COE Bidding – May 2024

On 5/23/2024 at 4:37 PM, Fellows said:

Wanted to buy the current AD 2.5 Hybrid Harrier but it was at $240000 back in April 2024 I think. Is over my budget already and it’s CAT B, higher road tax. Next time change tires also expensive coz is 18”, should be around $900~$1000.  

Trade in 2016 Toyota Harrier 2.0 NA bought at $150000 back then, which COE end in Q1 of 2026 as this vehicle despite larger and nicer but it’s lacking active safety features and modern technology, no CarPlay/Android Auto too, more wind noise as the rubber is not as fitting compared to new car, likely due to our hot weather too.

Aircon also randomly give hot air, need to plug out ECU to reset, rear aircon also sometimes stop working, engine light also sometimes randomly appear. Enough of all these, so just downgrade and change to more environmentally friendly car, lower road tax and lower petrol fee, change tires also cheaper as it only 16” and enjoy all the latest technology and active safely features. 

Yes is smaller but the acceleration is faster due to high torque in EV mode when from red light or overtaking. Getting 4.6L/100KM now on Niro. 

in the 1st place, if your family is small, why you need a Harrier? I cannot believe u can moved from a Harrier to Niro if your family is growing? If i were you, and dun need a big car at that time, I would have gone for a sedan to save all the extra cost....civic or a corolla would be just fine..save thousands...:grin:

I can't move back to a sedan anymore coz my 3 kids have grown up...and to fit them all in a sedan, asking for trouble...

On 5/23/2024 at 4:53 PM, Spidey10 said:

in the 1st place, if your family is small, why you need a Harrier? I cannot believe u can moved from a Harrier to Niro if your family is growing? If i were you, and dun need a big car at that time, I would have gone for a sedan to save all the extra cost....civic or a corolla would be just fine..save thousands...:grin:

I can't move back to a sedan anymore coz my 3 kids have grown up...and to fit them all in a sedan, asking for trouble...

Ask them to squeeze la.

You are the lau Peh le

4th Gear

4 adults, back then was year 2003 1.6 NA Toyota Corolla the last Japan made that BM AD bought in before change to Thai made Altis, then year 2007 upgraded to KM AD 1.8 NA Honda Civic then to year 2016 PI 2.0 NA Toyota Harrier then now year 2024 C&C AD 1.6 Hybrid KIA Niro.

Edited by Fellows

4th Gear

Why harrier back then? Coz the eagle in front is nice lor, I meant the design is quite nice back in 2016, large and comfortable which is not required at all frankly speaking but sit and drive is quite shiok.

4th Gear
On 5/23/2024 at 4:22 PM, 13177 said:

It is for a KIA NIRO le, so $181k consider ok liao. Unless it is a KIA Cerato for $181k.

If C&C KIA bring in the 2024 KIA Sportage Hybrid, that will be my choice and should be within budget to replace Toyota Harrier, but sadly they didn’t bring in. Very nice car when I saw in Korea. KIA K3 too small, KIA Sorento hybrid too expensive so middle ground without Sportage Hybrid will be Niro Hybrid.

Edited by Fellows

@Fellows Kia sorento should be around 250k -270k with Hyundai Santa Fe coming in at 260k for lower trim vs 280k the higher end trim 🤣

5th Gear
On 5/23/2024 at 1:08 PM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

Only know after closed of bidding and LTA send bidders a message informing them of a successful bid and when login, one will know how much your AD bid. Sometimes, your SE will message you of successful bidding after he/she received information from their finance clerks but not the amount they bid.

Before closing of bidding, SE don't know and their common replies are, the office finance staff bid for it. :lll._.:

Maybe they don't want to leak information on the amount bid before closing which others ADs could outbid them. :slow:

Not true lah. I even know my AD last revised bid for me down to the hour, min and second and amount just 1+ min before 4pm via the lta link. Super transparent. 

Edited by Rskc

4th Gear
On 5/23/2024 at 5:31 PM, thebestbees said:

@Fellows Kia sorento should be around 250k -270k with Hyundai Santa Fe coming in at 260k for lower trim vs 280k the higher end trim 🤣

If that true, that really expensive. Sadly no more 2014-2017 that kind of COE price. 

On 5/23/2024 at 4:49 PM, inlinesix said:

Got plan meh?

Maybe election coming then plan will come out. 

On 5/23/2024 at 4:49 PM, inlinesix said:

Got plan meh?

Ya, not plan but only thoughts. 😂

On 5/23/2024 at 4:51 PM, Fellows said:

Yup back then when AD is dumb and never bought in Toyota Harrier, PI bring in the Toyota Harrier 2.0 NA engine JDM spec. Problem start to come after 5 years mark, when slow acceleration like start moving off or slow moving in carpark, the engine will have the small but noticeable vibration but mechanic cannot find the issue, super annoying. 

First 5 years was good, after that more and more issue despite take care the SUV in good condition. 

Still cannot believe it happens to a Toyota. 😂 Anyway, don’t think there were problems due to it was a PI model?! 

On 5/23/2024 at 4:46 PM, 13177 said:

Where is Chee Hong's plan to move PHV cars out of Cat A ar?

With 'Tua Liap Nee' ..... :wut:

:XD:

On 5/23/2024 at 8:02 AM, RadX said:

Eh Cb la… u buy car like wife giving birth liddat… knn… ask ur AD la

😂

Wife give birth why must ask AD huh?🤣

On 5/23/2024 at 10:51 PM, metalstream said:

How low can Cat A go when 50% of bids are form commercial entities comprising car rental and private hire.

Don't know take how long to "consider"? Wait till GE is over?

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapore/government-not-ruling-out-separate-coe-category-private-hire-cars-chee-hong-tat

"Consider" only, doesn't mean action.

Can be "after serious consideration, we have concluded that the current system remains effective"

@Fellows just a wild guess based on previous models price difference. C&c definitely wouldn’t want to miss this “

healthy profits “

On 5/23/2024 at 11:36 PM, metalstream said:

"... There is no evidence that private hire car (PHC) companies have caused the increase in COE bid prices. LTA has been monitoring the market closely and over the past year the demand for COEs from PHC companies as well as the overall PHC population have been stable."

Pui !!! Stable my foot!!!   🤬

https://www.mot.gov.sg/news/details/oral-reply-by-senior-minister-of-state-for-transport-dr-amy-khor-to-parliamentary-question-on-coes-for-private-hire-car-companies

If LTA had been monitoring the market closely, the OBU problems would have been solved long ago. :we-all-gonna-die:

You believe what they said ? :wut:

:secret-laugh:

Edited by Maxus-MIFA9

On 5/23/2024 at 9:13 PM, Vratenza said:

Wife give birth why must ask AD huh?🤣

I tink he meant ask Another Doctor if you're not a gynecologist...😁