Xiaomi EV is Coming

Carbon82

On 4/7/2024 at 12:04 PM, JohnathanNg said:

i really hope this can import into SG, but i think will be very expensive.

Buy from TB

On 4/1/2024 at 3:14 PM, Playtime said:

no matter how...... a car is not a use and throw item like a phone.

many formerly very "hot" china EV and car makers also went bust liao.

without at least 4 or 5 years track record, perhaps a little caution is better.... unless is spare cash, then no problem.

Personally I won't buy a new launch car, especially from a new entry player. This one I will consider after a year or so from launch date, where many teething issues sld have been rectified. 

Lei Jun was one of the few early investors in Xpeng, as early as 2014, so he probably already had the idea of building an EV in mind.  He also mentioned that Xpeng had a lot of inputs in the creation of the SU7, which is one of the reasons Xiaomi could build the car in just 3 years, probably the fastest in the industry.

Lei Jun mentioned a 5 years plan, which he is prepared to lost money to become a leading player, so maybe can assume Xiaomi car won't discontinue at least in 5 years. 

There are also some major differences between Xiaomi and those that went bust. One, the SU7 sold more than any car launches in the first year, in fact base on reported numbers, the sales in it's first year is more than a 3 years combined numbers of many of the other brands when they first started. Two, while many EV brands started with funding, Xiaomi EV is self funded, and supported by the sales of other Xiaomi products.

The main obstacles are can you accept the Xiaomi branding, and the copy cat finger pointing? And of course the good old Chinese and lndian FACE issue. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/7/2024 at 12:21 PM, inlinesix said:

Buy from TB

But right now only comes in left hand drive leh, and who going to do all the clearance? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/7/2024 at 1:39 PM, Tianmo said:

Personally I won't buy a new launch car, especially from a new entry player. This one I will consider after a year or so from launch date, where many teething issues sld have been rectified. 

Lei Jun was one of the few early investors in Xpeng, as early as 2014, so he probably already had the idea of building an EV in mind.  He also mentioned that Xpeng had a lot of inputs in the creation of the SU7, which is one of the reasons Xiaomi could build the car in just 3 years, probably the fastest in the industry.

Lei Jun mentioned a 5 years plan, which he is prepared to lost money to become a leading player, so maybe can assume Xiaomi car won't discontinue at least in 5 years. 

There are also some major differences between Xiaomi and those that went bust. One, the SU7 sold more than any car launches in the first year, in fact base on reported numbers, the sales in it's first year is more than a 3 years combined numbers of many of the other brands when they first started. Two, while many EV brands started with funding, Xiaomi EV is self funded, and supported by the sales of other Xiaomi products.

The main obstacles are can you accept the Xiaomi branding, and the copy cat finger pointing? And of course the good old Chinese and lndian FACE issue. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

yup a minimum cautionary 1 year "probabtion" on singapore roads will be essential before thinking of buy.

not just to see safety, performance and user experience, but also if anyone start put it in 2nd hand market... and how much depreciate. Cos i suspect new car probably be double the BYD selling price? thats a HUGE sum ... at least to me.... if resale crashes for any reason..

also read about "booked" sales of 80000 units already, not sure real or not, allegedly, this kind of claim happened to other brands b4, only for eventual delivery numbers to massively under perform.

personally... id expect a complicated new car production line to go IOC first, then slowly ramp up the numbers over a few years. but i could be all wrong 😬

On 4/8/2024 at 4:31 PM, Playtime said:

yup a minimum cautionary 1 year "probabtion" on singapore roads will be essential before thinking of buy.

not just to see safety, performance and user experience, but also if anyone start put it in 2nd hand market... and how much depreciate. Cos i suspect new car probably be double the BYD selling price? thats a HUGE sum ... at least to me.... if resale crashes for any reason..

also read about "booked" sales of 80000 units already, not sure real or not, allegedly, this kind of claim happened to other brands b4, only for eventual delivery numbers to massively under perform.

personally... id expect a complicated new car production line to go IOC first, then slowly ramp up the numbers over a few years. but i could be all wrong 😬

Last I read already cross the 100k order mark, how true will have to wait and see. But even if only half delivered is also very impressive liao 

Although it was supposed to be priced higher, but forced to match competition because of the price war in china, I personally don't think it will be price double of the BYD here. Maybe 10% higher, but won't be double, the Xiaomi branding is not worth $300k yet. 

