Living funeral

Tianmo

On 2/17/2024 at 9:29 PM, Lala81 said:

I dont think the lack of traditions is a good thing. It doesn't need to be grand, it still is an anchoring event in the memory of the family. Somethings still need to be done.

Its a closure for a person's life and a family. 

Or else everything becomes 麻木。just liddat lor. Same with a wedding. It doesn't have to be a big wedding. It can be a simple one. But there still needs to be a gathering of people to acknowledge the event. 

When everything becomes a non event, basically nothing in your life has importance. 

We need to acknowledge the importance of social and cultural traditions in our lives. Can trim some stuff out which is is ignorance or too concerned with face. But don't think make it simple for the next generation is a good thing for them. It can actually lead to a loss of identity for them. These stuff do matter subconsciously. 

This i agree. 

as open minded as I am, i think some basic tradition and ceremony need to stay, otherwise the future generations really can loss their  identity. Already the dialect identity is disappearing, I hope the main culture wont disappear following. 

I probably wont do a living funeral, and already told my family to keep everything simple when I go. Simple as in no big drums big trumpet, no need stay too many days, just be as simple as it can get, and send me off quietly. Those need to know inform them, those i have not mentioned before, dont bother. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/17/2024 at 5:48 PM, Atonchia said:

Maybe next generation will be all on social media...一切从简, direct families settle the wake ..... Then cremation...etc each segment recorded. Edit each segment to 10 seconds.

Tik tok videos, Instagram and FB reels. Then everyone put the hugs emoticons, all the RIP and 一路好走。

Think some people will put "Like" thumbs up [laugh]

On 2/17/2024 at 3:38 PM, Tianmo said:

I know is CNY, but the death route is for all,  mai pang tang ok.

So, who will do this, if you know you are going soon?

@RadX, remember to do one, so you get all the good messages, otherwise all you get will be KNN. [:p][laugh][laugh]

https://mothership.sg/2024/02/cancer-patient-hosts-living-funeral/

I don't mind actually. Sounds like a good idea.

Death is inevitable. Why not celebrate your life while you are still around?

On 2/17/2024 at 10:42 PM, Tianmo said:

you dad must have created a big impact on you. [:p][laugh][laugh]

No joke.. This is exactly what changed my view when I get old and useless.  I seriously don't want to burden my children. Even looking forward the day when Singapore legalize euthanasia. I know it will not happen in my life time. I can understand why some old people ended up in Kallang river

• Sad 3

On 2/17/2024 at 10:30 PM, Ender said:

And the pek kim collected while you are still alive, the balance after the cost of funeral can be use for one last chiong session.

KNN, if I need to hold a living funeral, you think I still can get out bed on my own to go for one last cheong session meh?  Only the software (mind) will be cheonging base off memory, the hardware (body) is about to turn all hard and cold liao. 

will ppl give pek kim on a living funeral? I dont know man, more likely you only get well wishes, and pek kim they keep for the actual party. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 2/17/2024 at 11:06 PM, Benarsenal said:

I don't mind actually. Sounds like a good idea.

Death is inevitable. Why not celebrate your life while you are still around?

Every morning when I opened my eyes, I silently celebrated my life with a Yes i woke up.  [:p][laugh][laugh]

Jokes a side, I think is not a bad idea too, but I probably wont be physically strong enough to do it when my time comes. [laugh][laugh][laugh] 

Edited by Tianmo

I dont think the lack of traditions is a good thing. It doesn't need to be grand, it still is an anchoring event in the memory of the family. Somethings still need to be done.

Or else everything becomes 麻木。just liddat lor. Same with a wedding. It doesn't have to be a big wedding. It can be a simple one. But there still needs to be a gathering of people to acknowledge the event. 

When everything becomes a non event, basically nothing in your life has importance. 

We need to acknowledge the importance of social and cultural traditions in our lives. Can trim some stuff out which is is ignorance or too concerned with face. But don't think make it simple for the next generation is a good thing for them. It can actually lead to a loss of identity for them. These stuff do matter subconsciously. 

Yah agree, keep it simple and solemn...

Those excessively large and multiples LEDs wreaths were too overdone.

Basic wake and send off is part of tradition and culture norm.

On 2/17/2024 at 11:00 PM, Sosaria said:

Think some people will put "Like" thumbs up [laugh]

Thumbs up still ok. Probably meant the deceased was a great guy.

Just don't put face palm and thumbs down😅

I think I like mine to be a karaoke session. Sing my favourite songs, drink beer/wine, enjoy themselves. If anyone comes, that is.... 

Edited by Volvobrick

As what they say and I fullly agree.... A funeral is for the living... Nothing to do with the dead (if you do not believe in afterlife or reincarnation). 

Basically is for the surviving to find closure and ease in the acceptance.

On 2/17/2024 at 11:31 PM, Volvobrick said:

I think I like mine to be a karaoke session. Sing my favourite songs, drink beer/wine, enjoy themselves. If anyone comes, that is.... 

If u plan for this... Am sure @Tianmo will be first in queue.... 

• Haha! 7

On 2/17/2024 at 11:06 PM, Ender said:

No joke.. This is exactly what changed my view when I get old and useless.  I seriously don't want to burden my children. Even looking forward the day when Singapore legalize euthanasia. I know it will not happen in my life time. I can understand why some old people ended up in Kallang river

do you still want to live pass 100? [:p]

jokes aside, dont be too affected. I know it is easy to say, but i have gone through it, i know how you feel. 

Dont be too negative about it, keep in mind that your son is looking at it silently. How you manage can and will affect him also. 

On 2/17/2024 at 11:38 PM, Vratenza said:

If u plan for this... Am sure @Tianmo will be first in queue.... 

Sure sure, you know me, I will be there early. Provided I am still around and can get out of bed by myself. [:p][laugh][laugh] 

My ideal way of passing is to know when it is time. A couple of days before say goodbye to family and close friends.

On the day, shower, clean up, clear bowel swee swee and go to sleep without waking up.

Funeral arrangement will be simple, short Buddhist one. No embalming. No need put favourite food offering, just water, flowers, and a plate of fruits. Ashes to be scattered at sea or garden. 

A living funeral is like birthday. To celebrate the day, you were born to this world. 

Because you have attachments, you wanna cherish all the friends and family you have. 

Because of attachment, you will feel despair when you know you are leaving. 

So, is not a bad idea to hold a living funeral. At least there is closure to all your loved one. They have a chance to tell you things that they wanted to. 

On 2/19/2024 at 10:29 AM, kobayashiGT said:

A living funeral is like birthday. To celebrate the day, you were born to this world. 

Because you have attachments, you wanna cherish all the friends and family you have. 

Because of attachment, you will feel despair when you know you are leaving. 

So, is not a bad idea to hold a living funeral. At least there is closure to all your loved one. They have a chance to tell you things that they wanted to. 

I don't like to celebrate my birthday... because why the need to celebrate when I did no part in coming into this world  (should celebrate my mother/father's effort instead)

I always believe in treating your family and friends well as if you are going to be gone the next 1 month or so that there will be no regrets or unspoken grievances to clear with each other.