work through wee hours. Or you have staff abused that flexi hours where you can really calculate the amount of work done that greatly reduces when WFH. The work-life balance culture still doesn't quite set in even WFH. Gen Gan is just lip service. Still reeks of commander speech. Expand I rarely wake up this early, so decide to go to the nearby mall to eat breakfast. I mean it is like 10am now, should have a lot of seats .... Wah low, so many F&B joint full of people having breakfast....like weekend sia. Nowadays people don't work one or what? Maybe this is what flexi work means..... Fed-up, I went back to my kopi shop downstairs...... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 11:07 AM, Arogab said: I am on Flex work hours, I am managing a company with 2 business units. My boss ask me to go play golf and entertain my customers too. But then...... Expand Golf can be tiring and even carry risk of back injury if swing wrongly. Tell your boss customer scare injury, go for massage safer lor... as long company expense account. Sacrifice a bit la 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 (edited) On 5/8/2024 at 2:10 AM, Stary said: I rarely wake up this early, so decide to go to the nearby mall to eat breakfast. I mean it is like 10am now, should have a lot of seats .... Wah low, so many F&B joint full of people having breakfast....like weekend sia. Nowadays people don't work one or what? Maybe this is what flexi work means..... Fed-up, I went back to my kopi shop downstairs...... Expand We are moving to the scenes of HK my friend. No more at home. Only diff, is those folks there are old folks where homes are small, food at fast food joints could be cheaper. My son just told me. Nowadays it's cheaper to eat fast food. Got set got drink got fries. If guilty pricks, he switch fries to salad. He and his friends often at fast food and joked we parents should feel lucky they don't frequent Starbucks or like. House getting smaller, linger fast food joints, pace of life also got faster. Yup think we are moving towards that direction. Just went there in Mar. Saw the old folks. My trip there each time ascertain more it's a sad place to grow old. Cheers to soulless life...be robots. Good luck good luck. Kaching kaching... Edited May 8, 2024 by Unfazed 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear May 8, 2024 Share May 8, 2024 On 5/7/2024 at 3:10 PM, Windwaver said: https://www.quora.com/Do-fish-get-bored-living-in-an-aquarium-for-all-of-their-life/answer/Anthony-Washington-107 Do fish get bored living in an aquarium for all of their life? I’m pretty sure they do. But as long as their needs are met, they can still love their lives. Even the best tank at an aquarium can’t compare with the majestic seas but they can live longer in a tank since there are no predators. If you think about it, humans sorta live in a self imposed “tank”. The earth is 196 million square miles large yet most of us stay within a 20 mile radius for the majority of our lives. We wake up at the same time, eat more or less the same foods, drive the same car to our same job, and go back to our same home to do the same mundane activities, then we go to sleep, wake up, and do it all over again. But as long as our basic needs are met and we have company, we don’t really complain of boredom. Just think of that same concept on a more simplistic level with fish. Maybe fish don’t really expect much more out of life since they were already bred and raised in a pet store tank before you purchased it. As long as they have food, a clean & safe environment, and other fish to keep them company, they should be alright. That’s just like humans. As long as we have food, shelter, security, and loved ones around, we’ll be just fine! I usually stay within a 10 mile radius 99.99% of the time and I barely ever wonder what life is like on the other side of the Earth. So I would assume that a pet fish is not worried about missing out on the deep blue sea. They adapt to their environment and make the most out of their existence. Expand I think they say fishes have a short term memory for most of them, typically in a matter of minutes, so it is always a brand new place for them? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...