COE Bidding – May 2024

On 5/23/2024 at 4:55 PM, inlinesix said:

Ask them to squeeze la.

You are the lau Peh le

cannot leh....my son close to 6 ft and bulky, both daughters now is 5.5"...how to Sq like that...now driving MPV...if go back sedan, hoiii.... my choice is only something bigger....and that something is beyond my reach at the moment...:grin:

On 5/24/2024 at 8:03 AM, Spidey10 said:

cannot leh....my son close to 6 ft and bulky, both daughters now is 5.5"...how to Sq like that...now driving MPV...if go back sedan, hoiii.... my choice is only something bigger....and that something is beyond my reach at the moment...:grin:

Like that you need a mini bus. Lol.

On 5/20/2024 at 6:04 AM, Fellows said:

Salute your confidence in an almost unheard China EV brand and getting Maxus MIFA 9. Wonder how their reputation, reliability and even safely in ENCAP and ANCAP crash test.

Most importantly will the company itself survive in the next 5-10 years in the throat cutting competition in their home ground as quite a number of Chery, BYD and Xiaomi cutting corners on their EVs are popping up now from China owners.

More and more unheard China EV popping up all over China with company heavily subsidize by their government just to get on the EV hype, any cat and dogs also try to manufacture EVs.

Just be careful in uncharted territory, yes most of these China EVs look fancy on the outside, that we need to give it to them. How the internal from software, battery, safely and built quality, how will it last? Nobody knows, let see in 5 years time in our local humid weather conditions.

So far, the campaign against the EV market is starting to sound like a broken record.

tesla is also made in China. If you have been invited to view the smart EV also made by geely, you will be hard press to even believe it’s made in China .

while I believe there will be cases of faulty products. Those for China EV seems to be well controlled 

and if you chance upon a accident involving a EV that is rear ended. You be amazed by the crash and crumple zone of it.. 

hence it’s no surprise that the industry for players who are hard press to clear the ICE car is very real.

the instant torque and delivery of smiles per miles for EV is quite unbeatable. And lately the newer 2024 and 2025 model have prices reduced further. But that sometimes does not translate to cheaper cars for obvious reason.

only thing that EV will never ever replicate is the handling of fast bends at speed of 130 to 140 . It just does not inspire confidence due to the CG and weight . Even if the battery is smack right in the Center. You would think that it drives like a mid engine car. 

MG is probably one of the better drive handling car till date. The polestar does seems to be better in ride comfort and balance..

the rest of the market even the BYD seal just need to up their game . Else if you drive like every sane Singaporean. It’s the best bang for the dollar at the price point compared to a equivalent ICE car in the price bracket, you won’t get better pulling power than that

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 5/24/2024 at 8:18 AM, Sdf4786k said:

So far, the campaign against the EV market is starting to sound like a broken record.

tesla is also made in China. If you have been invited to view the smart EV also made by geely, you will be hard press to even believe it’s made in China .

while I believe there will be cases of faulty products. Those for China EV seems to be well controlled 

and if you chance upon a accident involving a EV that is rear ended. You be amazed by the crash and crumple zone of it.. 

you bother?  LEt it be...there will always be 2 camps...you CEO of BYD ah....pl sla....u so old still wanna defend the throne....😅

• Haha! 9

On 5/24/2024 at 8:22 AM, RadX said:

you bother?  LEt it be...there will always be 2 camps...you CEO of BYD ah....pl sla....u so old still wanna defend the throne....😅

Sometimes stating the obvious is not so obvious . Lol. You do notice that I was advocating polestar

as they say, there are 2 facts but there can only be One truth.

Edited by Sdf4786k

@metalstream go in office at 8am clock in timing, look through email and “ appear busy “ in front of the computer . Wait until 12 noon lunch for 1 hour at nearby eating place. Go back office “ warm up “ another 30 mins. Wait till 5pm, rinse and repeat 

Actual private car buyers are few these days. Most of the demand is coming from businesses. And that is not good for everyone, even non-car people, because it just drives cost of living up further.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/transport-logistics/coe-premiums-stable-big-car-category-edges-towards-s106000

Currently, Categories A, B and C contribute 10 per cent of their deregistrations to Category E.

“The (Category E) rule makes no sense, since Category E is never used for commercial vehicles. Ultimately, higher premiums are not healthy as this will increase operating costs for companies, which will be passed on to consumers,” he said.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 5/24/2024 at 1:24 PM, Benarsenal said:

Actual private car buyers are few these days. Most of the demand is coming from businesses. And that is not good for everyone, even non-car people, because it just drives cost of living up further.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/transport-logistics/coe-premiums-stable-big-car-category-edges-towards-s106000

Based on Q1 data, new PHV car is still hovering around 18%.

Just like last year.

