Lala81 Hypersonic January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 10:08 AM, teomingern said: Yeah I know right... but it's more the mileage per day... try not to spend too many hours on the road except for the days where I change bases... but yeah... shiok... Autobahn is lovely to drive... I was at 180 kmh and like woah... super fast... then another Mercedes streamed past probably at 250 kmh... crazy... 180 cannot drive on the left... wah ha ha ha... As Top Gear once put it, Speed is good until you come to a stop. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 9 Share January 9 (edited) On 1/9/2025 at 8:52 AM, teomingern said: I have a feeling that it's got to do with the duration of rental... I see you put in something like 7-8 days... I put in 29 days... I think the limited miles might be to prevent PHV drivers from renting and killing the car... ok ... i did a test ... MAX is 27 days rental with unlimited mileage package available >27 days ... the unlimited mileage option is taken off ... i will never exceed >20 days for road trip ... i will go crazy ... Edited January 9 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 10:30 AM, Tohto said: What is the mileage average they give per day? Do you think you will overshoot the mileage? You can't be driving extended long distances every day right? Only 125 km a day... that's nuts... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 10:58 AM, Wt_know said: ok ... i did a test ... MAX is 27 days rental with unlimited mileage package available >27 days ... the unlimited mileage option is taken off ... i will never exceed >20 days for road trip ... i will go crazy ... Woah thanks bro for confirming! I think I can work with 27 days... cos the first few days in Munich I may not drive... visit the Old Town and maybe take train... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 11:31 AM, teomingern said: Only 125 km a day... that's nuts... What is the mileage given to you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 9:58 AM, Wt_know said: MTL !!! me ... 3 years away ... hehehe...plan plan plan....when the time is close...then we plan together ah....go for a long drive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 11:32 AM, teomingern said: Woah thanks bro for confirming! I think I can work with 27 days... cos the first few days in Munich I may not drive... visit the Old Town and maybe take train... maybe certain days if u are in that city, and visit certain places within the city dun need to drive, take public transport.... like me when i was in Barcelona, and visiting the historical places...i just took the train. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 10:09 AM, teomingern said: Planning is the fun right? Ha ha... and I refuse to use ChatGPT... is part and parcel of the whole trip... goggle map is also my close fren when i am doing my planning.....hehhehe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 9 Share January 9 (edited) On 1/9/2025 at 12:21 PM, Spidey10 said: is part and parcel of the whole trip... goggle map is also my close fren when i am doing my planning.....hehhehe i start using ChatGPT liao ... put in all the prompts until like i want to eat what ... see what ... what is free what is paid where to shop ... where is the nearest coffee chop .. .etc ChatGPT comes up with a list and table for me ... huat ah! but ChatGPT recommendation is very ang moh likes ... after that must ownself tweak ... finnese to asian likes ... xiaohongshu is the answer ... LOL Edited January 9 by Wt_know 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 10:08 AM, teomingern said: Yeah I know right... but it's more the mileage per day... try not to spend too many hours on the road except for the days where I change bases... but yeah... shiok... Autobahn is lovely to drive... I was at 180 kmh and like woah... super fast... then another Mercedes streamed past probably at 250 kmh... crazy... 180 cannot drive on the left... wah ha ha ha... I will not recommend constantly driving at this speed especially car fully loaded with family. After a test/feel of the speed, it will be better to keep at around 130 - 150km/h, which most car are doing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 12:05 PM, Tohto said: What is the mileage given to you? 3625 km for 29 days... a bit crazy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 2:30 PM, Tohto said: I will not recommend constantly driving at this speed especially car fully loaded with family. After a test/feel of the speed, it will be better to keep at around 130 - 150km/h, which most car are doing. Yeah definitely 150 kmh is super fast already... 170-180 kmh was very short spurts to experience what it's like... a bit scary at those speeds... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 12:19 PM, Spidey10 said: maybe certain days if u are in that city, and visit certain places within the city dun need to drive, take public transport.... like me when i was in Barcelona, and visiting the historical places...i just took the train. Break up the rental is very troublesome cos must return then collect again... waste time... either I front load the rental and last 2-3 days don't use or first 1-3 days don't use and rear load the rental... intend to drive to airport to drop off... more convenient... cos likely will have more luggage when we return than when we first fly in... wah ha ha... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 5:40 PM, teomingern said: Yeah definitely 150 kmh is super fast already... 170-180 kmh was very short spurts to experience what it's like... a bit scary at those speeds... At Autobann and with German car, normally 130 to 150km/h can't really feel the speed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 9:08 AM, teomingern said: That's the plan... I cannot execute this year... plan is Germany in June 2026 earliest... round trip, with side trips to the surrounding countries, except Denmark cos it's just too far from any of the German towns... Preliminary plan is fly in to Munich, fly out from Frankfurt... drive from Munich to Dresden to Berlin to Hamburg/Bremen to Cologne to Frankfurt... hope to visit Salzburg & St Gallen from Munich, Prague from Dresden, Szcezin from Berlin, Liege & Eindhoven from Cologne, Colmar from Stuttgart as day trips... possibly Luxembourg from whichever place is closest... Rough plan lar... still planning... pretty hard going... got to read a lot... and check Google Maps repeatedly to find out the distance to travel and if possible... that's why I need unlimited mileage... wah ha ha... I took quite a few drive trips post Covid. Germany big roads are nice but they don’t allow you to stop when there is nice scenery esp if u use google maps. My Austria road trip last month was really great. The roads has plenty of places to stop and shoot. I think I got my best photos post Covid this trip. We flew Munich too. Munich is very good starting ending point as you can go a lot of places. I am planning Munich again for winter 2025, probably going Poland and Czech. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 6:29 PM, Tohto said: At Autobann and with German car, normally 130 to 150km/h can't really feel the speed. Yeah I know right? I have driven there once... above 150 kmh you have very very little time to make decisions... I was going at 170-180 kmh during my honeymoon in a Seat Ibiza... the car was fabulously stable even at those speeds but you have very little room for error... really need to concentrate even on highway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 9 Share January 9 On 1/9/2025 at 10:40 PM, Wind30 said: I took quite a few drive trips post Covid. Germany big roads are nice but they don’t allow you to stop when there is nice scenery esp if u use google maps. My Austria road trip last month was really great. The roads has plenty of places to stop and shoot. I think I got my best photos post Covid this trip. We flew Munich too. Munich is very good starting ending point as you can go a lot of places. I am planning Munich again for winter 2025, probably going Poland and Czech. Yeah I will probably take a few small country road drives... maybe the Black Forest road or something like that... there are quite a few such themed drives... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 10 Share January 10 On 1/10/2025 at 7:38 AM, teomingern said: Yeah I know right? I have driven there once... above 150 kmh you have very very little time to make decisions... I was going at 170-180 kmh during my honeymoon in a Seat Ibiza... the car was fabulously stable even at those speeds but you have very little room for error... really need to concentrate even on highway... I felt going lower spend like 100km to 110km/h more tiring, at higher speed around 130km to 150km/h is more focus. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...