Mockngbrd Supersonic April 8 Share April 8 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/former-imda-chairman-to-be-new-sph-media-ceo-from-july-15 APR 08, 2024, 05:45 PM SINGAPORE – SPH Media, which publishes titles including The Straits Times and Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao, will have a new chief executive from July 15. Mr Chan Yeng Kit, who is permanent secretary for health and the former chairman of the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA), will take over from Ms Teo Lay Lim, who is retiring. In the media group’s announcement on April 8, it said Mr Chan, 59, brings a wealth of experience to his new role from his extensive career in the public sector, the labour movement and the private sector. SPH Media chairman Khaw Boon Wan said: “Yeng Kit is committed to our mission to help inform and unite our people via quality journalism. Against the competitive pressure from social media, he will support the newsrooms to tap digital platforms to reach new audiences and build a sustainable commercial model. “We are grateful to Lay Lim for kick-starting our organisation’s digital transformation. Yeng Kit will build upon the foundations that she has built.” Mr Chan was appointed to SPH Media’s board in March. That month, he stepped down from IMDA’s board after having served on it for nine years. As permanent secretary for health, a role he took on in 2019, he headed the Government’s efforts to develop Covid-19 safe management measures. He was the permanent secretary for defence from 2013 to 2019. The Public Service Division said in a separate statement that Mr Chan, who will be seconded to SPH Media, will be succeeded as permanent secretary for health by Ms Lai Wei Lin, who will relinquish her appointments as permanent secretary for transport development and second permanent secretary for finance on July 1. Mr Chan has also held a range of appointments in the labour movement and private sector. These include management positions in the Public Service Division, National Trades Union Congress and the Suzhou Industrial Township Development. An SPH Media spokesperson said: “Mr Chan Yeng Kit’s wealth of experience and expertise will further benefit the organisation as it navigates the opportunities and challenges of the evolving media landscape.” Ms Teo, 60, is leaving SPH Media after more than two years as its CEO. She took over from interim CEO Patrick Daniel on March 1, 2022. In its announcement, SPH Media said that under Ms Teo’s leadership, the media group made steady progress in areas such as digital integration, customer experience and talent development. During her tenure, it refreshed its digital platforms and mobile applications to adapt to how different audiences consume content, it added. For instance, new features were introduced on SPH Media’s news apps, and the first-ever Tamil Murasu app was launched. A shared video and audio production facility for its newsrooms, Studio+65, was also set up to strengthen the group’s digital media offerings. The SPH Media statement added that Ms Teo’s efforts led to greater data integration and analytics, which provide newsrooms with better visibility on how readers are responding to stories and support decision-making. “Ms Teo has advocated for a culture of putting audiences and subscribers at the centre of what SPH Media does,” said the spokesperson. “This has led to an expansion of options through which our audiences are able to access, consume and experience our content, especially the various digital channels.” Responding to queries from ST, the spokesperson said the controversy over the inflation of circulation numbers uncovered by a March 2022 internal review was not a factor in the leadership change. Among the findings from the review was an overstatement of an average of 49,000 daily copies, or 5 per cent of the total circulation then, of news titles, including ST. Several senior employees left the company in December 2022 following the audit. SPH Media said the leadership change comes as the group requires a different set of experiences and skills for its next stage of transformation, now that its digital foundations are in place to deliver quality storytelling and be the trusted source of news. The spokesperson said Mr Chan has led organisations through challenges posed by digital disruption and behavioural shifts, and is well placed to lead SPH Media “to optimise the outcomes and ensure sustainable growth”. SPH Media was spun off from Singapore Press Holdings in December 2021 as part of a strategic review to enable the media business to focus on quality journalism and invest in strengthening its digital capabilities. Following that, the authorities said in February 2022 that the media group would get government funding of up to $180 million annually over five years to invest in technology and newsroom capabilities, including for the vernacular newsrooms. With public funding, it would be required to provide half-yearly progress updates on how it is meeting key performance indicators, such as reach and engagement of its products. