$3590 to fix CB on midnight of CNY day 1

Tianmo

Even if he chose a non-Chinese electrician it is still a public holiday. Ppl will charge double nevertheless. Timing is also another factor.

If cannot sleep then dont sleep. No work no school anyway. Bai nian can forget it, there's always next year.

Still got running water. Can shower. Have to settle the meals outside. Fastfood, non-Chinese meals. Restaurants anyway close for the 1st day. All back in business 2nd day. Still can find food to eat. Many non-Chinese eatery still open.

Crash at friend's or relative's place.

On 2/14/2024 at 4:50 PM, 13177 said:

Think for people who depend on aircon, even naked also no use if don't have aircon. 😂

Turn on Aircon, so they can cover themselves with blanket mah..  Got hotel feel.

On 2/14/2024 at 2:54 PM, Beregond said:

The thing is say u kenna same case. U want to bring whole family with kids and maybe elderly? . Throw away all food. Go stay hotel a few days?

The saving in the end could be as little as 1.5k? Maybe? I dun know what is the normal rate also 

But if I kenna. I confirm plus chop pay, as long as he willing to come and fix the problem.

The alternative is learn to do and fix yourself.

In ang moh countries everything shuts down during holidays (Xmas/New Year). So lots of people have at least some DIY skills so that if things spoil at inconvenient times they won't be in trouble.

Maybe we should learn more DIY.

On 2/14/2024 at 5:20 PM, Benarsenal said:

In ang moh countries everything shuts down during holidays (Xmas/New Year). So lots of people have at least some DIY skills so that if things spoil at inconvenient times they won't be in trouble.

limpeh support this

some simple stuff that anyone (any MAN) can do: change bulb, change starter (if you're still using those long tubes), change shower hose + head, unclog toilet bowl, change leaking water tap, etc etc

you can easily save a few hundred bucks every year DIY

On 2/14/2024 at 2:58 PM, Starry said:

If me, I will use it as a perfect excuse to go for a nearby holiday trip.....

4-5 days later come back settle.

Still much cheaper and more importantly, a fun time as well.

Not you kena so easy to say lah. 

Is CNY 1st day, go MY is also CNY, and causeway jam. Go other countries nearby, as long as got Chinese, also got CNY, consider super peak, can get tickets and accommodation adhoc or not? Even can get also 50% CNY surcharge. 

4-5 days? Then other family members have no plans of their own? All can react to your adhoc decision? 

Even go for a short 5 days Thailand trip during CNY also about $800-$1000 now, cheaper? I don't know. 

Fun time from a adhoc rush trip? I also don't know man.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/14/2024 at 5:20 PM, Benarsenal said:

Agreed,Gov't got Skill Future for People to upgrade.?Take the Money go for Electrical or Mechanic Courses.

Edited by ER-3682

On 2/14/2024 at 3:32 PM, Jman888 said:

maybe you can but wife, kids and maybe old folks at home cannot how? drag all of them to msia and miss the cny with relatives and friends at home?

Wait tio traffic jam at custom until take out golf club go smash every car. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/14/2024 at 2:16 PM, Tianmo said:

This one is really Heng Ong Huat for the electrician, but Kan Suay for Andy. 

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/electrician-charges-3590-to-fix-circuit-breaker-on-first-day-of-cny-at-midnight-is

Question is, would you pay if it was you?  Or would you rather wait a week until most of them start work? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

@Tianmo 

I won't pay. Will find a acceptable Hotel for 2 to 3 days stay while looking for reasonable Electrician. 

I will also recommend people to replace their house electricla wiring, CB if it is almost 20 yrs old. This is what I did for my previous and current house. 

Anyway not cheap to fix CB 😁

1073745_orig.png

On 2/14/2024 at 5:56 PM, Tianmo said:

Not you kena so easy to say lah. 

Is CNY 1st day, go MY is also CNY, and causeway jam. Go other countries nearby, as long as got Chinese, also got CNY, consider super peak, can get tickets and accommodation adhoc or not? Even can get also 50% CNY surcharge. 

4-5 days? Then other family members have no plans of their own? All can react to your adhoc decision? 

Even go for a short 5 days Thailand trip during CNY also about $800-$1000 now, cheaper? I don't know. 