The BYD seal is selling at about $200k including COE, so if you say double the selling price, I assume you meant $400k? But we have the COE factor, so if you remove the $100k COE, the car price at $300k over the $100k of the BYD? Not going to happen. At $400k that's very close to the cheapest Taycan, who wants a Xiaomi?

I think competitive pricing will be about 10-15% over the BYD seal excluding COE, so maybe about $210k-$220k there about at $100k COE. That also depends on how bad is the price war down the road.

I mentioned before, buy EV forget about the resale value, you must ask yourself are you prepared to scarp the car in as early as 2-3 years, if not don't buy, because new ones will be cheaper and better, and nobody will want a used EV.

If still thinking of depreciation and resale value, don't touch a full EV, go hybrid. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/8/2024 at 4:45 PM, Volvobrick said:

Of all names why chose 输去? Other much better names like Ni8. 

Actually hor, SU is not 输, SU sld be  速, as in 急速, 速度, 快速 . The 拼音 for 输 is Shu. 

So SU7 should be 速7, which could be the short for 急速七号,roughly translate to speedy 7.

And 7 is a special number in Chinese, 一周七天、北斗七星, 人有七情, 色有七彩, 乐有七音, 诗有七言、七绝、七律诗. 

And Chinese believe that, 三生万物,逢七必变, so maybe SU is for speed and 7 is for changes? So SU7 is to change the automotive industry with speed? Or saying that the car is so fast and it will change the whole industry? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/8/2024 at 6:06 PM, Tianmo said:

Actually hor, SU is not 输, SU sld be  速, as in 急速, 速度, 快速 . The 拼音 for 输 is Shu. 

So SU7 should be 速7, which could be the short for 急速七号,roughly translate to speedy 7.

And 7 is a special number in Chinese, 一周七天、北斗七星, 人有七情, 色有七彩, 乐有七音, 诗有七言、七绝、七律诗. 

And Chinese believe that, 三生万物,逢七必变, so maybe SU is for speed and 7 is for changes? So SU7 is to change the automotive industry with speed? Or saying that the car is so fast and it will change the whole industry? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

wow u got墨水

一生二

二生三

三生万物

On 4/8/2024 at 9:54 PM, Beregond said:

wow u got墨水

一生二

二生三

三生万物

wah ... so cheeam ...

i only know SEX is ZERO, ZERO is SEX ....

On 4/8/2024 at 9:54 PM, Beregond said:

wow u got墨水

一生二

二生三

三生万物

Not I say one, 老子 say one. [:p]

And I sometimes think I belong to the 是不是 Chinese helicopter gang also. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/8/2024 at 5:41 PM, Tianmo said:

Last I read already cross the 100k order mark, how true will have to wait and see. But even if only half delivered is also very impressive liao 

Although it was supposed to be priced higher, but forced to match competition because of the price war in china, I personally don't think it will be price double of the BYD here. Maybe 10% higher, but won't be double, the Xiaomi branding is not worth $300k yet. 

The BYD seal is selling at about $200k including COE, so if you say double the selling price, I assume you meant $400k? But we have the COE factor, so if you remove the $100k COE, the car price at $300k over the $100k of the BYD? Not going to happen. At $400k that's very close to the cheapest Taycan, who wants a Xiaomi?

I think competitive pricing will be about 10-15% over the BYD seal excluding COE, so maybe about $210k-$220k there about at $100k COE. That also depends on how bad is the price war down the road.

I mentioned before, buy EV forget about the resale value, you must ask yourself are you prepared to scarp the car in as early as 2-3 years, if not don't buy, because new ones will be cheaper and better, and nobody will want a used EV.

If still thinking of depreciation and resale value, don't touch a full EV, go hybrid. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Hybrid is twice the complexity of an ice vehicle 

On 4/10/2024 at 4:41 PM, Sdf4786k said:

Hybrid is twice the complexity of an ice vehicle 

Confirm plus chop.😅

Wonder what is the ARF value for this when it comes to local market. 🤔

On 4/12/2024 at 10:38 AM, Atachi said:

$0😂

Edited by inlinesix

On 4/12/2024 at 10:38 AM, Atachi said:

If you are refering to scrap value, which is the amount you get back after 10 years.

Most of the cheaper EVs (BYD) will have around $0 to <5k scrap value because of high govt rebates which are subtracted off ARF payable.

so it looks cheap, but kosong value