Future of Driving

by then, I can see insurance companies will charge an arm and a leg premium to human drivers 

because the risk is much higher

alternatively, you can load your 1989 Honda CR-X SiR on an autonomous flat flatbed truck from home to dempsy hill for car meets

171006105243-gm-surus-1-340xa.jpg

I can see the implementations in stages

first, only autonomous vehicles can go expressways, human driven vehicles will be banned on expressways

On 4/2/2024 at 3:09 PM, Gnahp said:

by then, I can see insurance companies will charge an arm and a leg premium to human drivers 

because the risk is much higher

alternatively, you can load your 1989 Honda CR-X SiR on an autonomous flat flatbed truck from home to dempsy hill for car meets

171006105243-gm-surus-1-340xa.jpg

I can see the implementations in stages

first, only autonomous vehicles can go expressways, human driven vehicles will be banned on expressways

Actually not really  the case.

If mix mix. Some cars are auto. Some are manual drive. Accident rate might be higher.

But imagine if 100% auto drive. Confirm plus chop Accident rate will hit rock btm.

Cos AI won't do any dangerous driving or flout traffic law etc etc.

I imagined last time if I want to meet a friend in AMK for kopi, I just ride my horse there

now if I want to show off my horse to my friend in AMK, I can only do this

header-iforwilliams.jpg

in the near future where there is no place for self driving vehicles, our non autonomous vehicles will end up like the horses

On 4/2/2024 at 2:43 PM, Butakim said:

@inlinesix What is adaptive cruise control? What car have this feature?

Many modern car.

On 4/2/2024 at 10:40 AM, Spidey10 said:

But train just 1 track lane....

cars will need to stop go at traffic and face with other cars leh on th roads, not to mention pedestrians... :grin:

i see big difference between train and cars...

Maybe next time when cars become AI, there might have a designated path for cars to travel?! 

On 4/2/2024 at 10:43 AM, Tohto said:

Mai la...

Driving is fun and de-stress for me. 

Driving is fun and de-stress also must depends what time you drive la. If drive during the peak hours when super heavy traffic or even jam traffic, i don’t find it fun and de-stress lo. 😅

On 4/2/2024 at 6:56 PM, 13177 said:

Driving is fun and de-stress also must depends what time you drive la. If drive during the peak hours when super heavy traffic or even jam traffic, i don’t find it fun and de-stress lo. 😅

Just enjoy the slow drive, will not get headache. 

My last week road trip in China, I can only be the passenger.  See my China friend driving the car, my hand was so itchy. Cannot drive there.

The nice highway drive, the beautiful countryside road. So sad for me.

Edited by Tohto

On 4/2/2024 at 8:10 PM, Tohto said:

My last week road trip in China, I can only be the passenger.  See my China friend driving the car, my hand was so itchy. Cannot drive there.

I get headache from driving slowly.

That's including in a pickup truck

On 4/2/2024 at 7:10 PM, Tohto said:

Why cannot drive there?

On 4/2/2024 at 8:40 PM, 13177 said:

Why cannot drive there?

International driving licence cannot be use in China. To get approved to drive there is a very complicated process.

Edited by Tohto

On 4/2/2024 at 6:56 PM, 13177 said:

Yah man, peak hour driving is vomit blood, unless stop go stop go is consider fun, which to me is one main cause of hypertension. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 4/2/2024 at 7:10 PM, Tohto said:

You are the first, and very likely the only one I ever know who enjoy a slow drive in a super heavy peak hour traffic or a traffic jam. 

Yah cfm no headache, because vomit blood liao mah, pressure released. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/2/2024 at 8:51 PM, Tohto said:

International driving licence cannot be use in China. To get approved to drive there is a very complicated process.

They mostly close one eye (unless you anyhow lah). I've driven in China before.

On 4/2/2024 at 9:09 PM, Benarsenal said:

They mostly close one eye (unless you anyhow lah). I've driven in China before.

Don't want to get any risk.

On 4/2/2024 at 9:51 PM, Tohto said:

You can get 3 mths temporary license upon entry via PEK Airport.

On 4/2/2024 at 9:15 PM, inlinesix said:

You can get 3 mths temporary license upon entry via PEK Airport.

How about Shanghai?

On 4/2/2024 at 10:37 PM, Tohto said:

How about Shanghai?

Only PEK Airport is available.

On 4/2/2024 at 9:37 PM, Tohto said:

How about Shanghai?

Land in Beijing and take a slow fun and destress drive to Shanghai lah, about 1200km, drive slow slow maybe 20 hrs only, sure you will enjoy.[laugh][laugh][laugh]