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator April 9 Share April 9 Actually, the way they do paywall is abit restrictive. they should focus on sign ups as their KPI. Do it as a freemium type of business model. Once the retention rate is locked, then see how to maximise their reach/monetisation. no point keep asking me to pay. hahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 9 Share April 9 The title should be MoH Permanent Secretary to be SPH CEO 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 10:14 AM, inlinesix said: The title should be MoH Permanent Secretary to be SPH CEO Media to media more appropriately put mah...scared peeps talk...but...ccb pxp...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 9 Share April 9 (edited) On 4/9/2024 at 10:22 AM, mersaylee said: Media to media more appropriately put mah...scared peeps talk...but...ccb pxp...😁 No sure why need to refer to a job he hold in 2005. Look at his career track. This is so call ELITE. Edited April 9 by inlinesix 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 9:39 AM, kobayashiGT said: Actually, the way they do paywall is abit restrictive. they should focus on sign ups as their KPI. Do it as a freemium type of business model. Once the retention rate is locked, then see how to maximise their reach/monetisation. no point keep asking me to pay. hahaha you happy you pay, not happy dun pay, with 180mil a year secured they won't care whether you read their good news or not even if you pay, they won't say thank you for contributing to their bonus lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 11:15 AM, Ahwhye said: you happy you pay, not happy dun pay, with 180mil a year secured they won't care whether you read their good news or not even if you pay, they won't say thank you for contributing to their bonus lah... uh, 180m also got kpi to meet. if spend 180m and no one reads your propaganda then why spend 180m? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9 Share April 9 Btw, where's the umbrage fella nowadays ah? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 11:23 AM, ToyotaShuttle said: uh, 180m also got kpi to meet. if spend 180m and no one reads your propaganda then why spend 180m? they have their die-die-must-subscribe group of supporters and organizations lah, if you are bothered by need to pay for their propaganda, you aren't their target reader lah... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged April 9 Share April 9 me always advocating younger kids to study hard and join the whites 🤑🤑🤑 consperm kung hei fatt choy to the last breath 🤤🤤🤤 huat ah 🤩🤩🤩 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 11:54 AM, Inlinefour said: me always advocating younger kids to study hard and join the whites 🤑🤑🤑 consperm kung hei fatt choy to the last breath 🤤🤤🤤 huat ah 🤩🤩🤩 Join civil service more huat la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 12:39 PM, inlinesix said: Join civil service more huat la. without white access no ticket to multibillion dream 🤑🤑🤑 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 9 Share April 9 On 4/9/2024 at 11:35 AM, Soya said: Btw, where's the umbrage fella nowadays ah? Leave moi alone...oredi of that shix😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 11 Share April 11 On 4/9/2024 at 6:46 PM, mersaylee said: Leave moi alone...oredi of that shix😁 Lol....u taking umbrage at Mr.umbrage doing the umbrage? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 11 Share April 11 Actually I cannot understand, also not in that league to know lah. If a person is so capable and help an organisation doing so well, why we transfer him to another organisation to try out if he will do well for the new company while hoping the new chap talking over will do even better than him? This rotation chairs didn't seems to sound right to me. The ocean only have a few whales out there har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 11 Share April 11 On 4/11/2024 at 4:34 PM, Victor68 said: Actually I cannot understand, also not in that league to know lah. If a person is so capable and help an organisation doing so well, why we transfer him to another organisation to try out if he will do well for the new company while hoping the new chap talking over will do even better than him? This rotation chairs didn't seems to sound right to me. The ocean only have a few whales out there har? you did not get the memo arh? Our master say we are a talentless bunch....of course need to let the selected few play musical chairs. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 11 Share April 11 On 4/11/2024 at 4:34 PM, Victor68 said: Actually I cannot understand, also not in that league to know lah. If a person is so capable and help an organisation doing so well, why we transfer him to another organisation to try out if he will do well for the new company while hoping the new chap talking over will do even better than him? This rotation chairs didn't seems to sound right to me. The ocean only have a few whales out there har? This has always been PAP way mah. Shift here shift there, try this try that. They want their 'talents' to know a bit of everything. Whether it works, only time can judge. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...