Mkl22 Supersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 2:07 PM, Lala81 said: Guess the struggle is dollars vs trying something new. Esp if have 2 cars. but no courage to try conti 7-8 year old car before maybe going hybrid in 2027/2028. Mechanically my car only has minor faults like some of the window buttons take a while to respond (likely poor contact point), wing mirror motor 1 of them bit wonky and screeching brakes which i will need to replace the brake rotors (brake pads changed already). Dont have high mileage so even if petrol duty goes up, wont make much difference. Elantra is low mileage so almost certainly it makes sense to renew in 2018 regardless. The problems you mentioned are cheap fixes. A 7-8yr conti will bleed you more. screeching brakes are the pads. Get decent pads and they are quiet. Some stock pads can be quite shitty too. with own car coe renewal, you are relatively sure that nothing much will break or needs fixing if mileage is low. If you get a used 7-8yr old, even jap. You can be 99% sure that the bloody mileage will be tampered and need to prepare another 3-4K at least to fix whatever nonsense that can pop up. Unless you pay a premium for full service history but then the asking price will also be high and there is no guarantee. So it all depends if you can tahan to drive the accord for a total of 12-13yrs or just say heck and take whatever comes with a used car till you buy new come 2027. It’s only $$ 🤣 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 12:55 PM, Ct3833 said: Backside itchy mah, w213 looks more rounded. But anyway, dropped the idea lah, went to queen's test driven an e250 but wife confiscated my check book. 🤣 not that i am worried about repair cost or rebuid.no matter how, $35 k coe for 10 years is damn cheap, no one can dispute. I meant the altis gearbox. Go for a rebuild instead of a recon. Some recons are just 2nd hand boxes taken off other cars which is a gamble. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 (edited) On 4/18/2024 at 3:03 PM, Mkl22 said: The problems you mentioned are cheap fixes. A 7-8yr conti will bleed you more. screeching brakes are the pads. Get decent pads and they are quiet. Some stock pads can be quite shitty too. with own car coe renewal, you are relatively sure that nothing much will break or needs fixing if mileage is low. If you get a used 7-8yr old, even jap. You can be 99% sure that the bloody mileage will be tampered and need to prepare another 3-4K at least to fix whatever nonsense that can pop up. Unless you pay a premium for full service history but then the asking price will also be high and there is no guarantee. So it all depends if you can tahan to drive the accord for a total of 12-13yrs or just say heck and take whatever comes with a used car till you buy new come 2027. It’s only $$ 🤣 Pads were changed 2 years ago. Think It's the rotor problem. Edited April 18, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 3:04 PM, Mkl22 said: I meant the altis gearbox. Go for a rebuild instead of a recon. Some recons are just 2nd hand boxes taken off other cars which is a gamble. Ah sorry, i mean rebuild, properly serviced and repaired type Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 11:49 AM, Lala81 said: mainly want to minimise repair cost for an older car that I'm not going to be too sure of the maintenance history etc. 2.5L depre seems about similar to 2.0L then might as well get the 2.5L. I'm 6 feet tall, so i prefer a bigger vehicle. compact car drive feel bit sian. Ok as a once in a while, but drive everyday not that comfortable. SUVs cost more also on resale market. Altis consider compact sedan? Maybe you can consider this. I think elantra is not consider that compact. Unless you are talking about city and vios. To me i always find driving those 2.0L sedan and those 1.6L sedan like not much difference. If i want a bigger car, would go straight to an SUV, would not consider those camry, mazda 6 and accord. Those 1.6L sedan i find is good enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 2:11 PM, BanCoe said: Hybrid battery might be an issue going forward I was told it’s kind expensive Hybrid battery so unreliable? But there are many Hybrid cars in the market now le, like almost any make/model is a Hybrid car. How to avoid not buying Hybrid car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 (edited) On 4/18/2024 at 9:17 PM, 13177 said: Hybrid battery so unreliable? But there are many Hybrid cars in the market now le, like almost any make/model is a Hybrid car. How to avoid not buying Hybrid car. Most hybrid battery can last 8-10 years Edited April 18, 2024 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 9:17 PM, 13177 said: Hybrid battery so unreliable? But there are many Hybrid cars in the market now le, like almost any make/model is a Hybrid car. How to avoid not buying Hybrid car. Most hybrid battery can last 8-10 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 9:27 PM, Benarsenal said: Most hybrid battery can last 8-10 years But some can up lorry before 8 years?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 9:48 PM, 13177 said: But some can up lorry before 8 years?! Yeah, mine uplorry 4+years + eletronic power distribution module also uplorry same time.... Toyota/Lexus. