UCARS runs into debts. TopGear Singapore title/magazine will be given up.

Mockngbrd

To be frank I’m wondering 10-20 years down the road what’s going to happen here..

everyday price up and out. Hardcopy all don’t justify costs. All becomes media content, social media. All boomers how?.. no magazines no newspaper to use… 

I occasionally flip thru Top Gear (SG) and CarBuyer SG mags in public library.

Firstly their content is meh only

2ndly they got no ads... confirm is lose money one

On 3/18/2024 at 8:54 AM, Zxcvb said:

SGCM office must be having a party today. 

SGCM staffs probably asking for pay raise now. 

On 3/18/2024 at 10:03 AM, Watwheels said:

Ever since auto reviews on YT channels grew and grew there's no need to buy magazines and read.

I think it's the same for a lot of other things. For those who are still into reading can find the magazines in community libraries but buying them I think not many.

Can't find those local hardcopy car mag at the library. How to support?😁

I remember when I was a young man- I used to spend precious money to buy local "Motoring" magazine.

Then I stumbled upon HK car magazine 车主 the quality of their articles and their photos, in comparison our mag is like kindergarten standard

Now I can watch car videos from all over the world, all the magazines all really pale.

Only one that still try to be different is Top Gear UK magazine which try to do very special articles in unique settings.

On 3/18/2024 at 12:46 PM, Soya said:

Neber heard of ucars till now

Maybe that's why pokai....

UTurnCars is more apt now😂

On 3/18/2024 at 11:58 AM, Benarsenal said:

I still like reading. It engages your brain and imagination.

reading dragon tiger leopard is the best brain stimulation 🙊🙉🙈 plus wild imagination 😁😁😁

i still buy magazines every now and then (football, NBA, cars, finance, astronomy, home decor, etc)

mostly from Malaysia's Popular as they still carry some nice magazines, and prices quite ok (~RM30)

still prefer paper than online browsing  😁

Singapore's Popular nowadays dun sell magazines anymore

On 3/18/2024 at 12:35 PM, Kopites said:

Can't find those local hardcopy car mag at the library. How to support?😁

No more already. All died.

On 3/18/2024 at 1:07 PM, Scion said:

i still buy magazines every now and then (football, NBA, cars, finance, astronomy, home decor, etc)

mostly from Malaysia's Popular as they still carry some nice magazines, and prices quite ok (~RM30)

still prefer paper than online browsing  😁

Singapore's Popular nowadays dun sell magazines anymore

The Popular Bookstore? I think they also ran into financial difficulty, sold everything to an investment firm.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/popular-bookstore-chain-acquisition-hong-kong-investment-firm-zq-capital-3896841

Books and magazines are dying the slow death. Japanese bookstore kinokuniya, left one store. MPH? Closed.

On 3/18/2024 at 11:29 AM, Zxcvb said:

Anyone know what happened to Hotstuff magazine?? I used to read that everytime. Not forgetting FHM and Maxim too. 🤤

You can get much more on the internet [laugh], my fren tells me.

This reminds me of how the magazine "cosmopolitan" was banned in Singapore for the longest time, due to its liberal content. 

On 3/18/2024 at 11:55 AM, Mrmilktooth said:

To be frank I’m wondering 10-20 years down the road what’s going to happen here..

everyday price up and out. Hardcopy all don’t justify costs. All becomes media content, social media. All boomers how?.. no magazines no newspaper to use… 

boomer go heaven liao

On 3/18/2024 at 1:09 PM, Benarsenal said:

No more already. All died.

Yup. Carbuyer was the last one. 

Edited by Mockngbrd
  • Sad 1

why newspapers still never die

Because

Charbo still need it for Loti wrapping before disposal

Ah Pek still reading Juicy stories from MaPiuPoh plus see 4D

too bad those health joints advert all banned by AV unless non individual shower one 🙈🙉🙊

BTW I still use newspapers for table shielding to makan my tapao 

On 3/18/2024 at 11:58 AM, Benarsenal said:

I still like reading. It engages your brain and imagination.

Same here. I still borrow book from library and read a bit before sleep , very boomer characteristics [laugh]

Less straining on the eyes than electronic screen and no blue light to disturb sleep later on.

On 3/18/2024 at 6:32 PM, Sosaria said:

Same here. I still borrow book from library and read a bit before sleep , very boomer characteristics [laugh]

Less straining on the eyes than electronic screen and no blue light to disturb sleep later on.

iPad can change to yellow backlight