VWenthusiast 1st Gear May 12 Share May 12 @metalstream bro i think too optimistic le.. in Q4'23 its 8244 deregistrations and COE still so high ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VWenthusiast 1st Gear May 12 Share May 12 @metalstream plus some of these additional quotas already brought forward coz of the "cut and fill" approach i think 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fellows 4th Gear May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/12/2024 at 10:12 AM, metalstream said: General Elections on the way in 2024 and news also reported sky high deregistration in Q1 2024. Subtle hint of higher COE quota coming up. Can look forward to $3,002 COE just like when it first started in May 1990. 😁 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/car-deregistrations-in-q1-2024-highest-in-nearly-three-years You must be just waking up from dream land. $3002 🤣🤣🤣 If manage to maintain CAT A at around $40K to $60K, CAT B at around $60K to $80K range in today market and buying power very good liao. Unlikely to go down back to 2014-2016 era kind of price, aka before Covid-19 price range as the market dynamic has change post Covid-19. Maybe during sensitive period, buy people's hearts and minds with the give chicken wings, take buy whole chicken tactics to be use once again to somehow drop the price, who knows. Edited May 12 by Fellows 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 11:21 AM, metalstream said: Obviously current supply is unable to meet demand, when half the bids are from commercial entities like private hire and car rentals. Even a three year old knows that. Situation is worse now as these 50% of bids are essentially taxis, and they travel much more than private cars. Notice nothing is done on this? Obviously a cash cow reaping the rewards in petrol excise duty. Last time taxis run on diesel. Now the new age taxis run on petrol. LTA announces removal of Taxi's from COE bidding process Dated : 28 Jul 2012 https://www.sgcarmart.com/articles/news/lta-announces-removal-of-taxis-from-coe-bidding-process-8397 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/12/2024 at 12:27 PM, metalstream said: Because if everyone think like you, that $40K to $80K is reasonable range, then GG. COE will remain at this range. 🥲 It will only change if they add more taxes to ICE cars to encourage a shift to EV and car lite else increase scrap value of cat A to 20k and cat B to 30k to increase the speed of renewal Edited May 12 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/10/2024 at 9:31 PM, Vratenza said: That's one of the modern car industry mystery that I can never understand.... Previously, metallic/mica range of colours might have additional surcharge if you buy the car from AD. Cos these are premium paints. Elon musk kiam kanna theory. But then jap pearl white cost more than the basic colors. Not all whites are the same. 😁 Edited May 12 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 12:27 PM, metalstream said: Because if everyone think like you, that $40K to $80K is reasonable range, then GG. COE will remain at this range. 🥲 It’s a bidding system with IC so either suck it up and pay or give up. As much as I dislike the high amount. The fact is someone else is richer than you. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
thebestbees 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 @Sdf4786k government decided to add $700 per EV for road tax as additional flat component because of loss of petrol tax instead 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
thebestbees 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 @Mkl22 I wonder how the coe prices will be like if they allow car buyers to bid directly 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 1:09 PM, thebestbees said: @Mkl22 I wonder how the coe prices will be like if they allow car buyers to bid directly Since day 1 it was allowed 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 1:09 PM, thebestbees said: @Mkl22 I wonder how the coe prices will be like if they allow car buyers to bid directly Rather, what COE price would be if SingPass bidding only 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 1:25 PM, Mkl22 said: Since day 1 it was allowed Obviously he meant to say allow ONLY buyers to bid for their own COE 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged May 12 Share May 12 Actually I see no diff. You signed the papers for coe bidding and agree to the price. Self bidding just shifts the process. Doesn’t mean the price will be cheaper. Pay as you bid will probably bring prices down. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/12/2024 at 1:09 PM, thebestbees said: @Mkl22 I wonder how the coe prices will be like if they allow car buyers to bid directly Only allow buyers to bid for their own COE and must pay cash, no loan 😁 , COE gurantee and chop sure drop Edited May 12 by Ct3833 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/12/2024 at 1:46 PM, Mkl22 said: Actually I see no diff. You signed the papers for coe bidding and agree to the price. Self bidding just shifts the process. Doesn’t mean the price will be cheaper. Pay as you bid will probably bring prices down. Difference is one just have to sign off paper, the other one is to bid for own COE, must have 10k in the bank account when bidding, and the buyer press off the money he intends to pay, he will feel very painful when deciding the amount to bid for . If LTA allows only buyers to bid for COE and price still high , then we only have ourselves to be blamed Edited May 12 by Ct3833 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 1:46 PM, Ct3833 said: Only allow buyers to bid for their own COE and must pay cash, no loan 😁 , COE gurantee and chop sure drop Might work, till some wise ass some how manages to come up with a way to give loan. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2024 at 10:12 AM, metalstream said: General Elections on the way in 2024 and news also reported sky high deregistration in Q1 2024. Subtle hint of higher COE quota coming up. Can look forward to $3,002 COE just like when it first started in May 1990. 😁 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/car-deregistrations-in-q1-2024-highest-in-nearly-three-years Though 3002 COE will not be here soon but read your post also sibei shiok 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VWenthusiast 1st Gear May 12 Share May 12 @metalstream Why would they incur the wrath when its on a willing buyer willing seller basis - people are willing to pay the current COE prices... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...