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 9:48 PM, 13177 said: But some can up lorry before 8 years?! Rare case. But most are covered under warranty lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 (edited) On 4/18/2024 at 10:39 PM, Benarsenal said: Rare case. But most are covered under warranty lah. You dare buy a 8-9yr or coe hybrid/EV? If yes... Good for you... If no... Means hybrid/EV resale is going to tank... For me.... Once bitten twice shy... Count myself lucky my lesson was not expensive since covered by extended warranty. From 5th year (out of warranty) to 7th year when I sold off my hybrid.... Every morning need to pray (and i am not a religious person) no christmas light on my dash when I press the push start button. Edited April 18, 2024 by Vratenza 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 18, 2024 Share April 18, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 9:17 PM, 13177 said: Hybrid battery so unreliable? But there are many Hybrid cars in the market now le, like almost any make/model is a Hybrid car. How to avoid not buying Hybrid car. Dey…… tokking after 10 years lah ….. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 19, 2024 Share April 19, 2024 On 4/18/2024 at 3:04 PM, Mkl22 said: I meant the altis gearbox. Go for a rebuild instead of a recon. Some recons are just 2nd hand boxes taken off other cars which is a gamble. On 4/18/2024 at 8:03 PM, Ct3833 said: Ah sorry, i mean rebuild, properly serviced and repaired type Yes, go for a properly rebuild unit instead of a recon one. Some are just con you again type...😅 Go to a trusted WS to have it done...majority will outsource the job anyway since not many reliable gearbox specialists...at least the trusted WS can leverage any potential shortfall in quality of a replacement gearbox with their supplier... I've heard enuf stories about those who simply take it off from scrap car, drain the oil, fill with new oil, put on new gaskets...voila...declared as rebuild...a truly rebuild unit is to stripe the entire box by removing every removal part, clean all parts, replace any with brand new if need be, reassemble, fill oil, put it on test for efficiency... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2024 Share April 19, 2024 (edited) On 4/18/2024 at 9:12 PM, 13177 said: Altis consider compact sedan? Maybe you can consider this. I think elantra is not consider that compact. Unless you are talking about city and vios. To me i always find driving those 2.0L sedan and those 1.6L sedan like not much difference. If i want a bigger car, would go straight to an SUV, would not consider those camry, mazda 6 and accord. Those 1.6L sedan i find is good enough. Vios/City cabin space vs altis/elantra is tiny difference given current car design. A civic has more cabin space than a mz6. Camry/accord cabin space is different class compared to mz6. Of course a CRV/Rav4 is also roomy and comfortable as it's more boxy. if u like to sit very upright, u would prefer SUV. If u like to slouch/lean back like me, then i prefer sedans. SUVs i never really feel comfortable in the seat. Edited April 19, 2024 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear April 19, 2024 Share April 19, 2024 On 4/19/2024 at 9:33 AM, Lala81 said: If u like to sit very upright, u would prefer SUV. If u like to slouch/lean back like me, then i prefer sedans. SUVs i never really feel comfortable in the seat. I want suv and slouch/lean back sitting 😁 So far there are only a few SUVs with pretty good slant, angle adjustable back seat. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 19, 2024 Share April 19, 2024 Does it matter since most of us here are drivers 95% of the time. Where got opportunity to sit back and keow kar! 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 19, 2024 Share April 19, 2024 On 4/19/2024 at 9:33 AM, Lala81 said: Vios/City cabin space vs altis/elantra is tiny difference given current car design. A civic has more cabin space than a mz6. Camry/accord cabin space is different class compared to mz6. Of course a CRV/Rav4 is also roomy and comfortable as it's more boxy. if u like to sit very upright, u would prefer SUV. If u like to slouch/lean back like me, then i prefer sedans. SUVs i never really feel comfortable in the seat. After owning sedans, hatch and SUV...I came to the following conclusion about the sitting posture of SUV: - because of the ride height, your bonnet and door window sill is relatively higher from the ground. - that created more "blind space" from the driver's view out of the cabin where he/she needs to harness more of his/her "estimation" power to correctly position the SUV relative to the road. - For sure all the SUVs I have driven or tested, the front driver seat allows for as much adjustment as those of sedans. There fore, you can similarly set your driver seat to slouch/lean back as when you drive a sedan....but by doing that, you will realize that you will have greater difficulty "positioning" your SUV. - And that is the practical and science based reason why when you get into the SUV driver seat, you will automatically adjust your seat to a more upright position as you try to achieve the view out of the cabin that is optimized for safe driving. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...