Fun time from a adhoc rush trip? I also don't know man.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Bro..every adverse situation can either look at it as half cup empty or half cup full.

I will always look at it as half cup full and make the best of the situation. If I can wait it out, I will find ways to wait it out no matter how difficult it is.  For my family, no issue one.......we are easy and flexible since no one is cooking 

For those who cannot wait it out then just LL and pay up lor. No need to talk about it anymore since it is no choice.

Edited by Starry

On 2/14/2024 at 6:08 PM, Mahjong74 said:

@Tianmo 

I won't pay. Will find a acceptable Hotel for 2 to 3 days stay while looking for reasonable Electrician. 

I will also recommend people to replace their house electricla wiring, CB if it is almost 20 yrs old. This is what I did for my previous and current house. 

Anyway not cheap to fix CB 😁

1073745_orig.png

Preventive Measure is 👍...but how many People change Circuit Breaker if no Trip or caught Fire.?

On 2/14/2024 at 4:06 PM, Ender said:

I had a similar incident about two years back. CB tripped, cannot turn on at around midnight.  I called one of the electrician, also googled. He sent one of his FW, to fix.  He change one of the RCCB, and cost me under $300. Guess emergency late night charges all included.  

Before leaving, the FW gave me his number, and said next time got electrical problem call him direct, he will give me better price. 🤣

When I did my Reno some 12-13 yrs back, changed the whole CB was less than $400 including labor. 

Personally, I cannot accept the $3590 price tag, even it is a CNY night surcharge and whatever emergency charges added. 

But Andy probably didn't have much choice at that time.  There must be an agreed transport fee sld he decided not to go ahead. So, if he had to pay a transportation fee, which could be a lot higher than normal because of CNY late night, and not get his problem fix, he might just as well go ahead with the job. Otherwise even if he called another 3-4 and manage to get a cheaper quote also end up not any cheaper overall. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I believe usually the repair person will indicate up front that there will be a transportation fee ( usually between $50-$150) if the quote is rejected, and home owner must agree before they will come over.  My guess is the transportation fee here could be $300- $500 because of CNY late night,  so if Andy don't go ahead with the job, he still has to pay the transportation fee, which he buay song. So he lanlan agreed to the chop carrot price, but after that more think more tulan. 

It is no longer about fixing the CB, is the thought of himself being the carrot. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/14/2024 at 5:01 PM, Watwheels said:

Even if he chose a non-Chinese electrician it is still a public holiday. Ppl will charge double nevertheless. Timing is also another factor.

If cannot sleep then dont sleep. No work no school anyway. Bai nian can forget it, there's always next year.

Still got running water. Can shower. Have to settle the meals outside. Fastfood, non-Chinese meals. Restaurants anyway close for the 1st day. All back in business 2nd day. Still can find food to eat. Many non-Chinese eatery still open.

Crash at friend's or relative's place.

This year CNY, went out to see look see look outside from CNY eve to CNY day 2, still have quite many eateries and restaurants still open, so all meals sure no problem de. 

On 2/14/2024 at 6:16 PM, ER-3682 said:

Preventive Measure is 👍...but how many People change Circuit Breaker if no Trip or caught Fire.?

So after changing to a new CB, can tahan safe for how long ar?

On 2/14/2024 at 6:44 PM, Tianmo said:

I believe usually the repair person will indicate up front that there will be a transportation fee ( usually between $50-$150) if the quote is rejected, and home owner must agree before they will come over.  My guess is the transportation fee here could be $300- $500 because of CNY late night,  so if Andy don't go ahead with the job, he still has to pay the transportation fee, which he buay song. So he lanlan agreed to the chop carrot price, but after that more think more tulan. 

It is no longer about fixing the CB, is the thought of himself being the carrot. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

The whole episode is he buay song to pay for any cost incurred once the repair man came over and after that the more tulan he feels after think think think on the total repair cost he has paid lo. 😂

For me, if i have chosen to pay, i will move on and never think back how big carrot i was being. 🤣

Some People changed a Circuit Breaker @$3,600.00 that can lasts 20 Years KPKB,if this Andy drive a Conti Car,on the 6th Years Mark,Gearbox give way,repair $4,000.00 He will say reasonable.