On 5/24/2024 at 8:18 AM, Sdf4786k said:

hence it’s no surprise that the industry for players who are hard press to clear the ICE car is very real.

the instant torque and delivery of smiles per miles for EV is quite unbeatable. And lately the newer 2024 and 2025 model have prices reduced further. But that sometimes does not translate to cheaper cars for obvious reason.

only thing that EV will never ever replicate is the handling of fast bends at speed of 130 to 140 . It just does not inspire confidence due to the CG and weight . Even if the battery is smack right in the Center. You would think that it drives like a mid engine car. 

MG is probably one of the better drive handling car till date. The polestar does seems to be better in ride comfort and balance..

the rest of the market even the BYD seal just need to up their game . Else if you drive like every sane Singaporean. It’s the best bang for the dollar at the price point compared to a equivalent ICE car in the price bracket, you won’t get better pulling power than that

I recently came across a BYD roadshow. If I were to hide the badges, you wouldn't even guess that it's a China brand. They are that good nowadays :D 

But of course, that's just the interior and exterior la.

The drive and overall reliability remains to be seen. 

On 5/23/2024 at 4:37 PM, Fellows said:

Wanted to buy the current AD 2.5 Hybrid Harrier but it was at $240000 back in April 2024 I think. Is over my budget already and it’s CAT B, higher road tax. Next time change tires also expensive coz is 18”, should be around $900~$1000.  

Trade in 2016 Toyota Harrier 2.0 NA bought at $150000 back then, which COE end in Q1 of 2026 as this vehicle despite larger and nicer but it’s lacking active safety features and modern technology, no CarPlay/Android Auto too, more wind noise as the rubber is not as fitting compared to new car, likely due to our hot weather too.

Aircon also randomly give hot air, need to plug out ECU to reset, rear aircon also sometimes stop working, engine light also sometimes randomly appear. Enough of all these, so just downgrade and change to more environmentally friendly car, lower road tax and lower petrol fee, change tires also cheaper as it only 16” and enjoy all the latest technology and active safely features. 

Yes is smaller but the acceleration is faster due to high torque in EV mode when from red light or overtaking. Getting 4.6L/100KM now on Niro. 

wow reading your list of problems.. can't say toyota is reliable that much. i got none of that in my alfalfa. @RadX you dun always say my car in workshop ok.. toyota lagi worse hor :grin:

• Haha! 7

On 5/25/2024 at 5:17 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

wow reading your list of problems.. can't say toyota is reliable that much. i got none of that in my alfalfa. @RadX you dun always say my car in workshop ok.. toyota lagi worse hor :grin:

I’ll just post this here.. causation does not mean correlation 

ur alfa time memorial liao since Moses days😂😂

IMG_3786.webp

On 5/24/2024 at 2:50 PM, Beehive3783 said:

I recently came across a BYD roadshow. If I were to hide the badges, you wouldn't even guess that it's a China brand. They are that good nowadays :D 

Drive should be ok since so many people buying?! 😂

On 5/25/2024 at 5:30 PM, RadX said:

I’ll just post this here.. causation does not mean correlation 

ur alfa time memorial liao since Moses days😂😂

IMG_3786.webp

Power man, the cat. :a-good:

On 5/24/2024 at 8:59 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Sometimes stating the obvious is not so obvious . Lol. You do notice that I was advocating polestar

as they say, there are 2 facts but there can only be One truth.

What is the value preposition for polestar huh? 

On 5/24/2024 at 2:50 PM, Beehive3783 said:

Overall reliability still to be seen, but the Seal I test drove can beat the lexus/toyota ICE hands down a n terms of handling and comfort. 

On 5/25/2024 at 6:19 PM, 13177 said:

Drive should be ok since so many people buying?! 😂

Not sure about the lower end of the range... But at least the Seal is pretty good and nothing to sneeze at.

1st Gear

I owned a 2017 year Kia , do only point to point travelling, weekly mileage less than 50km per week, pump petrol 95 every 1.5 - 2 weeks.  but still need for family due to young children and old parents, can only say it is really less stressful to do multiple short distance fetching these ppl around and prob have to wait for them for a while, that its hard  to grab taxi from pojnt to point . so if still can, i will pay to have a car for the next few years until the kids are older and can go off by themselves. 

Now that already left with a few years to go , im starting again to research for the next car and start to read the COE trend, anyone think I should just wait and see for next 2 years? By then its either COE down = buy new car,  COE no good = buy 2nd hand or extend current COE. 

For the pass 7 years, i clocked 92k km , still below 100k km .  should i just sell my current car off and try to grab a good offer?

On 5/25/2024 at 9:05 PM, Vratenza said:

What is the value preposition for polestar huh? 

Better handling n common platform for zeekr and smart # model amongst the offerings. 

in a nutshell, you will want to have a larger footprint of a mature tech support after the warranty which is 6 to 8 years later 

of course one would argue that Tesla would be a better bet vs the rest. 

Edited by Sdf4786k